Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Avid Cloud Collaboration

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #31  
Old 03-25-2016, 06:15 AM
Cowboy Bob's Avatar
Cowboy Bob Cowboy Bob is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Iowa
Posts: 337
Default Re: Cloud Collaboration cost

Quote:
Originally Posted by YYR123 View Post
That would be mean wouldn't it? Cheers
Agreed. Honestly, I quite liked it.

Quote:
Originally Posted by YYR123 View Post
Honestly I haven't seen it, but I am in the camp with Sir Nigel....glad you got it to work and wish you well but I am not planning on using the features

I have a setup in the country, and bank on people coming to me... :)

BTW - When are you gonna sell me your used D-Command ?



I have a setup in the country, and bank on people coming to me... :)

BTW - When are you gonna sell me your used D-Command ?



Cheers
Pretty much the situation as I have. My studio is at the corner of 14th and Plumb (14 miles out, plumb in the middle of nowhere) Actually, the road is called Squaw Creek Road. I built my studio in a cattle shed once I stopped raising cattle.

I too count on clients coming to me, but I have done the Box, DropBox, iCloud collab on occasion. I can easily see myself as a "sometimes" 500 MB user right away, and probably no more than 20 GB a month level ever. I'll have to see how it works with the satellite internet.

Thanks for the tip, Tom, about renaming the ProTools on a Mac. I had never heard that, and I definitely use that when 12.5 drops.
__________________
Squaw Creek Road Studio
Bob
Pro Tools Standard (current version)| Avid Eleven Rack ERXP | Sibelius Ultimate (current version)
| 3.5GHz quad-core i7 iMac w/32GB RAM | macOS Mojave |

Focusrite Clarett 8Pre X | Lenovo i7 ThinkPad | Win 7 Professional | Avid 003 + Rack |

Reply With Quote
  #32  
Old 03-25-2016, 08:06 AM
nigelpry's Avatar
nigelpry nigelpry is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Home
Posts: 2,154
Default Re: Cloud Collaboration cost

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tom Graham View Post
PS - no ones made any jokes about my song yet…
Your bass and guitar 'I'm a one take man' efforts were edited out of the videos, and Gil helpfully mixed you way back, presumably to spare your blushes ;-)

If you'd care to post a link to the takes, I'm sure someone here will be up for scrutinising them for any potential cringeworthy elements that we could ridicule for all eternity.

;-)
__________________
Mac Pro 2009 with 2010 firmware, 12-Core 3.46ghz, 64gb RAM & working Thunderbolt, OS 10.13.6 and Windows 10
Macbook Pro 2011 17", 2.2ghz i7, 16gb RAM OS 10.12.6
Digi 003 Console, Focusrite Octopre and MOTU Traveler for extra analog-ADAT conversion, UAD Apollo Quad with Thunderbolt card, Apollo Twin mk11 and pci-e Octo, Adam A77X monitors.
Pro Tools 2018, Media Composer 8.9, Sibelius 8.7, Cubase Pro 10, Wavelab Pro 9.5, Logic Pro X, Mainstage 3.
Various apps, soft synths, FX plugins.
Plenty of hardware synths, rack gear, microphones etc.
And then there's the studio ;-)
Reply With Quote
  #33  
Old 03-26-2016, 09:29 AM
Fidelis Fidelis is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Sao Paulo - Brazil
Posts: 978
Default Re: Cloud Collaboration cost

Hi Tom, I just notice on the protools expert site, that cloud collaboration uses a lossless compression on the audio files (down to 3x the actual size of it). Can you give us more info on that please? What kind of codec are you using? Is it really lossless? Thanks!
__________________
http://www.ricardomosca.com

Intel Mac Pro 12 core 3.33 GHz, 20GB RAM, OSX 10.10.5, PT HDX, PT 12.8, SSL 4040G+, tons of outboard
Mac Book Pro 2.4Ghz Duo, 4GB RAM, OSX 10.10.5, PT Vanilla 12.8
Reply With Quote
  #34  
Old 03-26-2016, 01:04 PM
taylor4814 taylor4814 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Fairfax, VA
Posts: 362
Default Re: Cloud Collaboration cost

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fidelis View Post
I just notice on the protools expert site, that cloud collaboration uses a lossless compression on the

Yeah, that's noted in original Avid blog post...

