Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2018

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-16-2018, 08:42 PM
MPVoiceovers MPVoiceovers is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: Canada
Posts: 5
Default Pro Tools Ultimate - 2018 12 Crash On Startup **RESOLVED**

UPDATE 2:
Turns out it was a rewire conflict with my Melodyne Essentials version from another software pack. I followed this fix:

https://avid.secure.force.com/pkb/ar...ility/en208941

I put back the DigiRewire.aaxplugin file into the Protools app contents package, and it worked right away.

Thanks all!
Mike



So tonight I updated thru the app manager from 2018 10 to 2018 12. Everything seemed to go fine, but then on startup, Protools kept crashing right around the hardware initialize. I cleared out the plugins folders, trashed my prefs, etc... Still no go. Created a new user in OSX, tried launching there - no go.

So on a whim, I looked at the crash log to see where it was failing and this was the note:
"5982.384532,00307,0e0d: Sys_PACE::GetDigitalSignature - looking for Eden dsig for path "/Applications/Pro Tools.app/Contents/PlugIns/System Plug-Ins/DigiReWire.aaxplugin/"
5982.812206,13b07,0034: [catch_exception_raise] got mach exception: 1
5982.812251,13b07,0e0f: Access Violation:
Stacktrace:"

So I went into the contents folder of the Protools app, and deleted the DigiReWire plugin. Clicked on Protools again, and it started.

I had zero issues with the previous 2018 10, and didn't have to delete that plugin from the launching app contents folder. Any idea why this is happening??

Mike

Last edited by MPVoiceovers; 12-17-2018 at 05:50 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-17-2018, 12:49 AM
BScout BScout is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 2,194
Default Re: Pro Tools Ultimate - 2018 12 Crash On Startup

update your ilok software (PACE and Eden are references to iLok)

You haven't mentioned what your audio hardware is.
__________________
Pro Tools Ult 2020.11, HDX 3, MTRX/SPQ, HD OmniMac Pro 5,1 - 3.06 GHz 12 core - macOS 10.13.6RAM 64GB, SSD 4 x 2TB, GPU GTX 980 4GB
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-17-2018, 08:45 AM
MPVoiceovers MPVoiceovers is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: Canada
Posts: 5
Default Re: Pro Tools Ultimate - 2018 12 Crash On Startup

Sorry- hardware is a Zen Tour... had no problems before the 2018-12 update.

UPDATE:

Ok, so I've pinpointed the problem to be with the DigiRewire.aaxplugin file that's in the contents of the ProTools app.

When the file is left in, the program crashes almost immediately. When I delete it from the package contents, the program opens and works without any issue.

I've updated the ilok licensing app to the latest version, and all licenses have been synchronized.

Is it possible that I'm missing something? I.e. maybe I need to download something else for that plugin to work without crashing?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-17-2018, 10:59 AM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 14,732
Default Re: Pro Tools Ultimate - 2018 12 Crash On Startup

What Mac? What macOS version?

This fails when opening Pro Tools with no session right?

Have you tried trashing prefs?

Have you been using rewire in the past on this system? Do you need it to work?

You can try reinstalling Pro Tools or a clean test install of macOS on a spare drive or partition.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-17-2018, 02:54 PM
MPVoiceovers MPVoiceovers is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: Canada
Posts: 5
Default Re: Pro Tools Ultimate - 2018 12 Crash On Startup

Running High Sierra. Fresh start of ProTools (not clicking a session file, just the application icon itself). Trashed the prefs and removed the plugins from the library folder. Still crashed... As soon as I went into the contents package of the app and deleted the digirewire.aaxplugin , it opened perfectly.

I've never used digirewire ever, so no big loss. But I just find it odd that now after that update it caused a problem. I even went back and downgraded to 2018-10 and still had the same issue.

Just really weird that it all started happening as soon as I updated to the latest version...
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Trial Pro Tools 2018.10 Ultimate DarkOff Pro Tools 2018 0 12-07-2018 11:20 AM
Pro tools ultimate 2018 Jaymoney0079 Pro Tools 2018 3 11-28-2018 12:12 PM
2018.4 Startup Crash manfromspace Pro Tools 2018 18 05-22-2018 11:10 PM
Pro Tools 2018.4 STARTUP CRASH eddiejag Pro Tools 2018 6 05-13-2018 01:56 AM
Pro Tools Ultimate 2018.4 GUI offset by tabs error Mike Ritchie Pro Tools 2018 2 04-10-2018 04:49 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:04 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com