Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Post Production > Post - Surround - Video

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-26-2011, 01:33 PM
Erik Olsson Erik Olsson is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 78
Default Crossgrade for Sync HD?

Hi guys!

Can't seem to find any info on this, but I find the Avid website notorioulsy hard to navigate so I might have missed it.

Is there any crossgrade announced for an old Sync I/O to new Sync HD transition? I presume that the old Sync will be unsupported with PT11 just as the rest of the "blue line" interface series?

Thanks!
Erik
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-26-2011, 06:26 PM
diamondschwin diamondschwin is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Nashville/NYC
Posts: 468
Default Re: Crossgrade for Sync HD?

I don't think there is anything official but the dealers I have spoken to seem to e working deals considering how many guys are gonna need HDX a new interface and a new sync HD.
__________________
Max Holland
Producer / Re-Recording Mixer
Nashville / NYC

MKD Creative

HOBO Audio
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-26-2011, 11:13 PM
mgoorevich's Avatar
mgoorevich mgoorevich is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Tel Aviv - תל אביב
Posts: 1,697
Default Re: Crossgrade for Sync HD?

A sync I/O is working fine with PT HD10 here.
It needed however the firmware update (found in digitest folder)
I am sure Avid will drop support for Sync I/O it PT11 though.
__________________
Michael Goorevich

Sound Designer
/ mixer
www.goorevich.com

PT HD⎪N v2020.3 Ultimate ● macOS High Sierra 10.13.6
MacPro 2 x 2.4 GHz Quad-Core Intel Xeon ● 24 GB RAM
Avid HD I/O ● Sync HD ● AJA LHi referenced by AJA GEN10 ● D-Command ES24
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-27-2011, 01:41 AM
laki laki is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 512
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mgoorevich View Post
A sync I/O is working fine with PT HD10 here.
It needed however the firmware update (found in digitest folder)
I am sure Avid will drop support for Sync I/O it PT11 though.
What version of PT did you upgrade from? I haven't had to do a firmware update for sync I/o since PT8 I think.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-27-2011, 03:59 AM
mgoorevich's Avatar
mgoorevich mgoorevich is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Tel Aviv - תל אביב
Posts: 1,697
Default Re: Crossgrade for Sync HD?

Quote:
Originally Posted by laki View Post
What version of PT did you upgrade from? I haven't had to do a firmware update for sync I/o since PT8 I think.
From PT HD 7.4
__________________
Michael Goorevich

Sound Designer
/ mixer
www.goorevich.com

PT HD⎪N v2020.3 Ultimate ● macOS High Sierra 10.13.6
MacPro 2 x 2.4 GHz Quad-Core Intel Xeon ● 24 GB RAM
Avid HD I/O ● Sync HD ● AJA LHi referenced by AJA GEN10 ● D-Command ES24
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-28-2011, 06:50 AM
puffin puffin is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 178
Default Re: Crossgrade for Sync HD?

Old Sync i/o works fine with 10HD Native.
But, like the OP, I will have to trade this beast in someday soon...
Brian


www.thehideoutstudios.com
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-29-2011, 02:28 AM
Buccanears's Avatar
Buccanears Buccanears is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 759
Exclamation Re: Crossgrade for Sync HD?

There are no crossgrades for Sync I/O to Sync HD.
Both working fine with PT10HD but when PT11HD rocks around I'm unsure of even the validity of the Blue Sync HD's - you may need a blacky/silver Sync HD jobbie.
__________________
Q "where are your buccanears?"
A "on your buccanhead!"
IMDB
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-29-2011, 07:10 AM
nst7 nst7 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Cincinnati OH
Posts: 9,795
Default Re: Crossgrade for Sync HD?

Both the "blue" Sync and the "blue" Sync HD are listed specifically in the End of Life list in the PT10 FAQ.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-29-2011, 08:13 AM
Stylin' Audio Stylin' Audio is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Burlington, ON Canada
Posts: 211
Default Re: Crossgrade for Sync HD?

Obsoleting the Sync HD with PT11 is really chaffing me badly. I mean really, is it all about the color of the bezels? Doesn't seem any different otherwise. They are all hidden in machine rooms anyway! Smells like greed to me...
__________________
Colin Van Hattem
Noizemaker Productions
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 11-29-2011, 01:25 PM
mgoorevich's Avatar
mgoorevich mgoorevich is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Tel Aviv - תל אביב
Posts: 1,697
Default Re: Crossgrade for Sync HD?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stylin' Audio View Post
Obsoleting the Sync HD with PT11 is really chaffing me badly. I mean really, is it all about the color of the bezels? Doesn't seem any different otherwise. They are all hidden in machine rooms anyway! Smells like greed to me...
While I agree about blue Sync I/O & Sync HD, I certainly am happy by upgrading my 192 I/O to Avid HD 8x8x8.
Its not just better. It's in a class of it's own! And it smokes Apogee flagships IMHO.
__________________
Michael Goorevich

Sound Designer
/ mixer
www.goorevich.com

PT HD⎪N v2020.3 Ultimate ● macOS High Sierra 10.13.6
MacPro 2 x 2.4 GHz Quad-Core Intel Xeon ● 24 GB RAM
Avid HD I/O ● Sync HD ● AJA LHi referenced by AJA GEN10 ● D-Command ES24
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Machine Control w Sync I/O, Port = Bluetooth-PDA-Sync audiomark Post - Surround - Video 5 02-14-2013 03:09 PM
Sync Audio - Editor Used Camera Track Only -Waveform Sync? milosziv Post - Surround - Video 7 11-30-2011 05:26 AM
Keeping Laybacks in Sync (delay compensation and Video sync offset) edit machine Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 6 11-15-2010 11:33 AM
Midi Timing Delay Sync Issue: MTC Sync daysean 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 17 01-22-2007 11:48 AM
Sync Processor's Tremolo to Midi Time Sync via Interface j_jayzatuc 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 09-01-2000 12:08 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:10 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com