Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  ē  Community Terms of Use  ē  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  ē  Community Search  ē  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-05-2019, 09:41 AM
brianjanthony brianjanthony is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: PA USA
Posts: 1,074
Default Graphics card suggestions 5,1

I have a Mac 2010 ish 5,1 with upgraded processor card. Iím using HDX. Is there a SINGLE slot Graphics card for my machine that will get me at least 2 monitors (Slate Raven and 27Ē). I have a 7950 (I think thatís the number) and itís 2 slots.

Iíd like to give my card some room to breathe. It failed a digitest and I canít even try a different slot bc the graphics card takes up the bottom 2, and doesnít fit in slots 2-3.
__________________
Brian
www.brianjanthony.com
MacPro 6 core 3.46 Cheese Grater
HDX and HD NATIVE
48 gig Ram
PT 2018.3.
Sierra
192 IO and 96 IO

TDM user way back. PT user since 98.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-16-2019, 07:23 AM
arche3's Avatar
arche3 arche3 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 856
Default Re: Graphics card suggestions 5,1

I'm pretty sure there isn't one that will work to drive those sizes without issues.

The original 51 card gt120? Single slot. Dual monitor. But it's very under powered.

Sent from my SM-G975U using Tapatalk

Last edited by arche3; 07-16-2019 at 11:46 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-19-2019, 07:59 AM
DetroitT's Avatar
DetroitT DetroitT is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Detroit, Mi, USA
Posts: 2,084
Default Re: Graphics card suggestions 5,1

Hi.
Ive used a Nvidia P4000 note the correct web driver up to MacOs 10.13.6
Along with the the gt120 for boot screen.

Note that macos 10.14 will not work with the above.
Consider AMD wx7100 1-6 pin but no boot screen.

Currently in Mojave I’m using AMD rx 580 with 6<8 pin cable.
__________________
(Help us Help You)<<<click here

Testing:All APFS 90% 10% Audio on HFS+(Testing 1.5 yr in)
Pro Tools U-2019.6 MacOS 10.14.6
Second boot-10.13.6 (Avid HDX-1 Omni)

(MP 5,1 / 64-Gb)
(Sapphire RX-580 MacVCEdition, 3-Displays)
MOTU FW-CoreAudio (for poly recording)
(SSL-HUI-MIDI over IP)
----
music-design-creation
Post Music-Sound mixing, Production-Enhancements.

Audio Tuning and System Services
----
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-25-2019, 06:13 AM
Eganmedia Eganmedia is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Colchester, Vermont USA
Posts: 2
Default Re: Graphics card suggestions 5,1

I have a newer (mid 2012) Mac Pro 5,1 with an upgraded processor as well. After searching around I jerry-rigged a very stable system with a used AMD Radeon HD7950. It allows me to have 4 monitors- 2 X 1920 x 1080 for mix/ edit, 1 x 4K for a video projector for picture and 1 1920x1080 for ADR/ studio.

The HD7950 requires two power connections and I only had one available on the motherboard. I found a thread somewhere that suggested there was sufficient power available from the second DVD bay. It took some finagling to get the cable run up to the optical bay, but it works perfectly.
__________________
Joe Egan
EMP
Colchester, VT
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-07-2019, 12:41 PM
the.engineer the.engineer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Guildford, Surrey, UK
Posts: 216
Default Re: Graphics card suggestions 5,1

Quote:
Originally Posted by brianjanthony View Post
I have a Mac 2010 ish 5,1 with upgraded processor card. Iím using HDX. Is there a SINGLE slot Graphics card for my machine that will get me at least 2 monitors (Slate Raven and 27Ē). I have a 7950 (I think thatís the number) and itís 2 slots.



Iíd like to give my card some room to breathe. It failed a digitest and I canít even try a different slot bc the graphics card takes up the bottom 2, and doesnít fit in slots 2-3.


Iím assuming your other slots are taken? The HDX will work fine in slots 2, 3 or 4 itís only at x4 speed so doesnít need the x16 sleek offered in slot two.

I have a Radeon RX580 in slot 1, angel wings px1 with Samsung 960 EVO in slot 2, then HDX in 3 and finally UAD quad in 4. Itís been 36įC over here recently and all was good (albeit a bit warm).


