Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2018

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #21  
Old 01-16-2019, 03:52 PM
LDS LDS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 533
Default Re: In what area is Pro Tools REALLY lacking??

Currently 2018.12 and 10.13.6 are running pretty damn nicely on my system with HDX. I did a clean install, and made a very concise list of what plugins I need... rather than my usual habit of just going to town and installing everything I could get my hands on. 95% of the free plugins I have collected I never actually use.

What I would love to see is:
- MPE support added.
- Better I/O control, with the ability to have analogue inserts use different output channels from input channels and sample based I/O delay offset instead of millisecond based.
- A simple option to reconfirm all surround channels to the desired standard (SMPTE, Film, etc).
- Dedicated surround channel mixer plugin. Something along the lines of the sound field plugin that gives you the power to change channel levels and locations of a surround channel.

I'm sure there are more...
__________________
littledevilstudios.com.au

Pro Tools Ultimate 2018.12. OSX 10.13.6. HDX. Avid Omni. Mac Pro 5,1 12x 3.33Ghz. 64Gb. 4x mSata SSD Drives + 4x HDD. Blackmagic Intensity PCIe. ATI Radeon HD5770.

Free Lexicon 224XL Impulse Responses
Free Sony DPS-V77 Impulse Responses
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 01-16-2019, 04:22 PM
ronwasserman's Avatar
ronwasserman ronwasserman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 1,849
Default Re: In what area is Pro Tools REALLY lacking??

Quote:
Originally Posted by Southsidemusic View Post
We run Ableton Live10 Suite aswell as PT2018Ultimate and Logic X has got a long way to come close to Live10 for midi and overall awesome features.

Along with Push2 Ableton is on top of the foodchain for sure! Love it!

And with Live10 now has way better touchscreen support as we use 2 Raven MTi2 screens for both PT and Live10.

LogicX is a accomplished DAW but has a lot to be desired for.
Agreed. I've been scoring in Live 10 Suite and it's amazing. Nice to work crash free with a ton of VI's. I do use PT to edit certain things though.....
__________________
Ron Wasserman
http://www.ronw.com
http://www.imdb.me/ronwasserman
http://www.fishertheband.com
Mac Pro (Late 2013) 3.5 GHz 6-core Intel Xeon E5 - 32 GB Ram / 1TB Flash Storage - Avid HD I/O - Latest Mac OS - HDX3 - Latest PT Version.
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 01-16-2019, 04:41 PM
capt kirk capt kirk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: vancouver
Posts: 341
Default Re: In what area is Pro Tools REALLY lacking??

I could redesign the clip bin in 20 minutes ......folders, sort by track, layout, deliniation lines between things types etc.....tons of stuff.....its the most pathetic part of PT as an editor....if i was writing id use Logic....otherwise since i've been using it for a long time and getting paid, its obviously not that bad....
__________________
www.kfaudio.ca
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 01-16-2019, 10:53 PM
metalmixer metalmixer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 174
Default Re: In what area is Pro Tools REALLY lacking??

pro tools 8 upgrade added more features than 9,10,11,12 & 2018 combined.
There is a serious lack of R&D at Avid these days - look at all the features in Slate Batch commander - many of those features should be in pro tools.
Track Freeze & Channels strips took 10 years to implement.
Back in Digidesign days (before the rebranding) there was a serious response to feature requests - now instead of simply ignoring Ideascale - Avid just pulls the plug on feature requests period. A good company should come out with very cool new features. Going to NAMM and talking to the Avid guys is like going down the street and talking to Mickey Mouse about Pro tools they simply have a DGAF attitude - FWIW I have been a customer since 1988.
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 01-17-2019, 12:37 AM
deanrichard deanrichard is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Waukesha, WI
Posts: 809
Default Re: In what area is Pro Tools REALLY lacking??

I'm still back on v12.8 so one or two of these may now be in PT, and I've been away from PT a while so maybe I'm misrepresenting some things. But off the top of my head these are things Reaper has that I don't remember doing in PT:

Folders (Insanely useful. Almost essential IMO.)
Render Queue (Extremely useful for creating different versions of a mix)
Sub-projects
FX groups
Track routing window
Skins/Themes, including ones with PT look and feel (Not a big deal IMO, PT has a nice UI)
Melodyne ARA support
Basic video editing
Better MIDI
Automation items - very useful
Item level FX. (not just clip level and a few other things, but everything)
Spectral Editing
DDP import and export (limited, but functional)
Video rendering
More complete plugin managment
Multiple track automation lanes visible at once (I don't think PT does this?)
Customizations that let you create your own workflow
--Scripts
--Customizable actions
--Editable toolbars, including toolbar sets
--Customizable menus
--Customizable hot keys / mouse input for both editing and actions.

Also, I don't remember that PT track templates could include an entire set of tracks, with Sends, etc. configured. Am I wrong? I know some of this is possible through Session Import. But for example, in Reaper with a single click I can call up a drum VI with multiple outputs configured, Sends in place, FX set up, etc., all neatly set up in its own folder.

