Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-14-2010, 06:28 PM
alx002 alx002 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: france
Posts: 163
Default Help editing MIDI with smart tool in PT8

Hi

I just updated my PT7 to PT8.

I only work with SMART TOOL ( the 3 tools selected)

Some changes are very frustrating in PT8:

-How do you Ctrl+clic on a MIDI REGION ???? with the smart tool????

WHen I hit ctrl , my grabber becomes a pencil...and I can't ctrl +move my midi region to my selection marker...... Any advices to perform that, without quitting the SMART TOOL????

- In NOTE MODE on a track , it is impossible to move Notes that are placed higher than the middle of the track....the smart tools does not show the grabber........

thx for help
__________________
MACPRO BI 2,66 +5Go RAM+ OS 10.6.8 FRENCH SYSTEM + DIGI002 RACK Protools 9.06


www.myspace.com/alx002
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-14-2010, 07:08 PM
filosofem filosofem is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Christchurch NZ
Posts: 11,864
Default Re: Help editing MIDI with smart tool in PT8

Quote:
Originally Posted by alx002 View Post
How do you Ctrl+clic on a MIDI REGION ???? with the smart tool?
Use another modifier, for instance Command or Option or Apple.

Quote:
Originally Posted by alx002 View Post
In NOTE MODE on a track , it is impossible to move Notes that are placed higher than the middle of the track....the smart tools does not show the grabber.
Use the MIDI Editor Window when hovering over a note the Marque tool turns into a Grabber.
__________________
Aaron Mulqueen - 001 HD Native
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-15-2010, 04:29 AM
alx002 alx002 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: france
Posts: 163
Default Re: Help editing MIDI with smart tool in PT8

Quote:
Originally Posted by filosofem View Post
Use another modifier, for instance Command or Option or Apple.
I do not understand your answer...... Can you be more explicite?

I can perform : ctrl+alt + region midi = the region is duplicated and placed by the start at the location selector

ctrl+apple+ region midi= the region is placed by its end to the location selector

But CTRL+REGION is impossible to perform
__________________
MACPRO BI 2,66 +5Go RAM+ OS 10.6.8 FRENCH SYSTEM + DIGI002 RACK Protools 9.06


www.myspace.com/alx002
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-15-2010, 05:25 PM
filosofem filosofem is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Christchurch NZ
Posts: 11,864
Default Re: Help editing MIDI with smart tool in PT8

Option+Click Region.
Apple+Click Region.
__________________
Aaron Mulqueen - 001 HD Native
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-15-2010, 05:57 PM
alx002 alx002 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: france
Posts: 163
Default Re: Help editing MIDI with smart tool in PT8

Quote:
Originally Posted by filosofem View Post
Option+Click Region.
Apple+Click Region.
This does Nothing!!!! And it does not place the region start to the selection cursor!

Alex
__________________
MACPRO BI 2,66 +5Go RAM+ OS 10.6.8 FRENCH SYSTEM + DIGI002 RACK Protools 9.06


www.myspace.com/alx002
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-15-2010, 06:39 PM
filosofem filosofem is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Christchurch NZ
Posts: 11,864
Default Re: Help editing MIDI with smart tool in PT8

On Windows in Smart Tool mode it's Start+Ctrl+Click Region snaps region start to edit insertion.
__________________
Aaron Mulqueen - 001 HD Native
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-15-2010, 07:19 PM
alx002 alx002 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: france
Posts: 163
Default Re: Help editing MIDI with smart tool in PT8

Ok but which is the key " start"???? Is it the spacebar???
__________________
MACPRO BI 2,66 +5Go RAM+ OS 10.6.8 FRENCH SYSTEM + DIGI002 RACK Protools 9.06


www.myspace.com/alx002
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-15-2010, 07:25 PM
filosofem filosofem is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Christchurch NZ
Posts: 11,864
Default Re: Help editing MIDI with smart tool in PT8

If Command switches to Pencil tool, hold Command and try the Apple key, or hold Command and try Option.
__________________
Aaron Mulqueen - 001 HD Native
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-16-2010, 04:10 AM
alx002 alx002 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: france
Posts: 163
Default Re: Help editing MIDI with smart tool in PT8

Quote:
Originally Posted by filosofem View Post
If Command switches to Pencil tool, hold Command and try the Apple key, or hold Command and try Option.
You really think I didn't try all the combination of keys?????

;-)
__________________
MACPRO BI 2,66 +5Go RAM+ OS 10.6.8 FRENCH SYSTEM + DIGI002 RACK Protools 9.06


www.myspace.com/alx002
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12-16-2010, 05:59 PM
filosofem filosofem is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Christchurch NZ
Posts: 11,864
Default Re: Help editing MIDI with smart tool in PT8

Perhaps you should trade in for a PC this way you know it works.
__________________
Aaron Mulqueen - 001 HD Native
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fade in volume on midi track with smart tool rockguitarist1255 Pro Tools 10 1 01-05-2012 04:36 PM
Smart Tool in MIDI Editing in PT8 erant1 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 9 12-15-2010 06:54 AM
Smart Tool to delete midi note protollo 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 10 11-12-2009 12:39 AM
Smart Tool / Pencil Tool in Midi Editor AndyJCP 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 11 04-26-2009 08:08 PM
HELP! smart tool eraser to delete MIDI notes WON'T WORK! levelaudio 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 8 05-28-2008 09:05 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:56 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com