Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-23-2004, 10:39 AM
Rail Jon Rogut Rail Jon Rogut is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Los Angeles, CA, USA
Posts: 14,490
Default IMPORTANT SP2 UPDATE BLOCKER

I just got an email from Microsoft:

Important Partner Update

Tool for Temporarily Blocking Windows XP SP2 Automatic Download <http://go.microsoft.com/?linkid=878138>
Microsoft is releasing Service Pack 2 (SP2) for Microsoft Windows XP as a critical update through Windows Update and the Automatic Update (AU) delivery mechanism in Windows. If you or your customers would like to temporarily disable AU to block this download, please read this announcement.


Thought this would be useful.

Rail
__________________
Platinum Samples
www.platinumsamples.com
Engineered Drums for BFD
••••••••••••••••••••••••••••
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-23-2004, 10:42 AM
Stiff Stiff is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Lund, Sweden
Posts: 4,101
Default Re: IMPORTANT SP2 UPDATE BLOCKER

Thanks Rail!
__________________
Daily news & reviews
www.ProToolerBlog.com
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-23-2004, 10:53 AM
TheLP TheLP is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 1,264
Default Re: IMPORTANT SP2 UPDATE BLOCKER

Yes this is important, thanks rail.
__________________
[TheLP]
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-23-2004, 10:56 AM
graveleye's Avatar
graveleye graveleye is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Georgia, USA
Posts: 2,240
Default Re: IMPORTANT SP2 UPDATE BLOCKER

Isnt there a way on XP set-up to not get updates automatically? My main rig doesnt do updates unless I do it myself.
__________________
GIGABYTE X58A-UD3R, INTEL CORE i7 960, NVIDIA GEFORCE 8400GS, WIN 7, MOTU 896mk3 HYBRID, PT 10.3.2


Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-23-2004, 11:03 AM
JMS40 JMS40 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Gnashville
Posts: 6,347
Default Re: IMPORTANT SP2 UPDATE BLOCKER

Right click "My Computer"
Choose "Properties" and go to the "Automatic Updates" tab.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-23-2004, 11:12 AM
TheLP TheLP is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 1,264
Default Re: IMPORTANT SP2 UPDATE BLOCKER

Yea I tried doing that but for some reason with SP2 it didn't work...
__________________
[TheLP]
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-23-2004, 12:26 PM
graveleye's Avatar
graveleye graveleye is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Georgia, USA
Posts: 2,240
Default Re: IMPORTANT SP2 UPDATE BLOCKER

you mean to tell me that one day soon I am going to turn on my pc and its going to automatically update even though I have it set for off? It hasnt happened before. Thats so weird.
__________________
GIGABYTE X58A-UD3R, INTEL CORE i7 960, NVIDIA GEFORCE 8400GS, WIN 7, MOTU 896mk3 HYBRID, PT 10.3.2


Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-23-2004, 01:21 PM
JMS40 JMS40 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Gnashville
Posts: 6,347
Default Re: IMPORTANT SP2 UPDATE BLOCKER

Hasn't happened to me with "Automatic Updates" completely disabled.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-23-2004, 02:27 PM
Booyah Booyah is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 552
Default Re: IMPORTANT SP2 UPDATE BLOCKER

Quote:
Yea I tried doing that but for some reason with SP2 it didn't work...
SP2?
I thought the idea was to stop that from installing in the first place. I have SP2 on this non-PT machine and it trys to check for updates reguardless if you disable the service and the control panel option (see C:\Windows\Windows Update.txt log or whatever). Only way to stop existing SP2 from auto updating later on is to unregister the dll's for Auto and WU.

theres 2 things you need to do in SP1 for perm blockage:
1. Disable Automatic updates in the Control Panel > System
2. Start > run > services.msc
make these both disabled and stop them.
- Background Intelligent Transfer Service
- Automatic Updates

Hope this helps.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-23-2004, 05:35 PM
K.B. K.B. is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: London - a rather posh bit
Posts: 4,711
Default Re: IMPORTANT SP2 UPDATE BLOCKER

OK, services.msc:
Disabling Automatic Updates makes sense, but BITS says 'uses idle network bandwidth to transfer data'. That sounds like a good thing, and is only the means by which an auto update is performed, not the command itself. Correct me if I'm wrong...

There's a few others in there worth disabling while you're at it, like NetMeeting, Remote Desktop, Themes, Routing and remote Access.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Important Update to TL Space for VENUE Avid Pro Mixing Support VENUE Live Sound Systems 4 03-06-2012 01:25 PM
IE8 blocker question EGS 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 7 10-15-2010 08:58 PM
IMPORTANT-NOTE ON 8.0.3cs1 Update! TheChimp Eleven Rack 0 02-03-2010 01:28 PM
Important update, w/8.0.3 and Win 7 rqstudio 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 01-20-2010 04:25 PM
Important Cloning Poll. Could lose your Plugs Authorizations if you update! scar97 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 47 01-06-2010 11:48 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:28 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com