Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Post Production > Post - Surround - Video

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-08-2012, 05:26 AM
maquisar maquisar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: france
Posts: 29
Default Prblm with " video out firewire" function on w7 and PT10

hello, I just installed a PT10 on a windows seven 64, everything runs fine with digi002 rack, but its impossible to send a video through the ADVC110 video card. The option is NOT greyed, but activating it does nothing, nothing happens...no problem to read the same video on a mac and protools 8, but nothing happens on the windows system. little precision : the "scrub in video window" is activated and greyed. Is there an issue? Thank u very much.
__________________
i Mac 1,83 intel core duo
2Go memory
DVToolKit2
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-08-2012, 06:00 AM
steppenwolf68 steppenwolf68 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 213
Default Re: Prblm with " video out firewire" function on w7 and PT10

I think Video out Firewire is a "Mac only" option...
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-08-2012, 10:24 AM
Brandonx1 Brandonx1 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 2,848
Default Re: Prblm with " video out firewire" function on w7 and PT10

Correct. Mac only. It's a quicktime issue not a Pro Tools issue.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-08-2012, 10:29 AM
necjamc necjamc is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: RI
Posts: 2,667
Default

I don't know about PT or QuickTime but I do video out FireWire with Adobe Premier. So it's not a windows limitation. I know there have been issues with FireWire video when not using the Legacy drivers in windows 7 as well as certain chipsets. But if QuickTime doesn't support it I gues ls it wouldn't matter.

Edit: after googling a bit i see that for this application it's Mac only.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-08-2012, 11:32 PM
maquisar maquisar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: france
Posts: 29
Default Re: Prblm with " video out firewire" function on w7 and PT10

thanks a lot,

do u know a compatible firewire card or pcie with wmv? that could permit viewing video files on monitor on windows system? except avid mojo sdi at 2500 dollars?
__________________
i Mac 1,83 intel core duo
2Go memory
DVToolKit2
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-09-2012, 08:26 AM
Brandonx1 Brandonx1 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 2,848
Default Re: Prblm with " video out firewire" function on w7 and PT10

Cheapest supported solution is a avid mojo. The old analogue ones are cheap on eBay and are fully supported. It only sd video.

I satellite a rig for video playback. Currently it's a windows hdn machine but the best solution is satelliting a Mac and using whatever video option you want.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-15-2012, 09:33 AM
oswansonlow oswansonlow is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: London
Posts: 6
Default Re: Prblm with " video out firewire" function on w7 and PT10

Hi,

I'm actually experiencing this problem with a Mojo SDI. I also have a Mojo DNA with the same problem. The "video out firewire" does nothing.



Windows 7 64 bit

Pro-Tools 10.1.2

Tested using:
Avid Mojo SDI and DNA

Texas Instruments Firewire card (dedicated card)

HP 8100 Elite
i5
16GB RAM
NVIDIA Quadro NVS440

I actually have a dual boot install (I decided to re-install everything whilst keeping a working installation), the mojo on PT9 on the old installation works fine.

I have drivers set as legacy. The mojo comes up fine in device manager. I've also relinked the drivers manually through windows using the device manager.

Does anyone have any ideas?

Many Thanks
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
In the long run: "PT10 Student + CPTK" or "PT10HD"? Funky Monk Pro Tools 10 22 03-16-2013 09:46 PM
2 Problems after Upgrade PT9 to PT10: "Controller-Personality MBox3" and "MP3.dll" Eviltubbie Windows 5 07-03-2012 10:39 AM
Pblm with "video out firewire" function maquisar Windows 3 05-15-2012 09:26 AM
Boot Screen "Not Recognized Video Hardware Connected", "video engine failed to init bcrichguitar macOS 3 04-01-2012 09:10 AM
Display timecode counter via "video out Firewire" SonicPete Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 7 11-06-2009 11:21 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:19 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com