Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-14-2008, 12:59 AM
zion72 zion72 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 43
Default Strugling with new laptop

My pros is a intel duo 2 core t7250

Socket P (478), GM965. HK Quanta 30CB

Is this compatlible with visa and pt 7.4? PT runs but after some use it slows dowvn and sometimes crashes.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-14-2008, 07:15 AM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 35,728
Default Re: Strugling with new laptop

We can't tell without a Sandra report.
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-14-2008, 10:41 AM
zion72 zion72 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 43
Default Re: Strugling with new laptop

Ok, hers my sandra report

SiSoftware Sandra

Processor
Model : Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Duo CPU T7250 @ 2.00GHz
Speed : 2.00GHz
Cores per Processor : 2 Unit(s)
Threads per Core : 1 Unit(s)
Type : Mobile, Dual-Core
Internal Data Cache : 2x 32kB, Synchronous, Write-Thru, 8-way, Inclusive, 64 byte line size
L2 On-board Cache : 2MB, ECC, Synchronous, ATC, 8-way, Inclusive, 64 byte line size, 2 threads sharing

System
System : Hewlett-Packard HP Pavilion dv9500 Notebook PC
Platform Compliance : Intel Centrino Mobile Technology
Mainboard : Quanta 30CB
Bus(es) : ISA PCI PCIe IMB USB FireWire/1394 i2c/SMBus
Multi-Processor (MP) Support : 1 Processor(s)
Multi-Processor Advanced PIC (APIC) : Yes
System BIOS : Hewlett-Packard 255.255
Total Memory : 2.00GB DDR2

Chipset 1
Model : HP Mobile PM965/GM965/GL960 Express Processor to DRAM Controller
Front Side Bus Speed : 4x 200MHz (800MHz)
Total Memory : 2GB DDR2
Memory Bus Speed : 2x 333MHz (666MHz)

Video System
Monitor/Panel : Generisk PnP-skjerm
Adapter : NVIDIA GeForce 8600M GS
Imaging Device : HP Webcam

Physical Storage Devices
WDC WD16 00BEVS-60RST 160GB (SATA150, 8MB Cache) : 149.05GB (C:) (E:)
WDC WD16 00BEVS-60RST 160GB (SATA150, 8MB Cache) : 149.05GB (D:)
TOSHIBA DVDW/HD TS-L802A (ATAPI, 16x CD-R, 16x CD-W, 2x DVD-R, 2x DVD-W, 2MB Cache) : 2kB (F:)

Logical Storage Devices
OS (C:) : 142.61GB (91.82GB, 64% Free Space) (NTFS) @ WDC WD16 00BEVS-60RST 160GB (SATA150, 8MB Cache)
HP_RECOVERY (E:) : 6.44GB (1.41GB, 22% Free Space) (NTFS) @ WDC WD16 00BEVS-60RST 160GB (SATA150, 8MB Cache)
DATA (D:) : 149.05GB (140.82GB, 94% Free Space) (NTFS) @ WDC WD16 00BEVS-60RST 160GB (SATA150, 8MB Cache)
12 apr 2008 (F:) : 702.31MB (696.67MB, 99% Free Space) (UDF) @ TOSHIBA DVDW/HD TS-L802A (ATAPI, 16x CD-R, 16x CD-W, 2x DVD-R, 2x DVD-W, 2MB Cache)

Peripherals
Serial/Parallel Port(s) : 1 COM / 0 LPT
USB Controller/Hub : Intel(R) ICH8 Family USB Universal Host Controller - 2830
USB Controller/Hub : Intel(R) ICH8 Family USB Universal Host Controller - 2831
USB Controller/Hub : Intel(R) ICH8 Family USB Universal Host Controller - 2832
USB Controller/Hub : Intel(R) ICH8 Family USB Universal Host Controller - 2834
USB Controller/Hub : Intel(R) ICH8 Family USB Universal Host Controller - 2835
USB Controller/Hub : Intel(R) ICH8 Family USB2 Enhanced Host Controller - 2836
USB Controller/Hub : Intel(R) ICH8 Family USB2 Enhanced Host Controller - 283A
USB Controller/Hub : USB Root Hub
USB Controller/Hub : USB Root Hub
USB Controller/Hub : USB Root Hub
USB Controller/Hub : USB Root Hub
USB Controller/Hub : USB Root Hub
USB Controller/Hub : USB Root Hub
USB Controller/Hub : USB Root Hub
USB Controller/Hub : USB Composite Device
USB Controller/Hub : USB Composite Device
USB Controller/Hub : Digidesign Mbox 2 Firmware Updater
USB Controller/Hub : USB Mass Storage Device
FireWire/1394 Controller/Hub : RICOH OHCI Compliant IEEE 1394 Host Controller
Bluetooth Device : Microsoft Bluetooth Enumerator
Bluetooth Device : HP Bluetooth Module
Keyboard : Standard 101/102-Key or Microsoft Natural PS/2 Keyboard with HP QLB
Keyboard : HID Keyboard Device
Mouse : Synaptics PS/2 Port TouchPad
Mouse : HID-compliant mouse
Human Interface : HP Quick Launch Buttons
Human Interface : Bluetooth Remote Control
Human Interface : HID-compliant device
Human Interface : HID-compliant consumer control device
Human Interface : USB-enhet for menneskelig grensesnitt

Communication Device(s)
Device : Motorola SM56 Data Fax Modem

Printers and Faxes
Model : Microsoft XPS Document Writer
Model : Epson Stylus Photo 925 (M)

Power Management
Mains (AC) Line Status : On-Line
Battery No 1 : 100%

Operating System(s)
Windows System : Microsoft Windows Vista Home Media Center 6.00.6000
Platform Compliance : Win32 x86

