Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > FireWire and USB Audio Interfaces (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-15-2020, 09:12 PM
MusicEoo MusicEoo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2020
Location: USA
Posts: 2
Default PC Crashes after switching Mbox Pro to ProTool's Playback Device

I currently purchased a subscription to ProTools 2020.5 and upon loading up the program it works and loads fine. However, if I then turn on my Avid Mbox Pro and select it as a Playback Engine, my PC crashes and shows a blue "WHEA_UNCORRECTABLE_ERROR" screen. I have tried to change the Mbox settings but have had no luck. If I turn the Mbox Pro on and then load up ProTools, my computer crashes before ProTools is even fully opened.

When not using ProTools, my Mbox Pro seems to work fine with audio inputs/outputs. The dashboard says the hardware is connected and "not streaming". I have also found that my PC crashes and presents the same error when I select the Tuner within Mbox Pro as well.

All drivers are up to date for both the Mbox and my Firewire card. I even tried installing Firewire legacy drivers but that didn't make a difference.

I bought the Mbox Pro back in 2014 and was using it on ProTools 11 on a Mac with no problem. Now that I've moved to a PC and am using ProTools 2020 it is acting up.

PC is a custom build:

Computer
Model : MSI MS-7C02
Serial Number : To be fille***********
Chassis : MSI Desktop
Mainboard : MSI B450 TOMAHAWK MAX (MS-7C02)
Serial Number : JCP00*****
BIOS : AMI (OEM) 3.50 11/07/2019
Total Memory : 16GB DDR4

Processors
Processor : AMD Ryzen 5 1600 Six-Core Processor (6C 12T 3.7GHz, 1GHz IMC, 6x 512kB L2, 2x 8MB L3)
Socket/Slot : AM4 (PGA1331)

Chipset
Memory Controller : AMD F17 (Ryzen/ThreadRipper SummitRidge) Host Bridge 10x 100MHz (1000MHz), 2x 8GB DDR4 2.13GHz 128-bit

Memory Module(s)
Memory Module : G.Skill/Samsung F4-3000C16-8GISB 8GB DDR4 1Rx8 PC4-24000U DDR4-3004 (15-15-15-36 4-51-16-5)
Memory Module : G.Skill/Samsung F4-3000C16-8GISB 8GB DDR4 1Rx8 PC4-24000U DDR4-3004 (15-15-15-36 4-51-16-5)

Video System
Monitor/Panel : HPN HP VH240a
(1920x1080, 24.0")
Monitor/Panel : HPN HP VH240a
(1920x1080, 24.0")
Video Adapter : NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1650 (14CU 896SP SM6.4 1.49GHz/1.67GHz, 3.9GB 8GHz, PCIe 3.0 x16)
Video Adapter : NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1650 (14CU 896SP SM6.4 1.49GHz/1.67GHz, 3.9GB 8GHz, PCIe 3.0 x16)

Graphics Processor
OpenCL : NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1650 (896SP 14C 1.49GHz/1.67GHz, 4GB 8GHz)
D3D 11 : NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1650 (896SP 14C 1.49GHz/1.67GHz, 3.9GB 8GHz)
OpenGL : GeForce GTX 1650/PCIe/SSE2 (4GB)
OpenGL : GeForce GTX 1650/PCIe/SSE2 (4GB)

Storage Devices
Disk : HGST HTS545050A7E380 (500.1GB, SATA300, 2.5", 5400rpm, 8MB Cache)
Disk : SanDisk SDSSDA-1T00 (1TB, SATA600, 2.5", SSD)
Optical : HL-DT-ST DVDRAM GH24NSC0 (SATA150, DVD+-RW, CD-RW)

Logical Storage Devices
ProTools HDD (D:) : 466GB (NTFS, 4kB) @ HGST HTS545050A7E380 (500.1GB, SATA300, 2.5", 5400rpm, 8MB Cache)
Recovery : 529MB (NTFS, 4kB) @ SanDisk SDSSDA-1T00 (1TB, SATA600, 2.5", SSD)
Hard Disk (C:) : 931GB (NTFS, 4kB) @ SanDisk SDSSDA-1T00 (1TB, SATA600, 2.5", SSD)
Hard Disk : 95MB (FAT32, 1024bytes) @ SanDisk SDSSDA-1T00 (1TB, SATA600, 2.5", SSD)
Optical Drive (F:) : N/A @ HL-DT-ST DVDRAM GH24NSC0 (SATA150, DVD+-RW, CD-RW)

