Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2018

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-21-2019, 10:06 PM
SevenRising SevenRising is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Kansas City
Posts: 60
Default -9173 Driving me NUTS 2018 Mac mini

-9173 errors are Driving me NUTS on the 2018 Mac mini. I have spent two days troubleshooting to no avail. What is really upsetting is these are occurring in very small sessions with very few plug-ins. I have a brand new mini i7 32GB RAM 1TB SSD. I am using a UA Apollo x8 with two Satellite OCTO cores. I have tried the same sessions just using the built in audio to eliminate the UA gear from being the issue and the errors still occur.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-22-2019, 01:26 AM
Emi Emi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Madrid. Spain
Posts: 221
Default Re: -9173 Driving me NUTS 2018 Mac mini

Do you use the system drive for sessions?
__________________
Mac Mini late 2012 i5 | Mac OS Mojave 10.14 | Motu 16A | Motu 828ES | Pro Tools 2018.12 Native
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-22-2019, 01:40 AM
Southsidemusic's Avatar
Southsidemusic Southsidemusic is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stockholm - Sweden
Posts: 11,217
Default Re: -9173 Driving me NUTS 2018 Mac mini

Quote:
Originally Posted by Emi View Post
Do you use the system drive for sessions?
That wouldn’t matter in this case as he has a 1TB SSD drive and that will be faster than an external drive. These SSD drives are so fast that using them for recording aswell is a really good option. So no need for a recording drive if you have a large fast SSD internal drive.
__________________
Best Regards
Christopher


South Side Music Group
WEBHOME

Pro Tools always wants to close and relaunch though, which is pretty annoying... especially when it never seems to manage the 'relaunch' bit. I'm sure it used to do it - Quote LDS 2019
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-22-2019, 02:03 AM
the.engineer the.engineer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Guildford, Surrey, UK
Posts: 159
Default Re: -9173 Driving me NUTS 2018 Mac mini

Quote:
Originally Posted by SevenRising View Post
-9173 errors are Driving me NUTS on the 2018 Mac mini. I have spent two days troubleshooting to no avail. What is really upsetting is these are occurring in very small sessions with very few plug-ins. I have a brand new mini i7 32GB RAM 1TB SSD. I am using a UA Apollo x8 with two Satellite OCTO cores. I have tried the same sessions just using the built in audio to eliminate the UA gear from being the issue and the errors still occur.
This may sound crazy, but try a screen that is 1080p only. I've been plauged by problems on my Mac Pro 5,1 and changed to a 27" Asus FHD and plain sailing ensued.

Pro Tools isn't optimised for any resloution above 1080p and it appears that Avid haven't optimised their software for Metal which was introduced in El Capitan (I was told to resolve my issue to go back to Yosemite!!).

Let me know if this works.
James
__________________
James Welch
Recording Engineer | Producer
Masterlink Productions

Mac Pro 5,1 (Mid 2010) | 3.46GHz Six-Core Intel Xeon | 32GB Ram | AMD Radeon R9 280X 3072 MB | 256GB Samsung SM951 SSD Blade (PCIe) System Drive | 1TB WDC Sample Drive | 4TB RAID 0 Seagate Audio Drive | UAD-2 Quad PCIe
Sierra 10.12.6 | Pro Tools Ultimate 2018.12 | HDX | Avid Omni | Avid 16x16 HD I/O x2 | Digidesign 192 | Digidesign C24
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-22-2019, 02:53 AM
Sardi Sardi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Perth
Posts: 1,360
Default Re: -9173 Driving me NUTS 2018 Mac mini

If that’s true.... WOW!


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-22-2019, 03:08 AM
BScout BScout is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 1,362
Default Re: -9173 Driving me NUTS 2018 Mac mini

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sardi View Post
If that’s true.... WOW!
No. Not true. People making stuff up.
Pro Tools runs just fine on screens larger than 1080p. For years.
We can go all the way back to when the 30" Apple Display came out (2004!) for the multitude of studios that have used it with Pro Tools.

(I run a 2560x1440 and 3840x2160 together with zero problems at their native resolutions for multiple years)
__________________
Pro Tools Ult 2018.12, HDX 3, MTRX/SPQ, HD OmniMac Pro 5,1 - 3.06 GHz 12 core - macOS 10.13.6RAM 64GB, SSD 4 x 2TB, GPU GTX 980 4GB
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-22-2019, 03:33 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 15,639
Default Re: -9173 Driving me NUTS 2018 Mac mini

Try disabling hyperthreading
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-22-2019, 05:21 AM
the.engineer the.engineer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Guildford, Surrey, UK
Posts: 159
Default Re: -9173 Driving me NUTS 2018 Mac mini

Quote:
Originally Posted by BScout View Post
No. Not true. People making stuff up.
Pro Tools runs just fine on screens larger than 1080p. For years.
We can go all the way back to when the 30" Apple Display came out (2004!) for the multitude of studios that have used it with Pro Tools.

(I run a 2560x1440 and 3840x2160 together with zero problems at their native resolutions for multiple years)
Hey BScout, I would have agreed before I jumped up to High Sierra (I was running Mavericks with Pro Tools HD 11.2.2 and it was amazing) but the difference now between using my beloved 27" Apple LED Cinema (at 2560x1440) and the Asus at 1080p is night and day.

I'm glad it's working for you, unfortunately for me and others it's not the case.
__________________
James Welch
Recording Engineer | Producer
Masterlink Productions

Mac Pro 5,1 (Mid 2010) | 3.46GHz Six-Core Intel Xeon | 32GB Ram | AMD Radeon R9 280X 3072 MB | 256GB Samsung SM951 SSD Blade (PCIe) System Drive | 1TB WDC Sample Drive | 4TB RAID 0 Seagate Audio Drive | UAD-2 Quad PCIe
Sierra 10.12.6 | Pro Tools Ultimate 2018.12 | HDX | Avid Omni | Avid 16x16 HD I/O x2 | Digidesign 192 | Digidesign C24
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-22-2019, 05:43 AM
Sardi Sardi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Perth
Posts: 1,360
Default Re: -9173 Driving me NUTS 2018 Mac mini

Quote:
Originally Posted by BScout View Post
No. Not true. People making stuff up.
Pro Tools runs just fine on screens larger than 1080p. For years.
We can go all the way back to when the 30" Apple Display came out (2004!) for the multitude of studios that have used it with Pro Tools.

(I run a 2560x1440 and 3840x2160 together with zero problems at their native resolutions for multiple years)


I too run a 2560 x 1440 27” display and have done for years. I did notice Pro Tools have weird graphics issues when I moved from Mt Lion to Sierra as did most people. This was the first time I’d read of AAE errors being linked to screen resolution, hence my comment.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-22-2019, 05:43 AM
arche3's Avatar
arche3 arche3 is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 670
Default Re: -9173 Driving me NUTS 2018 Mac mini

Imo protools doest behave well with old graphics cards. When I switched from stock 5770 in my mac pro 51 to a radeon pulse 580 8 gig card the cpu issues pretty much went away.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Driving Me Nuts Cal D Pro Tools Software (Win) 9 06-28-2015 08:39 PM
This is driving me nuts Cal D Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 2 09-07-2009 06:50 PM
FW410 is driving me NUTS! Help!! JChance Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 3 10-20-2007 11:39 AM
PT Driving me nuts!!! mixerboy 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 6 01-10-2005 02:03 PM
driving me nuts stut5 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 11-09-2003 07:03 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:36 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com