Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Post Production > Post - Surround - Video

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-14-2011, 11:35 AM
Stylin' Audio Stylin' Audio is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Burlington, ON Canada
Posts: 211
Default Black Magic Intensity Pro reliability

Looks like mine has pooped. A few months out of warranty of course and not getting any love from BM. They helped me determine it was landfill, but nothing beyond that. With nothing else really being qualified then I may have to get another - not expensive in the grand scheme of things but a needless expense. Never had a computer card fail on me before like that so wondering if anyone is finding them unreliable? Don't want to reline their pockets if the outcome will be the same.

Be nice if some AJA or other solutions existed!
__________________
Colin Van Hattem
Noizemaker Productions
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-14-2011, 11:58 AM
diamondschwin diamondschwin is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Nashville/NYC
Posts: 468
Default Re: Black Magic Intensity Pro reliability

I have not had an issue in the two machines I run with them.

Avid Media Composer 5.5 supports the AJA IO Express which is more than an intensity pro, but I am hoping they role that support into pro tools which would give us the ability to look at HD Avid media as well.
__________________
Max Holland
Producer / Re-Recording Mixer
Nashville / NYC

MKD Creative

HOBO Audio
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-14-2011, 01:06 PM
Nathan W. Nathan W. is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Sherman Oaks, CA
Posts: 509
Default Re: Black Magic Intensity Pro reliability

it's great, no problems. Only one thing, if you ever have a power outage / brown out you gotta shut down the computer completely then reboot or if it restarts automatically protools won't recognize the video out pcie.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-15-2011, 03:15 AM
lode lode is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Norway
Posts: 589
Default Re: Black Magic Intensity Pro reliability

A customer plugged in a dodgy power adapter for a laptop and blew the power fuse. After that the HDMI was busted on the card.

Otherwise they seem reliable. (We have four)
__________________
PT 10.3 & 11
Mac 2x2.26 Ghz quadcore 6 gig ram
HDX 1 via Omni
Blackmagic Intensity Pro
Waves Broadcast/Production, C4 & NPP
Izotope RX, Altiverb
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-15-2011, 11:42 AM
Stylin' Audio Stylin' Audio is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Burlington, ON Canada
Posts: 211
Default Re: Black Magic Intensity Pro reliability

Thanks all, seems mine was the exception and not the rule. A replacement is on order. Fingers crossed!
__________________
Colin Van Hattem
Noizemaker Productions
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-15-2011, 07:46 PM
Norad155 Norad155 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: New York
Posts: 340
Default Re: Black Magic Intensity Pro reliability

we've had them in 13 studios for 8 months now with no problems... ::knock on wood::
love 'em
__________________
IMDB
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Black Magic Decklink SDI with Intensity Pro mgoorevich Post - Surround - Video 5 10-31-2012 01:59 PM
Black magic Intensity pro peaceh Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Win) 2 06-24-2012 02:02 PM
Black Magic Intensity Pro won't work travisrex Post - Surround - Video 2 06-22-2011 03:30 PM
Black Magic Intensity Pro Users pls help hitp Post - Surround - Video 7 12-11-2010 08:35 AM
Black Magic Intensity and PT8 New Hope Media 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 05-27-2009 12:17 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:03 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com