Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools | Duet & Pro Tools | Quartet

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-19-2015, 01:28 PM
tritonkorg tritonkorg is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: California
Posts: 165
Default Using Avid Branded Apogee Quartet with existing PT 10 & 11

Ok, I don't seem to get a clear answer on this after reading the info available online.

Here's the situation. I already own the registered PT 10 and 11 which are installed on a Windows 8 desktop.

Apparently the Avid branded Quartet is compatible with Windows machines. The product description says that it comes with "A Year of subscription for PT 12".

I do NOT need to install PT 12 at all and have no desire to get into the subscription game as I already own PT10 and 11. My question is, can I use the Avid branded quartet with my current set up without having to install PT 12 ? Or this hardware only works with the software version that comes with it? Please clarify.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-19-2015, 09:58 PM
VRW VRW is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 1,317
Default Re: Using Avid Branded Apogee Quartet with existing PT 10 & 11

Quote:
Originally Posted by tritonkorg View Post
Ok, I don't seem to get a clear answer on this after reading the info available online.

Here's the situation. I already own the registered PT 10 and 11 which are installed on a Windows 8 desktop.

Apparently the Avid branded Quartet is compatible with Windows machines. The product description says that it comes with "A Year of subscription for PT 12".

I do NOT need to install PT 12 at all and have no desire to get into the subscription game as I already own PT10 and 11. My question is, can I use the Avid branded quartet with my current set up without having to install PT 12 ? Or this hardware only works with the software version that comes with it? Please clarify.
As far as I understand it you can use it. Minimum is PT10.3.9. If you are on Windows 8.1 PT11.2 will be minimum but you donīt have to use PT12.
Check it out yourself.
http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/d...uartet-Drivers
(need to scroll down to find the Windows stuff)

If you havenīt bought the Quartet yet let me strongly recommend NOT to do it! Just read all the postings here and I have heard from Apogee that
they receive a huge amount of complaints as well because people CANNOT get their units get to work because of non working Avid software/drivers.
And Avid seem to do nothing to solve these issues. There has been absolutely no reaction for months regarding these problems. Seems they simply
have given up on those Pro Tools/Apogee gear.

So if you already have bought it and you still can return it, do it! If you have not bought it, skip it and look for another interface! I personally love
Apogee and had been using an original silver Quartet for more than 3 years successfully and would recommend this piece of gear to everyone basically.
But only the original Apogee version, NOT the Pro Tools Quartet/Duet! The hardware side of it is great but there obviously something is wrong with the
Avid software/driver side (Apogee makes the hardware but Avid all the software and drivers for these particular units)?
Believe me, you wonīt get happy with the Pro Tools Quartet/Duet!

If being on Mac I would recommend to go for the original silver Apogee Quartet as this one works flawlessly with PT11/12 but as you are on Windows
you better may look into any RME or Motu interface for example. Focusriteīs new Clarett series will be Windows compatible soon and even Universal
Audio have released an Apollo Twin USB for Windows particularly.

RME
http://www.sweetwater.com/store/manufacturer/RME
Motu
http://www.sweetwater.com/store/manufacturer/MOTU
Focusrite Claretts
http://www.sweetwater.com/store/sear...usrite+clarett
(there will be a 4 micpre unit for $699.- as well)
http://us.focusrite.com/clarett-range?rd=1
https://www.gearslutz.com/board/prod...nterfaces.html
UA Apollo Twin USB
http://www.sweetwater.com/store/detail/ApolloTDusb
http://www.uaudio.com/interfaces/apollo-twin-usb.html

Once again, you may check all the threads and postings here! I originally loved the idea of the collaboration of 2 of the very best companies in the whole
business (I personally love both!) but unfortunately there something has gone wrong on the Avid side regarding these units. Actually itīs a shame.

The very best to you.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-19-2015, 11:56 PM
tritonkorg tritonkorg is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: California
Posts: 165
Default Re: Using Avid Branded Apogee Quartet with existing PT 10 & 11

Thank you very much for the response.

Actually I own the silver Apogee just like you and been extremely happy about it...Too bad Apogee doesn't make their product compatible with Windows computers. After some research I came to the same conclusion and cancelled my order. I'm looking into getting something else.

