Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Other Products > MIDI
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 02-05-2001, 11:48 PM

Default Is it my Triton or my Digi001?

I have a digi001 and a 61 key note triton, and when I use the Midi it goes to bank G and no matter what channel I use it has the same sounds and it stays in bank G. Does anyone that has a 61 key note Triton work station know how to make the channels seperate by instrument. (ex. know how to make one channel for piano, another channel for drums, etc.) Or perhaps could this be a digi001 problem? And yes, I am new to the Midi world. Please help! Anybody!
Old 02-06-2001, 02:21 PM

Default Re: Is it my Triton or my Digi001?

I doubt it's the 001. It would help to know if you have PC or a Mac. The communication software is significantly different between them. I've never done much midi on a PC, but know OMS (Mac) pretty well.

You should verify that the Triton patch name definition file is correct in OMS - this would assume you're using a Mac.

One thing that you should look up in the manual: "Bank Changes". That will get you out of Bank G.

I'm not familiar with the Triton (I have two other Korgs, tho'), but most synths have a "single" mode and a "Performance" or "Multi" mode. The Performance mode is the one which allows separate midi channels and separate patches per channel.

Korg manuals are not terribly difficult and it sounds like it's time to dig in. A Midi primer might also be helpful. There are several decent ones available from the Mix Bookshelf, Amazon, etc.

------------------
LW

[This message has been edited by lwilliam (edited February 06, 2001).]

PT 2021; MacBookPro M1; 16GB; Spectrasonics; Native Instruments, Toontrack, Waves...too many plugins.
Old 02-07-2001, 07:37 PM