Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Tips & Tricks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #91  
Old 03-15-2016, 05:54 AM
Marco Bernardo's Avatar
Marco Bernardo Marco Bernardo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Lisboa, Portugal
Posts: 782
Default Re: Automation AppleScripts for Pro Tools (Mac)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Oliver M View Post
How about this:

Code:
tell application "System Events"
	tell process "Pro Tools"
		set editWindow to (1st window whose title contains "Edit: ")
		set editWindowName to value of attribute "AXTitle" of editWindow
		set sessionName to text 7 thru -1 of editWindowName
		display dialog sessionName
	end tell
end tell
;-)

AHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHHAHAHAHAHAHA you're the best!!

24 lines in 7

AHAHAHHAHAHAH You WIN Flawless victory!!
__________________
Marco Bernardo

Dialog Editor, Sound Designer, Re-Recording mixer

nMacPro 6Core/D500/512GB/64Gb ram | PT HD 12 HDN Thunderbolt | HD OMNI | Avid Artist Mix | Novation Impulse 25 | Waves Mercury Native | Audioease All In Bundle | SoundToys | McDSP Classic Pack | DUY Overpack | Arturia Beatstep Pro
Reply With Quote
  #92  
Old 03-18-2016, 11:51 AM
Oliver M Oliver M is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Europe
Posts: 945
Default Re: Automation AppleScripts for Pro Tools (Mac)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Marco Bernardo View Post
AHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHHAHAHAHAHAHA you're the best!!

24 lines in 7

AHAHAHHAHAHAH You WIN Flawless victory!!
I am far from being the best, I just have some experience. Sooner or later you will beat me. ;-)
Reply With Quote
  #93  
Old 03-18-2016, 01:26 PM
Marco Bernardo's Avatar
Marco Bernardo Marco Bernardo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Lisboa, Portugal
Posts: 782
Default Re: Automation AppleScripts for Pro Tools (Mac)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Oliver M View Post
I am far from being the best, I just have some experience. Sooner or later you will beat me. ;-)
Ahhh For me you're the best ehe

I'm not a competitive guy and Star Wars teach me this

"Always two there are, no more, no less. A Master (you) and an apprentice (me)."

And I need to learn so much more!!!

Next stop would be trying to do a Cut Scene look alike from a EDL to Protools (like EdiCue), but only that, I don't need for now more than that feature.
It's more complex... I need to think how would be done and if is possible.

If you want I can send you all the code that I've made by email. Let me know.

Regards and Thank you for everything.
__________________
Marco Bernardo

Dialog Editor, Sound Designer, Re-Recording mixer

nMacPro 6Core/D500/512GB/64Gb ram | PT HD 12 HDN Thunderbolt | HD OMNI | Avid Artist Mix | Novation Impulse 25 | Waves Mercury Native | Audioease All In Bundle | SoundToys | McDSP Classic Pack | DUY Overpack | Arturia Beatstep Pro
Reply With Quote
  #94  
Old 03-18-2016, 01:31 PM
Oliver M Oliver M is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Europe
Posts: 945
Default Re: Automation AppleScripts for Pro Tools (Mac)

I have ZERO practice with EDL, sorry.
I guess that I cannot be of help with this.

Have you tried macscripter.net for this?
Reply With Quote
  #95  
Old 03-18-2016, 01:34 PM
Marco Bernardo's Avatar
Marco Bernardo Marco Bernardo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Lisboa, Portugal
Posts: 782
Default Re: Automation AppleScripts for Pro Tools (Mac)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Oliver M View Post
I have ZERO practice with EDL, sorry.
I guess that I cannot be of help with this.
EDL is a file format that MC can export and give to PT people all the cuts that were made, it can be open in Excel, then I need to learn some macros to clean the excel sheet, after that I need to make a routine of copy from excel the time code and paste is in Pro tools, and so on.
__________________
Marco Bernardo