Thanks again
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-20-2015, 12:21 AM
tritonkorg tritonkorg is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: California
Posts: 165
Default Re: Using Avid Branded Apogee Quartet with existing PT 10 & 11

Too bad most of these devices work with Thunderbolt which can't be used with Windows computers.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-20-2015, 10:14 AM
tritonkorg tritonkorg is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: California
Posts: 165
Default Re: Using Avid Branded Apogee Quartet with existing PT 10 & 11

So glad didn't go for the Quartet deal. On Windows 8.1 is only compatible with PT11 or higher. In other words it's barely compatible with their own software. I called all major Avid dealers yesterday to ask questions about this particular product and I was surprised how little they knew about it...As if they were ashamed of even talking about it. They couldn't even tell me if it would only work with the software bundle or what... !!!!

I ended up getting the Zen Studio Audio Interface. It already sounds good, but still I have 30 days to try it out.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-25-2015, 08:50 AM
VRW VRW is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 1,317
Default Re: Using Avid Branded Apogee Quartet with existing PT 10 & 11

Quote:
Originally Posted by tritonkorg View Post
Too bad most of these devices work with Thunderbolt which can't be used with Windows computers.
Hey, the Antelope Zen Studio for sure is a really high class interface and if you are happy with it itīs really cool but let me
say that I selected all the suggested stuff I posted you the links for because they all are usable for Windows/PC (via USB-
except the Focusrite Claretts)!

The 1st link, RME are all USB or hybrid interfaces (have both Firewire and USB) and are specialized on Windows/PC.
The 2nd link, most Motus are hybrid interfaces as well, means that each will have USB at least, even the new Thunderbolt
units offer both, Thunderbolt and high speed USB connections.
The 3rd link, the Focusrite Claretts are the only units which are Thunderbolt only but nevertheless will be one of the 1st
Thunderbolt units which will work with Windows/PC as well very soon (but of course will be useless if you will not use any
Thunderbolt PCie card on your PC).
The 4th link finally, the UA Apollo Twin USB is a brand new version of the Apollo Twin with USB 3 only! This is a freshly
released Apollo Twin which will work with Windows/PC only via USB, it even has no Thunderbolt port unlike the original
Apollo Twins. Those particular USB Twin will not work with Mac but only with Windows/PC.

You see, except the Focusrite Claretts you could use all those interfaces via USB 2 or 3 with your PC and all the latest
versions of Windows.

Anyway. If you should not be happy with the Antelope finally you definitely may check out the RME UFX for example
which really is a fantastic piece of gear for the use with Windows/PC.
http://www.sweetwater.com/store/detail/FirefaceUFX
If you would not need that many I/Os, the brand new RME Fireface 802 (offers Firewire AND high speed USB!) is a great,
high class alternative. Itīs comparable to the Quartet in some ways.
http://www.sweetwater.com/store/detail/Fireface802
If 2 micpres would be enough the RME UCX would be really worth checking out. It also offers Firewire, USB 2 and USB 3
for the connection.
http://www.sweetwater.com/store/detail/FirefaceUCX

RME is known to definitely be one of the very best working brands for professional audio with Windows/PC as for their drivers,
stability and support while providing superior audio quality.

Another 2 micpre yet brand new high class interface would be this UA Apollo Twin USB. Itīs the most recent release of the
Apollos and one of the first real USB 3 interfaces, means, itīs really fast=super low latency and you could use all the high
class UAD plugins with it. And it uses those studio grade converters and micpres which made the Apollo family famous.
http://www.sweetwater.com/store/detail/ApolloTDusb

Just as alternative solutions if you should not be completely satisfied with the Antelope. If you are, itīs great anyway!

Wishing you the very best!
Cheers.

Last edited by VRW; 10-25-2015 at 09:19 AM.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pro Tools branded Apogee Quartet - Users, what is the verdict thus far??? quantum7 Pro Tools | Duet & Pro Tools | Quartet 15 12-06-2015 11:05 AM
Avid Firmware on Silver Apogee Quartet? jpsexton Pro Tools | Duet & Pro Tools | Quartet 3 04-22-2015 05:51 PM
Pt 11 & Apogee Quartet sankstone Pro Tools 11 3 04-12-2015 11:19 AM
New Avid Branded DIGIDESIGN website feedback earthcorp General Discussion 44 07-13-2010 01:00 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:45 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com