Same here, extremely interested in the tech behind the collaboration platform... love to learn more

Last edited by taylor4814; 03-26-2016 at 03:34 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #35  
Old 03-27-2016, 02:27 PM
jacko's Avatar
jacko jacko is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Wroclaw / Poland
Posts: 696
Default Re: Cloud Collaboration cost

$300 a year? Thanks, I'll pass.
__________________
UAD Apollo x16,
UAD Apollo Twin Duo,
UAD Octo Thunderbolt,
Mac Mini i7 2018,
Reaper DAW,
Presonus Faderport,
Arturia Beastep for DAW control,
Former Pro Tools HD user (from V7 until V12.6).
Reply With Quote
  #36  
Old 03-27-2016, 05:41 PM
SamboBing SamboBing is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 32
Default Re: Cloud Collaboration cost

Quote:
So yes - you can 'delist' a current collaborator and then invite a new one. And or - a person can leave as a collaborator on their own.
Hi Tom,
The videos nicely show how one would take a local session and push it to the cloud, but what about the reverse? If I have a project in the cloud and want to make it a local session to make room for a new project in the cloud, how does that work? Similar to adding and removing collaborators I assume?

Thanks much. New options are looking good so far.
Reply With Quote
  #37  
Old 03-28-2016, 10:13 AM
Tom Graham's Avatar
Tom Graham Tom Graham is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Apr 1995
Location: Pasadena,CA
Posts: 412
Default Re: Cloud Collaboration cost

Quote:
Originally Posted by SamboBing View Post
Hi Tom,
The videos nicely show how one would take a local session and push it to the cloud, but what about the reverse? If I have a project in the cloud and want to make it a local session to make room for a new project in the cloud, how does that work? Similar to adding and removing collaborators I assume?

Thanks much. New options are looking good so far.
Hi,

Thanks for the props on the videos. Any project can do the reverse of what we showed - essentially doing a 'Save Session Copy In" and making new audio files to turn it into a traditional, local session. You then could delete that Project from your Project list.

Thanks,
Tom
__________________
Tom Graham
Avid Audio Marketing
Pro Audio and Mixing

tom.graham@avid.com

Check out our Pro Mixing Webinars :
http://www.avid.com/US/resources/pro-mixing-webinars

Avid Pro Mixing Blog:
http://www.avidblogs.com/promixing/
Reply With Quote
  #38  
Old 03-28-2016, 10:17 AM
Tom Graham's Avatar
Tom Graham Tom Graham is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Apr 1995
Location: Pasadena,CA
Posts: 412
Default Re: Cloud Collaboration cost

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fidelis View Post
Hi Tom, I just notice on the protools expert site, that cloud collaboration uses a lossless compression on the audio files (down to 3x the actual size of it). Can you give us more info on that please? What kind of codec are you using? Is it really lossless? Thanks!
Hi Fidelis…

We use WavPack lossless audio compression on uploaded and downloaded audio files to minimize their size and speed up transfer times. This compression can reduce files up to 70% of their original size, so you can work on a large Project that takes up only a fraction of the real space. Audio quality is bit-for-bit accurate after the transfer, so there’s no change to the sound.

Thanks,
Tom
__________________
Tom Graham
Avid Audio Marketing
Pro Audio and Mixing

tom.graham@avid.com

Check out our Pro Mixing Webinars :
http://www.avid.com/US/resources/pro-mixing-webinars

Avid Pro Mixing Blog:
http://www.avidblogs.com/promixing/
Reply With Quote
  #39  
Old 03-28-2016, 11:43 AM
Bob Olhsson's Avatar
Bob Olhsson Bob Olhsson is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Songwriter Gulch, Nashville, TN
Posts: 3,312
Default Re: Cloud Collaboration cost

I've been using wavpack to archive for over a decade and it's incredible compared to any other lossless encoding. It handles floating point files and maintains all of the metadata. The result is bit for bit identical files. Speaking of archive, that would be a wonderful new feature to add to Pro Tools!
__________________
Bob's room 615 562-4346
Georgetown Masters 615 254-3233
Interview
Artists are the gatekeepers of truth! - Paul Robeson
Reply With Quote
  #40  
Old 03-28-2016, 11:54 AM
thanos4 thanos4 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 452
Default Re: Cloud Collaboration cost

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tom Graham View Post
Hi Fidelis…

We use WavPack lossless audio compression on uploaded and downloaded audio files to minimize their size and speed up transfer times. This compression can reduce files up to 70% of their original size, so you can work on a large Project that takes up only a fraction of the real space. Audio quality is bit-for-bit accurate after the transfer, so there’s no change to the sound.

Thanks,
Tom
thought it was some Source-Elements voodoo magic under the hood...
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Avid Everywhere / PT Cloud Collaboration peter5992 General Discussion 1 03-16-2016 08:26 AM
Cloud Collaboration hacha Foro en Español 9 07-07-2015 08:53 AM
Yes to cloud collaboration! reichman Avid Cloud Collaboration 91 06-17-2015 09:07 AM
Cloud collaboration vs real collaboration midnightrambler Pro Tools 12 13 06-11-2015 01:48 PM
Cloud Collaboration Cost? SearingSounds Pro Tools 12 3 01-28-2015 08:38 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:20 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com