Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-23-2011, 06:42 AM
khoop2112 khoop2112 is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 184
Default So this mean HD Native always had a 64-bit mixer?

I wonder - now that Digi says all new systems will be sonically identical, does this mean that HD Native has had a 64 bit floating mixer since it's release?

When Frank Flipetti did his interview and swore how much better Native sounded than TDM (and the digi interviewer apparently agreed), perhaps it already had the improved mixer.

Anyone know the truth?

- kent
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-23-2011, 12:23 PM
FilterDecay FilterDecay is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 677
Default Re: So this mean HD Native always had a 64-bit mixer?

yes this is correct. The native card has the 64bit summing but we dont have the 32bit audio thing yet. That comes in 10.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-23-2011, 02:31 PM
nst7 nst7 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Cincinnati OH
Posts: 9,787
Default Re: So this mean HD Native always had a 64-bit mixer?

Yes, it's been listed in the specs on the web page since it was introduced.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-23-2011, 06:35 PM
deacondaniell deacondaniell is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: West LA
Posts: 3
Default Re: So this mean HD Native always had a 64-bit mixer?

I am thinking of going to the HD native card from a TDM set up. It says the 96 I/o is compatible for now with PT HD 10 and native card but is it also 64 bit summing mixer?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-23-2011, 06:38 PM
FilterDecay FilterDecay is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 677
Default Re: So this mean HD Native always had a 64-bit mixer?

Quote:
Originally Posted by deacondaniell View Post
I am thinking of going to the HD native card from a TDM set up. It says the 96 I/o is compatible for now with PT HD 10 and native card but is it also 64 bit summing mixer?
The summing happens befre it hits the 96i/o so yes it is still 64bit
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-23-2011, 08:13 PM
Rectifried Rectifried is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 361
Default Re: So this mean HD Native always had a 64-bit mixer?

swap to the dithered mixer while your at it... its in the unused
PT installs without it to run faster..
__________________
Hal Cragin On the DUC Since The Year 2000 AD

PT 2019.5, macpro 12 core trashcan 64 gigram, MBP i7 9,1 16gig ram OS 10.12.3.. TB UA Apollo16 SSD's [samsung],
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-24-2011, 11:43 PM
Abomb97 Abomb97 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Santa Barbara, CA
Posts: 220
Default Re: So this mean HD Native always had a 64-bit mixer?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rectifried View Post
swap to the dithered mixer while your at it... its in the unused
PT installs without it to run faster..
can you expand upon that? I don't fully follow you.
__________________
ProTools 2018
1 x Apollo Quad Firewire
1 x Apogee Duet 2 mac/ios

MacBook Pro (15-inch,2018)
2.9 Ghz Intel Core i9 CPU
32 GB 2400 DDR4 RAM
1TB SSD System Drive
Mac OS High Sierra 10.13.6
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-25-2011, 12:17 AM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,642
Default Re: So this mean HD Native always had a 64-bit mixer?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rectifried View Post
swap to the dithered mixer while your at it... its in the unused
PT installs without it to run faster..
No need to use the dithered mixer with anything other than HD card (Accel, Core, etc). In fact, doing so with any other system will degrade the sound quality, as you're forcing dither when you don't need to since Pro Tools uses 32 bit floating point math internally and a 64 bit summing bus.

The dithered mixer is only useful on HD systems where the DSP uses 48 bit fixed math.
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-25-2011, 02:11 PM
FilterDecay FilterDecay is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 677
Default Re: So this mean HD Native always had a 64-bit mixer?

Quote:
Originally Posted by DigiTechSupt View Post
No need to use the dithered mixer with anything other than HD card (Accel, Core, etc). In fact, doing so with any other system will degrade the sound quality, as you're forcing dither when you don't need to since Pro Tools uses 32 bit floating point math internally and a 64 bit summing bus.

The dithered mixer is only useful on HD systems where the DSP uses 48 bit fixed math.
keep that in there because in 20 years people will want that dithered sound of the 90's
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 10-25-2011, 04:12 PM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,642
Default Re: So this mean HD Native always had a 64-bit mixer?

Quote:
Originally Posted by FilterDecay View Post
keep that in there because in 20 years people will want that dithered sound of the 90's
Ok, that made me laugh.
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ditherer mixer with HD Native? sws2h Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 1 08-17-2012 03:33 PM
Stereo Dither Mixer for HD Native System sws2h macOS 1 07-25-2012 09:17 AM
I want to know something about HD native mixer kinghand Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 7 03-06-2011 12:38 PM
PT 9 Native mixer resolution? nikki-k Pro Tools 9 2 11-15-2010 08:44 AM
HD Native '64bit Mixer Resolution'? Matt_G Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 21 10-12-2010 07:04 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:06 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com