James Welch
Recording Engineer | Producer
Masterlink Productions

Mac Pro 5,1 (Mid 2010) | 3.46GHz Six-Core Intel Xeon | 32GB Ram | AMD Radeon R9 280X 3072 MB | 256GB Samsung SM951 SSD Blade (PCIe) System Drive | 1TB WDC Sample Drive | 4TB RAID 0 Seagate Audio Drive | UAD-2 Quad PCIe
Mojave 10.14.5 | Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.5 | HDX | Avid Omni | Avid 16x16 HD I/O x2 | Digidesign 192 | Digidesign C24
__________________
James Welch
Recording Engineer | Producer
Masterlink Productions

Mac Pro 5,1 (Mid 2010) | 3.46GHz Six-Core Intel Xeon | 32GB Ram | AMD Radeon RX 580 8GB | Apple 27" LED Cinema | 500GB Samsung 960 EVO M.2 SSD System Drive | 1TB WDC Sample Drive | 4TB RAID 0 Seagate Audio Drive | UAD-2 Quad PCIe
Mojave 10.14.5 | Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.5 | HDX | Avid Omni | Avid 16x16 HD I/O x2 | Digidesign 192 | Digidesign C24
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-14-2019, 02:46 PM
SDDP SDDP is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Los Angles, CA
Posts: 501
Default Re: Graphics card suggestions 5,1

Quote:
Originally Posted by the.engineer View Post
Iím assuming your other slots are taken? The HDX will work fine in slots 2, 3 or 4 itís only at x4 speed so doesnít need the x16 sleek offered in slot two.

I have a Radeon RX580 in slot 1, angel wings px1 with Samsung 960 EVO in slot 2, then HDX in 3 and finally UAD quad in 4. Itís been 36įC over here recently and all was good (albeit a bit warm).


James Welch
Recording Engineer | Producer
Masterlink Productions

Mac Pro 5,1 (Mid 2010) | 3.46GHz Six-Core Intel Xeon | 32GB Ram | AMD Radeon R9 280X 3072 MB | 256GB Samsung SM951 SSD Blade (PCIe) System Drive | 1TB WDC Sample Drive | 4TB RAID 0 Seagate Audio Drive | UAD-2 Quad PCIe
Mojave 10.14.5 | Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.5 | HDX | Avid Omni | Avid 16x16 HD I/O x2 | Digidesign 192 | Digidesign C24

Whoa!
I didn't think this was possible and have asked this on other forums. I have a 5,1 with a RX580 that uses two 6 pin to one 8 pin for power slot 1, then SSD via PCI, HDN card and BM Intensity pro and wanted to go to HDX, but after even calling AVID tech support everyone told me there's no way to power the HDX? How are you powering your HDX and RX580?
__________________
-Mac Pro 5,1 12core 2.4GHz Westmere 40g
-RX 580 8GB GPU
-OSX 10.12.6 on a 1TB SSD Via PCIE card
-PTHDN 2019.5 Ultimate
-HD Omni
-BM Intensity Pro

-Waves Mercury+SSL4000 Collection+Abbey Roads
-iZotope RX7 Advanced
-iZotope Post Production Suite 3
-iZotope Music Production Suite 2.1
-HALO UP/DOWN MIX
-ANYMIX
-Delonghi Perfecta ESAM 5600.S
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-15-2019, 07:41 AM
brianjanthony brianjanthony is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: PA USA
Posts: 1,074
Default Re: Graphics card suggestions 5,1

I used some form of power adapter recommended by a few of the DUC legends. I still think itís partly why I have issues sometimes with heat.

I was not aware you could run the hdx card in ANY of the slots of a 5,1. Iíd love to Move my hdx card into a cooler slot if possible. I never got a thunderbolt chassis since I canít use thunderbolt
__________________
Brian
www.brianjanthony.com
MacPro 6 core 3.46 Cheese Grater
HDX and HD NATIVE
48 gig Ram
PT 2018.3.
Sierra
192 IO and 96 IO

TDM user way back. PT user since 98.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-15-2019, 01:46 PM
the.engineer the.engineer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Guildford, Surrey, UK
Posts: 216
Default Re: Graphics card suggestions 5,1

Quote:
Originally Posted by SDDP View Post
Whoa!
I didn't think this was possible and have asked this on other forums. I have a 5,1 with a RX580 that uses two 6 pin to one 8 pin for power slot 1, then SSD via PCI, HDN card and BM Intensity pro and wanted to go to HDX, but after even calling AVID tech support everyone told me there's no way to power the HDX? How are you powering your HDX and RX580?


