Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac)
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 05-20-2013, 09:52 PM

Default how to get MIDI with OMNI

Hi everyone,

I am brand new to PT, just bought my new OMNI+HD Native Thunderbolt bundle, since there is no MIDI ports in OMNI, what is the best solution to use MIDI. I am a keyboard player and have a KORG Pa800, M3 and X50, if there is a way I can use one of my keyboards as a MIDI controler that would save me some bucks to spend on other gear if you think I have to buy a MIDI keyboard please suggest one.

Any input would be greatly appreciated
Old 05-21-2013, 12:19 AM

Default Re: how to get MIDI with OMNI

I use Roland UM-3G USB MIDI interface and a MOTU MIDI interface. Both work well with OSX 10.8.x (ML) and in Pro Tools 10HD.

While this is just a speculation I guess they will both work okay under PT11(HD) as well.

I have a Korg KronosX keyboard and use extensive VI libraries such as EW/QL, VSL and NI stuff so my expectations for PT11(HD) are quite high. From what I read PT11 should be my "salvation".
Old 05-21-2013, 03:07 AM

Since your in a Mac forum, USB-MIDI from your keyboards or a MIDI to USB interface.
Audio-MIDI setup is in your System/applications/utilities folder

Add midi or instrument track and have some fun.

Pro Tools menu "Help" has the wonderful Pro Tools Reference guide that = the Manual....
Old 05-21-2013, 06:52 AM

Been a while since I've done this rant, so here goes...

There is a lot of confusion regarding MIDI, and here's the big one...

While the MIDI specification does define a connector (the familiar 5-pin DIN), MIDI primarily defines a protocol, which is a means for devices to "understand" each other.