Windows Experience Index
Current System : 4.7

Network Services
Adapter : Realtek RTL8168/8111 Family PCI-E Gigabit Ethernet NIC (NDIS 6.0)
Adapter : Intel(R) PRO/Wireless 3945ABG Network Connection
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-14-2008, 11:48 AM
spkguitar's Avatar
spkguitar spkguitar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 18,161
Default Re: Strugling with new laptop

Well, for starters, Pro Tools is not compatible with Media Center.
__________________
My Website: Pro Tools "Newbie" Help

Studio rig: Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD3R, Intel i7 920, 6GB Patriot DDR3, NVidia 8600GS, LG GGW-H20L BD-RE, Sony CRX195E1 CD-RW, 2x WD Caviar black 640GB (os swap), 1x WD caviar 320GB (sessions), 1x Maxtor 120GB (sessions), 1x Seagate 1TB (samples/loops), Profire2626, Command8, PT12 on OSX

Mobile Rig: 2015 MacBook Pro Retina, Apollo Twin, PT12
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-14-2008, 12:40 PM
chazzo03 chazzo03 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 88
Default Re: Strugling with new laptop

That's not media center. Vista doesn't not have a media center version. Microsoft say that media center is just the type of pc it has.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-14-2008, 04:33 PM
mykhal c's Avatar
mykhal c mykhal c is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: san fran
Posts: 4,355
Default Re: Strugling with new laptop

Quote:
Adapter : Intel(R) PRO/Wireless 3945ABG Network Connection
always make sure this is disabled when using PTLE

Quote:
USB Controller/Hub : Intel(R) ICH8 Family USB Universal Host Controller - 2830
USB Controller/Hub : Intel(R) ICH8 Family USB Universal Host Controller - 2831
USB Controller/Hub : Intel(R) ICH8 Family USB Universal Host Controller - 2832
USB Controller/Hub : Intel(R) ICH8 Family USB Universal Host Controller - 2834
USB Controller/Hub : Intel(R) ICH8 Family USB Universal Host Controller - 2835
USB Controller/Hub : Intel(R) ICH8 Family USB2 Enhanced Host Controller - 2836
USB Controller/Hub : Intel(R) ICH8 Family USB2 Enhanced Host Controller - 283A

USB Controller/Hub : Intel(R) ICH8 Family USB2 Enhanced Host Controller - 2836
USB Controller/Hub : Intel(R) ICH8 Family USB2 Enhanced Host Controller - 283A these are the only 2 you want to use if using a PT's USB device
__________________
bassist...deep pocketz anyone???!!!

The Basschakra Lucid Soul Trip

i7 Builds - Specs and Results

HDNative | Omni | i7-3930K OC'd 4.0GHZ |
ASUS X79 Sabertooth | 32GB GSkill DDR3 2133 ram | mo' stuff
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-14-2008, 11:00 PM
zion72 zion72 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 43
Default Re: Strugling with new laptop

Ok, how do I disable this? Any other suggestions or is one of my components not compatible? As I said I can work with pro tools but it's slow and after some use I get something like (Operating System Held Off Interrupts for Too Long)

Thanks for all replys so far!
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-14-2008, 11:28 PM
mykhal c's Avatar
mykhal c mykhal c is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: san fran
Posts: 4,355
Default Re: Strugling with new laptop

Quote:
Ok, how do I disable this? Any other suggestions or is one of my components not compatible? As I said I can work with pro tools but it's slow and after some use I get something like (Operating System Held Off Interrupts for Too Long)

Thanks for all replys so far!
go into device manager, find the device and disable it. if you are using a PTLE USB device just make sure it is plugged into a USB2 port.
__________________
bassist...deep pocketz anyone???!!!

The Basschakra Lucid Soul Trip

i7 Builds - Specs and Results

HDNative | Omni | i7-3930K OC'd 4.0GHZ |
ASUS X79 Sabertooth | 32GB GSkill DDR3 2133 ram | mo' stuff
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-15-2008, 12:34 PM
zion72 zion72 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 43
Default Re: Strugling with new laptop

I tried to disable usb hubs but nothing changed. It runs fine for 2-3 mins and then gets realy slow. Could it just be vista, should I try to install xp? I'm starting to give up on pro tools and may try cubase insteed. Can I use my mbox 2 on cubase?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04-15-2008, 01:38 PM
mykhal c's Avatar
mykhal c mykhal c is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: san fran
Posts: 4,355
Default Re: Strugling with new laptop

Quote:
I tried to disable usb hubs but nothing changed. It runs fine for 2-3 mins and then gets realy slow. Could it just be vista, should I try to install xp? I'm starting to give up on pro tools and may try cubase insteed. Can I use my mbox 2 on cubase?
i was saying to disable your wireless my friend not USB controllers and as far as i know you can use you MBOX as your interface with CUBASE
__________________
bassist...deep pocketz anyone???!!!

The Basschakra Lucid Soul Trip

i7 Builds - Specs and Results

HDNative | Omni | i7-3930K OC'd 4.0GHZ |
ASUS X79 Sabertooth | 32GB GSkill DDR3 2133 ram | mo' stuff
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
laptop help christy 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 14 10-06-2009 12:52 PM
M-box and laptop...can this Laptop handle it? TonserPerson 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 8 11-25-2005 08:21 AM
buying a laptop /HELP!!/I did read the laptop post psus15 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 10 06-02-2004 01:32 PM
Laptop help mole8685 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 11-02-2003 12:46 PM
Laptop? Ward 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 5 11-29-2001 11:20 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:25 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com