Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 12

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 01-22-2017, 09:38 PM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 16,603
Default Re: Pro Tools 12 HD Native Thunderbolt Meter Lag

Quote:
Originally Posted by truthstudios View Post
Will upgrade tomorrow and post results.
Please do yourself a favor and perform a clean install. This means starting with empty hard drive instead of just upgrading ElCrap to Sierra.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 01-22-2017, 11:08 PM
truthstudios truthstudios is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 8
Default Re: Pro Tools 12 HD Native Thunderbolt Meter Lag

UPDATE:

OS Update was smooth with Time Machine backup of old system if needed. Everything is working...so far... (3rd party plugs all kosher)

I may be lying to myself but from the short amount of time I had with it on Sierra the meter seems to be more responsive. Meter lag was maybe 50ms or so on El Capitan and now it seems like it may be gone or between 0-15ms. Still need to spend more time testing because some points seem spot on while others a touch late.

Have videos of both but didn't realize my sound wasn't set up right before going to Sierra and reviewing the video. Will have to sync both so you can try to spot the delay.

Cheers!
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 01-22-2017, 11:10 PM
truthstudios truthstudios is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 8
Default Re: Pro Tools 12 HD Native Thunderbolt Meter Lag

Quote:
Originally Posted by JFreak View Post
Please do yourself a favor and perform a clean install. This means starting with empty hard drive instead of just upgrading ElCrap to Sierra.
Jumped the gun. So far so good. Will likely go for clean install next weekend so I can work this week and get some sleep tonight.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 01-23-2017, 06:24 AM
-3db -3db is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: NYC
Posts: 43
Default Re: Pro Tools 12 HD Native Thunderbolt Meter Lag

Upgrade from El Cap to Sierra 10.12.2 fixed the meter lag on my Mac Book pro. Used the Avid App Manager to upgrade. PT 12.7.0.676 Works great now.
__________________
Digi/Avid Certified PT
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 01-23-2017, 11:21 AM
truthstudios truthstudios is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 8
Default Re: Pro Tools 12 HD Native Thunderbolt Meter Lag

Quote:
Originally Posted by -3db View Post
Upgrade from El Cap to Sierra 10.12.2 fixed the meter lag on my Mac Book pro. Used the Avid App Manager to upgrade. PT 12.7.0.676 Works great now.
Did you clean install or go right up from the app store?
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 01-25-2017, 04:57 PM
Marcel Risberg's Avatar
Marcel Risberg Marcel Risberg is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Posts: 393
Default Re: Pro Tools 12 HD Native Thunderbolt Meter Lag

Oh ... and if you're going do show us using a video, please record it in 60fps or some other high frame rate format for better accuracy.
__________________

Marcel Risberg
Production sound and audio post - ljuddesign.se
Enthusiastically sharing knowledge and experience at Stockholm Film School.

🛠 Pro Tools Ultimate 2018.12 · HD Native · HD Omni
🎚 EuControl 18.3.0 · Artist Control · Mix · Control App
🦑 MacPro5,1 · 8C16T @2.4GHz · 16GB · SSDs · macOS 10.13.6 (17G5019)
📺 Separate video playback machine
🥇 Covered by ZDT/TLC · Keeping DAW OS clutter free
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Beginner: Pro tools 12 (not HD)with HD thunderbolt native system hklydian Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 16 04-20-2015 12:07 AM
HD native thunderbolt through Echo Express SE Thunderbolt Chassis hkj1 Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 1 11-06-2013 05:49 PM
Pro Tools HD Native PCIE or Thunderbolt Ric4001 Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Win) 18 06-21-2013 05:03 AM
I may not need a Mac pro after all... Pro Tools|HD Native Thunderbolt Interface rogerhavoc macOS 10 10-01-2012 03:56 PM
Pro Tools HD Native Thunderbolt Tweakhead Pro Tools 10 35 09-11-2012 10:00 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:40 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com