Peripherals
LPC Hub Controller #1 : MSI FCH LPC Bridge
Audio Device : Gigabyte High Definition Audio Controller
Audio Codec : nVidia GeForce 7800SE/XT/LE/LT/ZT
Audio Device : MSI F17 (Ryzen/ThreadRipper) HD Audio Controller
Audio Codec : Realtek Semi High Definition Audio
Audio Codec : 32768 0000
Serial Port(s) : 2
Disk Controller : ASMedia 400 Series Chipset SATA Controller
Disk Controller : MSI FCH SATA Controller [AHCI mode]
USB Controller #1 : ASMedia 400 Series Chipset USB 3.1 XHCI Controller
USB Controller #2 : MSI F17 (Ryzen/ThreadRipper) USB 3.0 Host controller
SMBus/i2c Controller #1 : ATI SB900 SMBus

Printers and Faxes
Printer : Send to Microsoft OneNote 16 Driver (1200x1200, Colour)
Printer : Microsoft Software Printer Driver (300x300, Colour)
Printer : Amyuni Document Converter 400 (2400x2400, Parallel, Colour)
Printer : Microsoft XPS Document Writer v4 (600x600, Colour)
Printer : Microsoft Print To PDF (600x600, Colour)
Fax : Microsoft Shared Fax Driver (200x200)

Biometrics
Voice : Analog NUI Voice Virtual Sensor (Voice)

Network Services
Network Adapter : PANGP Virtual Ethernet Adapter (Ethernet)
Network Adapter : Realtek PCIe GbE Family Controller (Ethernet)
Network Adapter : Bluetooth Device (Personal Area Network) (Ethernet)
Wireless Adapter : Intel(R) Wireless-AC 9260 160MHz #2 (802.11n (HT), AES-CCMP, 144.4Mbps)

Operating System
Windows System : Microsoft Windows 10 Personal 10.0.18363
Platform Compliance : x64

Performance Enhancing Tips
Warning 2513 : TPM not detected. Some security features are unavailable.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-16-2020, 03:42 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 35,716
Default Re: PC Crashes after switching Mbox Pro to ProTool's Playback Device

This could be a tough one, but here's what concerns me:

ProTools HDD (D:) : 466GB (NTFS, 4kB) @ HGST HTS545050A7E380 (500.1GB, SATA300, 2.5", 5400rpm, 8MB Cache)This drive is too slow for recording
Recovery : 529MB (NTFS, 4kB) @ SanDisk SDSSDA-1T00 (1TB, SATA600, 2.5", SSD)
Hard Disk (C:) : 931GB (NTFS, 4kB) @ SanDisk SDSSDA-1T00 (1TB, SATA600, 2.5", SSD)
Hard Disk : 95MB (FAT32, 1024bytes) @ SanDisk SDSSDA-1T00 (1TB, SATA600, 2.5", SSD)I assume this is part of the main drive?

Next, I don't see any info on the firewire controller. That or the driver could be the issue. Traditionally, Windows has 3 resident drivers and its worth trying all 3. The Legacy driver is Avid's usual recommended choice, but for me. The TI Compliant driver is the one that works. For many years, VIA firewire controllers would not work at all, but that has gottten better in recent years. My last concern is the graphics. Traditionally, I would choose Radeon with an AMD system(nVidia for an intel system). Then, there is the Mbox Pro being no longer supported(which doesn't mean it WON'T work, but.............)

Last thing for all Windows users; make sure that Windows Sound is NOT using the Mbox as its default playback device(set that to the on-board sound card, at least until you are able to run Pro Tools with the Mbox successfully). I would also disable Bluetooth, Wifi and both Ethernet ports until the issue is resolved(fewer things getting in the way of diagnosing a tough problem).
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-16-2020, 06:56 PM
MusicEoo MusicEoo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2020
Location: USA
Posts: 2
Default Re: PC Crashes after switching Mbox Pro to ProTool's Playback Device

@albee1952

Oh wow, that's a lot of good starting places that I haven't looked at.

Yes, the SSD is my main drive - the HDD was more for music related storage. But should I switch the main drive as my recording drive then? Or is it better to just upgrade that HDD to an SSD?

I'll have to try out those 3 driver you outlined, I had only heard of the Legacy ones.
And yup, the Mbox is not my default playback device.

Thank you for the response! I figured these forums would be worth a shot before I junked it and got a new interface.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-17-2020, 07:46 AM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 35,716
Default Re: PC Crashes after switching Mbox Pro to ProTool's Playback Device

Well, a new interface may still be the best option, but with SSD prices, I see no reason to use a 5400 RPM drive for anything other than backup storage
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MBox 3 as Windows playback device in 96k tmc3p Windows 6 02-17-2017 05:15 PM
Using Mbox Mini (3rd Gen) as playback device problem HateCrew Juzzi 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 04-23-2012 06:07 PM
To use Mbox 2 as playback device in Windows Vista RogTaylor 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 6 07-10-2010 05:22 AM
Using Mbox Mini as a playback device, a little help? Darkninja231@aol.com 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 07-11-2009 07:47 PM
Mbox & No Stereo playback outside of ProTool 6.9 BeeWee 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 05-08-2005 08:49 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:01 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com