Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 12

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-27-2015, 09:29 AM
gduk0256 gduk0256 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Scotland
Posts: 1
Default Avid Quartet ProTools IO install failure

I've just bought a second system for home use, Mac Mini i7 3GHz PT 12, everything fully up to date as of today. Its all up and running but when I now attempt to install the AVID PT IO control software, the spinning beach ball of death appears and I have to force quit installer. Can anyone help??

Last edited by gduk0256; 07-27-2015 at 12:58 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-07-2015, 10:15 PM
studioj11 studioj11 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 204
Default Re: Avid Quartet ProTools IO install failure

Did you ever solve this? Running into the same problem... thx.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-07-2015, 11:32 PM
VRW VRW is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 1,317
Default Re: Avid Quartet ProTools IO install failure

Has nothing to do with your new Mini or the hardware itself but with the Avid software/firmware/drivers.
With the Pro Tools branded Quartet/Duet Apogee do make the hardware, Avid all the software stuff and
there are some serious problems regarding the software/firmware/drivers which have not been solved
for several months. Unlike with their fantastic PT software Avid simply seem not to be able to get it to
work anymore, even more they seem to have kinda given up on those units in a way.
Check out all the threads regarding the Pro Tools Quartets/Duets.
http://duc.avid.com/forumdisplay.php?f=131

Such a shame! Those units could have been such wonderful results of collaboration of two of the really best
manufacturers in the whole pro audio world but obviously have turned into a nightmare for so many users
(Apogee have confirmed getting tons of complaints about those particular units as well but they cannot do
anything to help the customers because they don´t do the software stuff on these units).

So if you still can return the Pro Tools Quartet I strongly would recommend to do it. If being on Mac get the
original, silver Apogee Quartet instead (hardware and software by Apogee). I had this one for 3 years and it
was fabulous, a joy to use with Pro Tools 11 and 12. Worked flawlessly. If being on Windows replace it with a
RME interface (best guys for Pro Audio on Windows/PC) or something from Motu or the new Universal Audio
Apollo Twin USB which is brand new and for Windows only (USB3 instead of Thunderbolt).

Anyway.

Wishing you the very best, VRW
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-08-2015, 12:23 PM
studioj11 studioj11 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 204
Default Re: Avid Quartet ProTools IO install failure

I did finally get it to work by just waiting it out... SWOD lasted for 7 minutes or so and then let me click through the license screen! bizarre...
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Avid Firmware on Silver Apogee Quartet? jpsexton Pro Tools | Duet & Pro Tools | Quartet 3 04-22-2015 06:51 PM
Structure LE install failure Khatru Virtual Instruments 2 08-09-2010 09:48 PM
Install failure on pro tools v7.3 lew 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 03-04-2007 08:21 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:45 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com