Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools SE and Essential (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-27-2011, 07:48 PM
bobdagod bobdagod is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: canada
Posts: 12
Default this board

ummm...why is it so slow?? peoipl need answers asap and yall never have any. lol. week forum rating from me for now.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-28-2011, 04:36 AM
Bill Denton Bill Denton is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Pittsburgh PA
Posts: 2,644
Default Re: this board

This is a user forum, not a technical support board.

While an Avid Technical Support rep may pop in from time to time, the people who provide the answers here are other PT users who are willing to give up some of their own time to help others.

Some users visit this forum several times a day, while others may only visit once a month, if that often. There is not someone sitting here just waiting for questions to come in.

If you really need a fix ASAP, Avid offers a paid support option, although even then you are not guaranteed immediate service.

Patience is a virtue...
__________________
X
Note that all opinions, observations, whatever, in this post are mine, unless I'm being mean or am wrong, in which case it's somebody else's fault. I do not work for Avid (their loss)...my only relationship with Avid is that of a customer (when I'm not too poor to buy stuff, like now)...and that hot administrative assistant...that's more of a "thing" than a "relationship" (that should keep them guessing for a while...)

Just rockin'...what more is there?

Bill in Pittsburgh
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-28-2011, 10:24 AM
Dism Dism is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 6,154
Default Re: this board

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bill Denton View Post
This is a user forum, not a technical support board.

While an Avid Technical Support rep may pop in from time to time, the people who provide the answers here are other PT users who are willing to give up some of their own time to help others.

Some users visit this forum several times a day, while others may only visit once a month, if that often. There is not someone sitting here just waiting for questions to come in.

If you really need a fix ASAP, Avid offers a paid support option, although even then you are not guaranteed immediate service.

Patience is a virtue...
You really feel you need to justify the DUC to a guy who calls himself "bobdagod?"

What a "week" name.

Plus, we're in the Essentials sub-forum, where nobody goes... because none of the pros with experience here have Essentials.
__________________

D
a n t h e I n c r e d i b l e S o u n d M a n

"Svetlana" v1 - 4.2GHz i7, 16GB RAM, OSX 10.7.4
Liquid Saffire 56 - PT10.2 - BFD2, VCC, Duende Native, Play 3.0

_C U R R E N T-D V E R B-S C O R E:515
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-28-2011, 12:41 PM
bobdagod bobdagod is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: canada
Posts: 12
Default Re: this board

it is easier to hit the e key twice...then go all the way over to the a key....

that being said...

theres already a thread here in 24 hours... my other ones are there for 2 weeks with no answer. glad yall have time for this.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-28-2011, 01:36 PM
Dism Dism is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 6,154
Default Re: this board

Quote:
Originally Posted by bobdagod View Post
it is easier to hit the e key twice...then go all the way over to the a key....

that being said...

theres already a thread here in 24 hours... my other ones are there for 2 weeks with no answer. glad yall have time for this.
As I mentioned... not very many people here have PT Essentials, and those who do have very little experience as it is a free beginner's version of Pro Tools.
__________________

D
a n t h e I n c r e d i b l e S o u n d M a n

"Svetlana" v1 - 4.2GHz i7, 16GB RAM, OSX 10.7.4
Liquid Saffire 56 - PT10.2 - BFD2, VCC, Duende Native, Play 3.0

_C U R R E N T-D V E R B-S C O R E:515
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-28-2011, 06:19 PM
sunburst79 sunburst79 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio USA
Posts: 12,763
Default Re: this board

The main reason its so slow is that the users who help the most and have to most experience do not own or have access to the SE and Essentials hardware and software. And SE and Essentials are just different enough that a lot of the knowlage we have doesn't directly translate. Add in the fact that SE and Essential have some unique issues/limitations/features not seen in regular PTLE or PT9 coupled with the fact that the hardware the users are attempting to run it on is usually far less than ideal.

So the power users of the LE world can't really help since they are not familiar with the product or its install procedures.

As far as Avid goes this is freebie product thats offered without any support. It's there to let you test your hardware and to give you an idea of the PT interface and capabilities. Thats all.

I do read some of the posts in the SE and Essential sections. If I have an answer I reply. Most of the time I can't help. I have raised the support issue with Avid and there is an increased presence in the SE forums but looks like its all volunteer. I also suggested they make the hardware and software available to some of the more knowledgeable LE user's along with looking for a few volunteers to patrol the SE threads. And I'll be honest between PTLE threads and the PT9 threads for both platforms and all of the other post's I read and reply to I'm not sure that I have much time to spare for another version of PT that I don't own or use.

Ultimately its a user conference more than a an official Avid tech support forum. The best way to solve the problem would be to learn about your product, read the published info and check back here and help out other's once you upgrade to PTLE or PT9.
__________________
Scott

Formerly Hobo Wan Kenobi

Core 2 Specs Page

ASUS P6T6 Revolution | i7 930 | 12GB OCZ DDR3 1600 7-7-7-20 | PTLE 10 | CPTK | 003 | Presonus D8 | 11Rack | Alesis AI3 | Presonus HP60 | Mercury + Studio Classics | Sound Toys | MasseyPack | Axiom61 | MAudio Keystation Pro 88
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What board is this? netnoggin General Discussion 6 01-04-2010 03:30 AM
Looking for a new board. Spyrojoe Tips & Tricks 3 02-23-2007 10:07 AM
BOARD TECH NEEDED to service Amek Matchless board audio[LAB] General Discussion 4 01-31-2007 11:17 AM
What about this MSI board? ESR 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 12-18-2002 07:28 AM
On Board DSP? EarnestBliss 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 07-18-2002 11:29 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:35 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com