Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Mixing > ICON & C|24

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-09-2017, 05:14 AM
Stig Eliassen's Avatar
Stig Eliassen Stig Eliassen is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Norway @ Studio Varmt & Trangt
Posts: 7,455
Default Blue vs black XMON

Can anyone shed any light as to the difference between the two?

Thank you.
__________________
Studio rig - Pro Tools|HDX 2018.7 | Logic Pro X.4.2 | Avid HD I/O (8x8x8) | 6-core 3.33 Westmere w/24GB RAM | OS 10.12.3 | D-Command ES | Eleven Rack | Vienna Ensemble Pro 5
Mobile rig - Macbook Pro i7 w/16GB RAM | UA Apollo 8p | Pro Tools|HD 2018.3 | Logic Pro X.4.2 | OS 10.12.6
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-13-2017, 01:02 PM
Stig Eliassen's Avatar
Stig Eliassen Stig Eliassen is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Norway @ Studio Varmt & Trangt
Posts: 7,455
Default Re: Blue vs black XMON

Kudos to Avid Support. Got a new PSU from Dublin, replaced the old one, and I'm back in business.

Thanks!
__________________
Studio rig - Pro Tools|HDX 2018.7 | Logic Pro X.4.2 | Avid HD I/O (8x8x8) | 6-core 3.33 Westmere w/24GB RAM | OS 10.12.3 | D-Command ES | Eleven Rack | Vienna Ensemble Pro 5
Mobile rig - Macbook Pro i7 w/16GB RAM | UA Apollo 8p | Pro Tools|HD 2018.3 | Logic Pro X.4.2 | OS 10.12.6
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-14-2017, 09:53 AM
Drew Mazurek's Avatar
Drew Mazurek Drew Mazurek is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 11,526
Default Re: Blue vs black XMON

Nice!! Glad you got it sorted!
__________________
www.drewmazurek.com

Mixing and Mastering click here to get started.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-14-2017, 11:12 AM
Marco Bernardo's Avatar
Marco Bernardo Marco Bernardo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Lisboa, Portugal
Posts: 782
Default Re: Blue vs black XMON

I think the only difference is the Color and the end of date support. The tech inside is the same.. I could be wrong.

Regards.
__________________
Marco Bernardo

Dialog Editor, Sound Designer, Re-Recording mixer

nMacPro 6Core/D500/512GB/64Gb ram | PT HD 12 HDN Thunderbolt | HD OMNI | Avid Artist Mix | Novation Impulse 25 | Waves Mercury Native | Audioease All In Bundle | SoundToys | McDSP Classic Pack | DUY Overpack | Arturia Beatstep Pro
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-04-2017, 03:20 AM
Stig Eliassen's Avatar
Stig Eliassen Stig Eliassen is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Norway @ Studio Varmt & Trangt
Posts: 7,455
Default Re: Blue vs black XMON

Dang it, it didn't last long. Here's what's happening intermittently:

- the XMON shows as "Off" on the console
- the mute button becomes active on its own
- the sound disappears, and (usually) twisting the CR level knob will get sound back
- with PT idle, a relay in the XMON ticks back and forth on its own

I have tried re-seating every cable on the XMON and the console.
I have tried resetting the XMON.
I have tried resetting the console.

I'm thinking that something more than the PSU in the XMON took a hit when I had a power outage. ANY thoughts and tips are appreciated, including buying something other than an XMON for monitoring.

EDIT: Is there ANY chance that a faulty cable (XMON <-> D-Command) can cause this? I have a deal on a used XMON, but wasting money is not my favorite hobby.

Thank you ever so much in advance.
__________________
Studio rig - Pro Tools|HDX 2018.7 | Logic Pro X.4.2 | Avid HD I/O (8x8x8) | 6-core 3.33 Westmere w/24GB RAM | OS 10.12.3 | D-Command ES | Eleven Rack | Vienna Ensemble Pro 5
Mobile rig - Macbook Pro i7 w/16GB RAM | UA Apollo 8p | Pro Tools|HD 2018.3 | Logic Pro X.4.2 | OS 10.12.6
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-04-2017, 07:06 AM
Stig Eliassen's Avatar
Stig Eliassen Stig Eliassen is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Norway @ Studio Varmt & Trangt
Posts: 7,455
Default Re: Blue vs black XMON

Something is severely wrong. Even with the XMON muted and "off", the speakers suddenly emitted noise, and insanely loud. I had to turn off the sub and nearfields.
__________________
Studio rig - Pro Tools|HDX 2018.7 | Logic Pro X.4.2 | Avid HD I/O (8x8x8) | 6-core 3.33 Westmere w/24GB RAM | OS 10.12.3 | D-Command ES | Eleven Rack | Vienna Ensemble Pro 5
Mobile rig - Macbook Pro i7 w/16GB RAM | UA Apollo 8p | Pro Tools|HD 2018.3 | Logic Pro X.4.2 | OS 10.12.6
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-04-2017, 03:59 PM
remotedude's Avatar
remotedude remotedude is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: New York
Posts: 117
Default Re: Blue vs black XMON

Can you bypass around the XMON to see if the noise you're hearing is coming from the XMON or the system. We had an issue where we'd get noise blasts coming from the system. Full bore. Turned out to be a faulty HDX card. Just a thought.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-06-2017, 07:42 AM
Stig Eliassen's Avatar
Stig Eliassen Stig Eliassen is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Norway @ Studio Varmt & Trangt
Posts: 7,455
Default Re: Blue vs black XMON

Quote:
Originally Posted by remotedude View Post
Can you bypass around the XMON to see if the noise you're hearing is coming from the XMON or the system. We had an issue where we'd get noise blasts coming from the system. Full bore. Turned out to be a faulty HDX card. Just a thought.
Yes, I have a Benchmark DAC1 for monitor conversion. I flipped it over to "variable", meaning that I control the CR volume with the stepped knob on the front, and I just plugged the analog outputs directly to my sub/nearfields.

I've had PT/Logic looping a song for a couple hours, and it works just fine. The XMON is broken, no doubt about that.

Thank you.
__________________
Studio rig - Pro Tools|HDX 2018.7 | Logic Pro X.4.2 | Avid HD I/O (8x8x8) | 6-core 3.33 Westmere w/24GB RAM | OS 10.12.3 | D-Command ES | Eleven Rack | Vienna Ensemble Pro 5
Mobile rig - Macbook Pro i7 w/16GB RAM | UA Apollo 8p | Pro Tools|HD 2018.3 | Logic Pro X.4.2 | OS 10.12.6
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-10-2017, 06:37 AM
Watagushu2013 Watagushu2013 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: México
Posts: 153
Default Re: Blue vs black XMON

I think 2 years ago I had to replace the output card from my xmon because of a similar problem and strange behavior. Try to get in contact with someone that can test it or have it serviced.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FS-Blue D-Control 16 Fader Surround, Xmon. drogan88 Buy & Sell 0 08-19-2016 06:52 AM
Xmon connected to Black magic why it's mono? asef@me.com ICON & C|24 9 01-25-2015 05:55 AM
Xmon blue or black - whats the difference? Jakob Clemen ICON & C|24 4 12-12-2012 05:20 AM
Blue D-Command +Xmon + 192 DIGITAL neilvg Buy & Sell 1 10-19-2012 07:09 PM
WTB: D-Command Main Unit Blue w XMON efisch Buy & Sell 0 06-08-2012 08:27 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:56 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com