Dialog Editor, Sound Designer, Re-Recording mixer

nMacPro 6Core/D500/512GB/64Gb ram | PT HD 12 HDN Thunderbolt | HD OMNI | Avid Artist Mix | Novation Impulse 25 | Waves Mercury Native | Audioease All In Bundle | SoundToys | McDSP Classic Pack | DUY Overpack | Arturia Beatstep Pro
Reply With Quote
  #96  
Old 03-18-2016, 01:38 PM
Oliver M Oliver M is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Europe
Posts: 945
Default Re: Automation AppleScripts for Pro Tools (Mac)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Marco Bernardo View Post
EDL is a file format that MC can export and give to PT people all the cuts that were made, it can be open in Excel, then I need to learn some macros to clean the excel sheet, after that I need to make a routine of copy from excel the time code and paste is in Pro tools, and so on.
I know what EDL is, I just have no experience with it as I never needed it for my work.
And my wife is better at Excel than me, she knows this Microsoft app pretty well, I know how to open Excel documents, thats about it. ;-)
Reply With Quote
  #97  
Old 03-18-2016, 01:44 PM
Marco Bernardo's Avatar
Marco Bernardo Marco Bernardo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Lisboa, Portugal
Posts: 782
Default Re: Automation AppleScripts for Pro Tools (Mac)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Marco Bernardo View Post
EDL is a file format that MC can export and give to PT people all the cuts that were made, it can be open in Excel, then I need to learn some macros to clean the excel sheet, after that I need to make a routine of copy from excel the time code and paste is in Pro tools, and so on.
You're like me with Excel :) eheheh

This is just a idea, I don't know if it can be done. :)

I need to think more on this and make a flowchart first.
__________________
Marco Bernardo

Dialog Editor, Sound Designer, Re-Recording mixer

nMacPro 6Core/D500/512GB/64Gb ram | PT HD 12 HDN Thunderbolt | HD OMNI | Avid Artist Mix | Novation Impulse 25 | Waves Mercury Native | Audioease All In Bundle | SoundToys | McDSP Classic Pack | DUY Overpack | Arturia Beatstep Pro
Reply With Quote
  #98  
Old 03-18-2016, 01:51 PM
Oliver M Oliver M is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Europe
Posts: 945
Default Re: Automation AppleScripts for Pro Tools (Mac)

Quote:
Originally Posted by boomish69 View Post
Thanks for the scripts Oliver, Do you know anyway I can get it to work for 11 & 12 on the same system? If I try and add either to the security window it will only add one "Pro Tools"

It seems it only likes Pro Tools 12, I thought at first it was a naming thing as I renamed 11 "Pro Tools 11 then 12 is called "Pro Tools" but I rename them the other way around the security window shows Pro Tools 12. I then tried removing it and adding only 11 this did get it to work in 11 but sometimes the commands stop working and I get an error "system events. Can't get window "new tracks" of process "Pro Tools". (-1728)

Any solution idea's? apart from run 12 :)

2 reasons, I work a lot with others that only run 11 and I have yet to get 12 to run very stable.
I have thought about this but probably need to work with you to fix this.
Please, send me a private message with your e-mail addy and I'll get in touch.
Reply With Quote
  #99  
Old 03-18-2016, 02:02 PM
Marco Bernardo's Avatar
Marco Bernardo Marco Bernardo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Lisboa, Portugal
Posts: 782
Default Re: Automation AppleScripts for Pro Tools (Mac)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Oliver M View Post
I have thought about this but probably need to work with you to fix this.
Please, send me a private message with your e-mail addy and I'll get in touch.
Ok. Ive sent you a email to your iCloud account.
__________________
Marco Bernardo

Dialog Editor, Sound Designer, Re-Recording mixer

nMacPro 6Core/D500/512GB/64Gb ram | PT HD 12 HDN Thunderbolt | HD OMNI | Avid Artist Mix | Novation Impulse 25 | Waves Mercury Native | Audioease All In Bundle | SoundToys | McDSP Classic Pack | DUY Overpack | Arturia Beatstep Pro
Reply With Quote
  #100  
Old 03-18-2016, 02:08 PM
Oliver M Oliver M is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Europe
Posts: 945
Default Re: Automation AppleScripts for Pro Tools (Mac)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Marco Bernardo View Post
Ok. Ive sent you a email to your iCloud account.
Thats a misunderstanding, Marco!

I am sorry, my reply was meant for boomish69.

Again, I am sorry I cannot help with EDL and Excel.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pro Tools 12 Trim Automation bleu@cheerful.com Pro Tools 12 2 08-16-2015 04:25 AM
Pro Tools 11.2.1 Automation Bug?! Gneal550 Pro Tools 11 1 11-22-2014 01:15 PM
GRM tools automation bug? D'Animation Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 6 10-08-2014 08:21 AM
scripting Pro Tools; automation Bermaster 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 12 10-01-2004 12:38 PM
AppleScripts and other Macros for PT Bergeron Tips & Tricks 1 11-15-1999 06:55 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:23 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com