Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-18-2008, 11:02 PM
rockonswitch rockonswitch is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 32
Default where\'s my weak link?

i'm on a quad core mac pro 2 x3 GHz Quad Core
5 Gigs RAM
Original Mbox Pro Tools LE 7.4
MAc OS X 10.4.11

My two problems are the evil "holding off USB audio increase buffersize/remove plugins" warning and excessive amounts of pops and crackles when using the mbox as the sound card. I'm assuming its the Mbox since its the only thing not up to date, and the CPU processing meters in pro tools are basically showing less than 5% of CPU usage and the RTAS is somewhere under 25% of usage. But I would also assume that these problems occur with an Mbox 2. is that correct? is there anyone who doesn't experience these problems in LE or is it inevitable? cause I've rearranged all the settings and reinstalled all to no avail. troubleshot it too. am i correct to think that my computer shouldn't be getting these buffersize warnings because of its power? or am i mistaken?

where is this going wrong?! i'm sick of these problems just getting worse
__________________
Mac Pro
Dual Quad Core, 3GHz
4GB 667 MHz DDR2 FB-DIMM Ram
MBox Original
Pro Tools 7.3.1cs5
Tiger OS X 10.4.11
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-19-2008, 07:39 AM
Phil Ogden Phil Ogden is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 2,109
Default Re: where\'s my weak link?

Have you tried updating the Mbox firmware?


http://www.myspace.com/philogg
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-19-2008, 11:31 AM
rockonswitch rockonswitch is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 32
Default Re: where\'s my weak link?

yes
__________________
Mac Pro
Dual Quad Core, 3GHz
4GB 667 MHz DDR2 FB-DIMM Ram
MBox Original
Pro Tools 7.3.1cs5
Tiger OS X 10.4.11
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-19-2008, 02:15 PM
DJ Insomaniac DJ Insomaniac is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Los Angeles, CA, USA
Posts: 1,282
Default Re: where\'s my weak link?

Which USB port do you have the Mbox plugged into? Have you tried moving it to other ports to see if that changes anything?
__________________
Sam Ejnes
Mix Technician, Freelance Sound Editor/Re-recording Mixer
samejnes.com | IMDb | Analog Jitter

rMacBook Pro 2.2 gHz Core i7, 10.10.3
16 GB RAM
MOTU 828mkII, PT 12.1 HD
Axiom 61, 2xArtist Mix
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-19-2008, 05:20 PM
rockonswitch rockonswitch is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 32
Default Re: where\'s my weak link?

its been in all of them at different times. same problems. i'm wondering if i might need to upgrade to the mbox 2 pro with the firewire to handle everything. cause everything in my system is up to date but the original mbox. is there anyone who has an mbox 2 pro that still has that issue? i'll try switching the ports again just incase though. i'll post if it works, but i doubt that would be it.
__________________
Mac Pro
Dual Quad Core, 3GHz
4GB 667 MHz DDR2 FB-DIMM Ram
MBox Original
Pro Tools 7.3.1cs5
Tiger OS X 10.4.11
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-19-2008, 05:33 PM
rockonswitch rockonswitch is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 32
Default Re: where\'s my weak link?

didn't make a difference thanks. anyone?
__________________
Mac Pro
Dual Quad Core, 3GHz
4GB 667 MHz DDR2 FB-DIMM Ram
MBox Original
Pro Tools 7.3.1cs5
Tiger OS X 10.4.11
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-19-2008, 05:52 PM
rockonswitch rockonswitch is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 32
Default Re: where\'s my weak link?

http://i21.photobucket.com/albums/b2...Picture3-2.png

someone let me know here. am i wrong to think that if the plug in's tracks ect were an issue the system usage meters would be a lot more full than this?
__________________
Mac Pro
Dual Quad Core, 3GHz
4GB 667 MHz DDR2 FB-DIMM Ram
MBox Original
Pro Tools 7.3.1cs5
Tiger OS X 10.4.11
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PT HD CORE & HD ACCEL + SSL Delta Link + SSL Alpha Link Noizz focushocuspocus Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 09-29-2012 08:12 PM
Pro Tools Playback Issues at 88.2 with Delta Link / Alpha Link - Any ideas? azirkin macOS 1 01-17-2012 01:30 AM
What's the weak link of the 002? Pres, converters? bassface 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 01-28-2004 12:20 AM
More CPU,RAM,should be faster.Wheres my weak link. east3rdst 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 17 12-24-2003 09:00 AM
Digital Audio Extraction Link. Is this a good link? GuitarEasley General Discussion 0 04-16-2002 09:26 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:29 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com