I made a splitter cable. So I have a 6 pin cable going to 8 pin (for the RX580) and the 4 pin for the HDX. The power is only for the fan on the HDX card so draw is minimal.

Iím sure you can find one online if youíre not handy with a soldering iron.


James Welch
Recording Engineer | Producer
Masterlink Productions

Mac Pro 5,1 (Mid 2010) | 3.46GHz Six-Core Intel Xeon | 32GB Ram | AMD Radeon R9 280X 3072 MB | 256GB Samsung SM951 SSD Blade (PCIe) System Drive | 1TB WDC Sample Drive | 4TB RAID 0 Seagate Audio Drive | UAD-2 Quad PCIe
Mojave 10.14.5 | Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.5 | HDX | Avid Omni | Avid 16x16 HD I/O x2 | Digidesign 192 | Digidesign C24
__________________
James Welch
Recording Engineer | Producer
Masterlink Productions

Mac Pro 5,1 (Mid 2010) | 3.46GHz Six-Core Intel Xeon | 32GB Ram | AMD Radeon RX 580 8GB | Apple 27" LED Cinema | 500GB Samsung 960 EVO M.2 SSD System Drive | 1TB WDC Sample Drive | 4TB RAID 0 Seagate Audio Drive | UAD-2 Quad PCIe
Mojave 10.14.5 | Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.5 | HDX | Avid Omni | Avid 16x16 HD I/O x2 | Digidesign 192 | Digidesign C24
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-17-2019, 12:51 PM
filmixer filmixer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Studio City, CA, U.S.A.
Posts: 952
Default Re: Graphics card suggestions 5,1

I have HDX cards as well and wanted a card that didn't need additional power so got an Nvidia GT 640 1GB card. It support Metal for when I move to Mojave and supports three monitors through 1 DVI port, 1 HDMI port and 1 displayport. It's working great and displays the Mac boot screen. Just do an eBay search for Nvidia 640 GT Mac.
__________________
Mark Ettel C.A.S.

Last edited by filmixer; 08-19-2019 at 10:36 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-21-2019, 12:34 PM
DetroitT's Avatar
DetroitT DetroitT is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Detroit, Mi, USA
Posts: 2,084
Default Re: Graphics card suggestions 5,1

APPLE EFI AMD RX480 8GB REFERENCE MODEL SINGLE 6 PIN FOR MAC PRO 4,1/5,1
$299.95

Limited at Macvideocards.com
For macOS 10.14 - 10.15
__________________
(Help us Help You)<<<click here

Testing:All APFS 90% 10% Audio on HFS+(Testing 1.5 yr in)
Pro Tools U-2019.6 MacOS 10.14.6
Second boot-10.13.6 (Avid HDX-1 Omni)

(MP 5,1 / 64-Gb)
(Sapphire RX-580 MacVCEdition, 3-Displays)
MOTU FW-CoreAudio (for poly recording)
(SSL-HUI-MIDI over IP)
----
music-design-creation
Post Music-Sound mixing, Production-Enhancements.

Audio Tuning and System Services
----

Last edited by DetroitT; 08-21-2019 at 12:36 PM. Reason: Link add
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
EMI Noise: Graphics card to HD Native card jacknprewitt Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 0 10-19-2013 09:02 PM
Which passively-cooled graphics card suggestions PT 9/10 & gaming? Melie Windows 3 01-18-2013 06:59 AM
HD Native Card Possibly Fried My Graphics Card witrelo Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 1 09-14-2011 11:46 AM
Graphics card roziel 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 10-02-2008 06:06 PM
Graphics card for G4 800 gone bad MidnightFlyer 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 11-25-2007 07:43 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:44 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com