Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 12

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-09-2017, 06:53 PM
mattrixx mattrixx is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Adelaide - Australia
Posts: 678
Default Physical RAM is running low

Does anyone else get this pop-up with ProTools HD 12.8???

It's driving me nuts... When I open up Activity monitor (nMacPro) I have heaps of RAM available. I have 32GB on board and this is a really modest session file I ma working with (Just some audio post, voiceover and music tracks... all up about 12).

Any ideas?

OSX 10.12.5
32GB Ram
PTHD12.8
__________________
Matt McKenzie-Smith
mattrixx.net
SourceConnect - mattrixx
AVID Collab user - mattrixx
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-05-2017, 10:57 AM
luke88 luke88 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 15
Default Re: Physical RAM is running low.

Yes. It started about a month ago when I installed "Exhale" from Output sounds. Don't know if that product is that actual culprit, but that's when it all started happening. Anyone have a fix for this yet???
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-05-2017, 11:46 AM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 12,573
Default Re: Physical RAM is running low.

If you uninstall exhale does it go away? If so then possibly just a good old memory leak bug in Exhale. Contact Output customer support.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-05-2017, 11:52 AM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 12,573
Default Re: Physical RAM is running low.

Quote:
Originally Posted by mattrixx View Post
Does anyone else get this pop-up with ProTools HD 12.8???

It's driving me nuts... When I open up Activity monitor (nMacPro) I have heaps of RAM available. I have 32GB on board and this is a really modest session file I ma working with (Just some audio post, voiceover and music tracks... all up about 12).

Any ideas?

OSX 10.12.5
32GB Ram
PTHD12.8
What standard troubleshooting steps have you tried? See the info under the "help us help you" link up top of every DUC web page. Moving all plugin files out of the plugin folder, trashing prefs, and testing with a new empty session are the obvious ones to start with.

Still problems after that I'd want to see some memory stats and would give you some commands to run to get them, I have no idea what you are looking at with Activity Monitor to see you have "heaps of memory", but understanding memory use can get complex.

Last edited by Darryl Ramm; 10-05-2017 at 12:08 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-11-2017, 06:21 PM
luke88 luke88 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 15
Default Re: Physical RAM is running low.

Darrell Ramm, thanks for your reply. My first inclination is to remove Exhale from my system....now if I can just figure out how to do that :) No info on Output's site regarding Uninstalling procedures...
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-11-2017, 07:42 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 12,573
Default Re: Physical RAM is running low.

How about deleting/moving the aax file... which you would have already done had you followed standard troubleshooting steps....


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-23-2019, 11:56 AM
StiffMittens's Avatar
StiffMittens StiffMittens is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Chicagoland
Posts: 6
Default Re: Physical RAM is running low

Having this same issue. (Pro Tools 12.7, MacOS 10.12.6) Pro Tools system monitor shows RAM usage at 99%. MacOS Activity Monitor shows about 16 GB of unused RAM available. Why wouldn't the system just allocate more RAM to PT?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Physical RAM is running Low error notedmusic Pro Tools 11 16 03-15-2018 01:38 PM
PT 10HD Physical RAM is running low Annas Pro Tools 10 11 03-09-2017 09:14 PM
PT HD 10 physical ram running low? garnoil Post - Surround - Video 16 02-23-2017 05:53 AM
New Install of 10.3.3: Physical RAM Running Low Immediately dougdude9 Pro Tools Software (Win) 4 02-22-2013 11:26 PM
Physical RAM Running Low Fuzzyc Pro Tools Software (Win) 7 02-18-2013 05:32 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:36 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com