One big thing I miss from PT is Playlists. You can group takes, and simulate some of the behavior, but it's not nearly as nice.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Protootr View Post
I keep reading on the line that Pro Tools is ‘miles behind’ competitor daws. But when I look back at the (now discontinued) ideascale list there’s not that many fundamental and highly voted for issues in which PT is really lacking against competitor daws. I mean big features like 64-bit support, Freeze track, bounce iin place etc were back in the days.

Folders in the clip list I consider one that is big workflow wise (I started that on ideascale long time ago) and there are plenty of nice small features that some other daws have that I’d like to see in Pro Tools (I’d love to see ARA2 support for Melodyne and some improvements in Elastic Audio algorithms to name a few).

But really, in what big workflow area is Pro Tools ‘miles behind’ competitor daws? What big fundamental functionality, innovation or ‘can’t live without’ function is Pro Tools lacking that is standard in all other daws?

I have used Pro Tools since the early days and have been a PT trainer for over 20 years. I know it really well. But I don’t use any other daw on a daily basis and therefore am not as fluent in any of them. So I’m really curious as to what it is that makes PT so ‘outdated’?
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 01-17-2019, 03:00 AM
home_studio home_studio is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Israel
Posts: 75
Default Re: In what area is Pro Tools REALLY lacking??

For post people, the list in so long..I'm sure that post has its own needs and musicians have their needs.
If Nuendo can do it, Avid surely can:

1. Video compositing: video overlay tracks so I can put TC and text/notes that would be imposed to the video. Its essential for ADR, foley, screenings.
2. Folders for clips so I can arrange all the narration in one folder, all the door fx in another. (Just some examples).
3. Built in re sync capabilities.

Avid claims to be the standard of the post industry, so act like one.
__________________
2018.7 Ultimate Native / Mac Pro (Late 2013) / 6 core 3.5GHz / 32Gb / OSX 10.11.6 / MBox 3 Pro / 2xArtist Mix / PT|Control
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 01-17-2019, 08:42 AM
michael c michael c is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: LA CA 90027
Posts: 1,067
Default Re: In what area is Pro Tools REALLY lacking??

1) PT needs to work WAY better with VIs

2) Midi is way behind basic DAWS

I've used PTHD/accel etc. since 1998. So over 20 years. They supposedly rewrote the program several years ago and it still is the weakest DAW with VIs and midi. Extremely frustrating.....
__________________
Mac Pro 3.5GHz 6-core (6.1 2015)
Sierra 10.12.6
64 GB RAM
1 TB PCIe flash storage
Pro Tools Ultimate HD 2018.12
HD Native Thunderbolt
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 01-17-2019, 09:44 AM
capt kirk capt kirk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: vancouver
Posts: 341
Default Re: In what area is Pro Tools REALLY lacking??

Avid should have bought soundminer. Long ago. And used it to create a new clip bin workspace. They really dropped the audio ball by not buying out wwise as well. Maybe fmod. In any case its working and im getting paid soooooo
__________________
www.kfaudio.ca
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 01-17-2019, 10:03 AM
zion's Avatar
zion zion is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Washington DC
Posts: 1,018
Default Re: In what area is Pro Tools REALLY lacking??

Quote:
Originally Posted by michael c View Post
1) PT needs to work WAY better with VIs

2) Midi is way behind basic DAWS

I've used PTHD/accel etc. since 1998. So over 20 years. They supposedly rewrote the program several years ago and it still is the weakest DAW with VIs and midi. Extremely frustrating.....
I agree! It would be nice!
__________________
Pro Tools 2018.7 | Studio One 4.1 Pro | Pro Tools 12.5.2 HD | Apollo X8 | UAD Octo Sat | UAD Quad Sat | Mac Mini 2018 i7 | 16GB Ram | 512GB SSD | Mojave 10.14.3 | OWC ThunderBay 4 | Drives’s Samsung EVO 860 + 840 + Crucial M4 SSD | Plugins | UAD, Softube, Waves, Nugen, Fabfilter, SSL, Lexicon, Eastwest, NI KOMP 9 ULT, PSP, IKMulti, Antares, Celemony, Slate Dig, etc | AKAI Pro Adv 61 | PreSonus Fader Port | Townsend Labs Sphere L22
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 01-17-2019, 10:19 AM
SomeOtherGuy SomeOtherGuy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 237
Default Re: In what area is Pro Tools REALLY lacking??

Engage Record and Solo buttons from within the MIDI editor. And determine which tracks get soloed there too, without having to switch back to the main Edit view.
__________________
Pro Tools Ultimate 2018.12 HD Native, Apogee Symphony I/O with Thunderbridge
Mac Pro 3.5 Ghz 6-Core (2014) 64 GB RAM, Mac OS Mojave, Samsung T5 SSDs.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pro Tools LE with a New MacBook Pro Lacking FW400 acacia 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 01-15-2009 11:29 PM
d24/Mix Farm system lacking TDM power veryathletic Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 4 12-20-2006 09:22 AM
How is PT lacking in Midi deejfro 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 22 07-28-2005 09:57 PM
XP lacking Mac Midi Functionality??? Jonny Jones 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 17 11-05-2003 07:11 PM
What is lacking in the new Control 24 and the ProControl patdotcom General Discussion 3 03-05-2001 01:39 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:44 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com