Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools Software (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-22-2019, 06:09 PM
Media Man Media Man is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1998
Location: Burbank, CA
Posts: 509
Default i5 8400

I'm putting a computer system for a friend to run Pro Tools on. He is a world class musician, but a new PT user, so I will give him a few lessons to get him going.

My question is if the i5 8400 processor will have enough steam. He is on a budget, and a move up to the i7 will cost a couple of hundred bucks more.

I have a dual Xeon set-up, so don't have any hiccups.

So will the i5 be powerful enough for native?

Media Man
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-22-2019, 08:08 PM
Southsidemusic's Avatar
Southsidemusic Southsidemusic is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stockholm - Sweden
Posts: 11,235
Default Re: i5 8400

A stable solid system should be an i7 CPU and the minimum for PT is 16GB Ram and a SSD internal drive for OS and atleast a spinner 7200rpm or better for recording to.

I would not invest in an i5 CPU as it might croak sooner or later and saving money on the wrong pieces is not a good idea
__________________
Best Regards
Christopher


South Side Music Group
WEBHOME

”Pro Tools always wants to close and relaunch though, which is pretty annoying... especially when it never seems to manage the 'relaunch' bit. I'm sure it used to do it” - Quote LDS 2019
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-23-2019, 03:11 AM
Media Man Media Man is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1998
Location: Burbank, CA
Posts: 509
Default Re: i5 8400

"Go faster" is always good advice, but I'm wondering about real world experience with i5 processor running Native PT out there.

I have always been an HD guy, converted to Native HD when HDX became cost prohibitive for my business, so looking for advice from those running straight native PT 12.

FWIW, Avid recommends i5 as minimum requirements for PT 12 on the website, and SSD is not part of that minimum requirement that I can see, even though it makes perfectly good sense.

Media Man
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-23-2019, 03:37 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 34,436
Default Re: i5 8400

Maybe a better question is; what does your friend need to do? If they're going to be playing around with small sessions and only a few VI tracks, then maybe an i5 is enough(summing an i5 quad-core). But if they plan on doing full-blown productions with lots of plugin orchestration...they should be prepared for disappointment(at the least) or out-growing the system in a short time. It can cost more to upgrade later vs buying right in the first place.


Look at it like this: You spend $1K on a "budget" build and you outgrow it in 2 years, it cost you $500 per year. Spend $1500 on a "power" build and it lasts 4-5 years before you outgrow it. Your per-year cost is much lower


Having said all that, what is the budget? Maybe instead of building a new system, the money could buy a used computer with more horsepower? I recently purchased a refurb HP Z820 workstation for $1100. Specs were dual XEON 6-cores @3.5GHz, 64GB of RAM and a 500GB SSD for Windows. That's a lot of bang for the buck(and way less than my last X79/i7 build)
BTW, I would expect a world-class musician to outgrow a budget rig in very short order.....
__________________
HP z820 12 core, 64GB RAM, HD/Native, HD IOx2, PT11HD, UAD Quad, preamps from Vintech, Five Fish Audio, Miktek, Focusrite, Chameleon Labs, Warm Audio and Midas..............................
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-23-2019, 05:12 PM
64GTOBOY's Avatar
64GTOBOY 64GTOBOY is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Houston
Posts: 566
Default Re: i5 8400

I'm on Windoze , i have one lappie with an i5, one with an i7 duo and desktop with i7 fourcore all running 2018.12 "Native" or whatever they are calling it(Not ultimate,maybe, i dont know). The i5 is used only for small stuff as it will choke when track numbers and cpu hog plugins are in use. It's perfectly fine for singer sonqwriter stuff, with a FEW VI's OR no VI's and higher track counts. My old G4 850 with PT 5.3 is just as good so that kinda tells you there are some limitations. But not entirely unworkable. More VI's i would def go for the fastest i7 he can afford. IMHO
__________________
Dell XPS 8900 i7-6700K CPU @ 4.00GHz 32 Gig Memory:Seagate 2 TB,1TB,4TB OS Windows 7 Ultimate
PT 18.7 Native through A&H Qu-32
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-23-2019, 08:58 PM
leftalive leftalive is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 459
Default Re: i5 8400

What kind of computer does he have now? Or does he not have one at all? (I know some people just rely on phones and/or tablets for daily stuff...)

I ask because an i5 rig wouldn't be a whole lot more powerful than what most folks are using as a daily driver these days, in which case, maybe he should just grab a copy of PT first and get his feet wet that way. (Again - depends on what he's using now)

That said, If your friend is new to Pro Tools, then handing him a machine that is underpowered might be last thing you want to do. He's going to have his work cut out for him as is, just learning to navigate the software.

It could be years before he's able to tell the difference between 'this problem I'm having is due to limitations with my CPU' and 'this problem I'm having is due to [literally anything else]'.

If you want to save cash on a build, there are other places that make more sense. I really wouldn't recommend going below an i7 anymore.
__________________
PC workstation:
Windows 10 Pro
i7 6850K
MSI GTX 1080 Armor
32GB Corsair Vengeance DDR4 3200mhz RAM
Samsung 850 Pro 256GB SSD (system drive)
Samsung 850 Pro 1TB SSD (sample drive)
MyDigitalSSD BPX 480GB M.2 (work drive)
2 HGST Ultrastar 4TB drives (backup)
LG 34" Ultra-Widescreen monitor
Pro Tools 12.4
A loaf of bread
A stick of butter
Rye whiskey
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-07-2019, 05:48 AM
Prabha Prabha is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Santiago, Chile
Posts: 77
Default Re: i5 8400

Faster is better, yes....

BUT I do run a i5 6600 in my comercial studio everyday and very, very rarely the cpu puts a limit on my work (use lots of plugins, even reverbs and delays when tracking).
The hardware buffer is almost always at 64 even on large mixing (50+tracks) sessions. And always at 64 when recording (I do a lot of jazz and big band sessions creating several headphone mixes in PT)
__________________
PC i56600K 3.5Ghz 16Gb ram
Win 7 64
SSL MX4
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dell Dimension 8400 and 002 Chence 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 6 03-18-2009 04:51 PM
New Mbox and Dell 8400 and Intel boombatz 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 09-09-2006 02:22 PM
Dell 8400 Memor Errors in PTLE 6.new chris digi 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 08-25-2005 03:13 PM
DELL 8400 ... INTEL 925 CHIPSET PROBLEM CHEEZGRITS 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 7 12-30-2004 10:31 PM
MBox NOT compatible with Dell 8400!!!!!!! guest4254 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 21 12-03-2004 08:31 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:23 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com