Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-28-2002, 01:58 AM
Okion Okion is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: SF CA USA
Posts: 650
Default hard drives: to SCSI or not to SCSI?

I have been running on a 20 gb 7200 rpm 8.9 latency
maxtor disk.

Ran out of room, Now I need a new audio drive. I have this habit of
copying whole sessions just in case I want to get back to the way it was.

Any suggestions?

SCSI or not? If so what cards are good?

Does size matter or is just how you use it?

What RPMs? What latency?

Should I segment? If so to what size?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-28-2002, 02:08 AM
vonbleak101 vonbleak101 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Australia
Posts: 1,256
Default Re: hard drives: to SCSI or not to SCSI?

SCSI rocks but unless you are using sessions larger than 32 tracks (mabey in Logic or something) or are heaviy into digital film making, the benifits of the added cost are somewhat lost. Sure you get slightly better seek times, but with the new ata 133 bus its only a little behind scsi (160) so i dont think its worth it. [img]images/icons/grin.gif[/img]
__________________
Audio Engineer/Musician/Producer
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-28-2002, 09:32 AM
N-G-NEER N-G-NEER is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Jacksonville Beach, USA
Posts: 545
Default Re: hard drives: to SCSI or not to SCSI?

I concur. The SCSI 160 seems to be a bit faster than ATA 133 but it's the continius throughput that tells the story. The PCI bus that carries the information is 133 Hmmmm!! I have used the new ATA 133 Maxtor quite drives and they ROCK!!!
They are way faster than the Wide SCSI 160's we have upstairs in the Video suite, and Imensely faster than the SCSI drives we have in the Audio Room. Digital Video by the way requires a very low throughput I have ATA 66 5400 RPM drives that can easily handle that. [img]images/icons/smile.gif[/img] [img]images/icons/smile.gif[/img] [img]images/icons/smile.gif[/img]
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-28-2002, 09:58 AM
Pako Pako is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: MT
Posts: 499
Default Re: hard drives: to SCSI or not to SCSI?

Well... Study's show that the optimum size for hardrives are in the sweet spot of 32-36GB hard drives... Regardless of seek times, the larger you get the slower performance you get. So SCSI or not, keep this in mind.

One advantage that SCSI has over IDE that nobody has mentioned is the fact that one SCSI adapter can support up to 16 different SCSI devices on one cable or daisy chain of cables. IDE, on the other hand, is limited to only Two devices per bus. With most IDE adapter cards only having 2 IDE bus's, that's only a total of 4 IDE devices.

Cost is a huge factor, but so is reliability. A redundant system is worth it's weight in gold, but then again, so are backups. [img]images/icons/smile.gif[/img]

I've run both IDE and SCSI for both video and sound productions, I'm running all 7200rpm IDE drives....2X 80gb's and 1x 40gb, but I'm also running 1x 36gb IBM SCSI 10k rpm as well as a 9gb 7200 RPM SCSI.

From my personal experience, Redundancy is worth the extra price for SCSI as well as the extra performance. In fact, I just sold my first born so I could get a couple 36gb 10k SCSI's (Still waiting for the time to install them....)

This has been my experience... I guess I would go ahead and fill up on the IDE's until you run out of IDE room, the go to SCSI to expand your HD resources..

The SCSI card I've been using is the GLYPH SCSI Ultra2 Card that I purchased from Sweetwater, which I see all they have now are adaptec SCSI adapters...

I can say I haven't one lick of trouble with my SCSI's....my IDE's on the other hand are a different story.

~Cheers~
__________________
|OS 10.2.8|80gb ATA100|120gb ATA100|
|Mac|FW800|DP 1.25ghz|1.5gb Ram|
|PTLE 6.1.2|Digi002r|Digimax|
|Recent PC to Mac convert|
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-28-2002, 04:57 PM
Okion Okion is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: SF CA USA
Posts: 650
Default Re: hard drives: to SCSI or not to SCSI?

Thanks for all the answers.

What about segmenting?

I can get a 120 or 80 gb with 8mb cash for a resonalbe price.

Would it just be better to get a 36gb disk with no cash and not segment?

Of all people I know I should know this. It's embarasing having to ask. I can't know everything about my line of work though, I'm more on the OOD software side than the driver level hardware stuff.

Thanks again.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
scsi hard drives murph16 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 8 07-08-2002 12:51 AM
hard drives and scsi john adam 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 02-15-2001 02:12 AM
What Hard Drives are Best--SCSI vs ATA?? guitates 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 41 12-24-2000 12:09 AM
Hard Drives - SCSI vs IDE - again... kbahjat 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 7 11-24-2000 03:21 PM
scsi or ide Hard Drives for 001? mikerica101996 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 10-19-2000 08:22 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:22 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com