Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > FireWire and USB Audio Interfaces (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-06-2013, 03:56 PM
KierONeil KierONeil is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Arkansas, USA
Posts: 46
Default Should I get an Mbox?

I just bought Pro Tools 10 and have a Korg microSTATION synthesizer. This is running on a Windows 7 laptop with pretty good CPU and RAM

My understanding is that I don't need an interface like the Mbox with Pro Tools 10 but I'm not sure what I'm missing out on either.

What are the benefits that I would get from an Mbox that I wouldn't from just plugging my synth directly into my laptop?

Thanks,
Kier
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-06-2013, 04:41 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 34,805
Default Re: Should I get an Mbox?

What kind of input does the laptop have? Assuming its a mini TRS plug, odds are that its MONO(not good) and of low quality(also not good). The cool thing about not needing an external interface is really geared towards editing and mixing, but falls short for recording. I would get an interface(and Mbox3 is a good option. Before you rush out and buy anything, how many inputs do you really need(or want)? Are you only going to be working solo? If yes, then Mbox is a great choice, BUT, are you planning on working with a collaborator, a band or hiring yourself out for recordings? That calls for more inputs and more outputs(for headphone mixes). Also, I will give you my personal 2 cents and avoid all the M-Audio boxes
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-08-2013, 09:08 AM
KierONeil KierONeil is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Arkansas, USA
Posts: 46
Default Re: Should I get an Mbox?

albee1952,
I am running a USB cable from the Korg to my computer and, at least for now, I'll be doing everything solo with no collaboration.

Let me know if you need any additional info.

Cheers,
Kier
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-08-2013, 10:15 AM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 34,805
Default Re: Should I get an Mbox?

So you work entirely in midi? No microphones at all? If that's the case, Mbox seems like a waste of money(but would be cool when you get to a point where you want to add a mic for vocals or acoustic or whatever).
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Updated Mac Drivers for Mbox, Mbox Pro and Fast Track Ultra now available Avid Technical Alerts 0 10-30-2012 04:24 PM
Mbox mix knob always plays a drum track,Mbox 2 and Pro-tools LE 8: Haezel 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 02-20-2011 02:58 AM
Digi Tech Suppport? Pfft!!! Mbox/Mbox academic Questions WestPhillySoulzition 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 11-17-2008 01:03 PM
Mbox 2 Pro vs Mbox latency - Mbox 2 Mini pro? marcnyc 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 11-28-2006 08:18 PM
Mbox - Routing the computers audio through the mbox ie. CD Rom, system sounds brownmusic 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 01-30-2003 03:22 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:44 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com