Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-13-2006, 12:33 AM
cheekypaul cheekypaul is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Middle England
Posts: 766
Default Make SEARCH button bigger

Hey Digi,
Wouldn't it help this forum to be more streamlined, less repeated questions?
For all the newbies out there , and seasoned users who need to check something out , the search function is an excellent way to get to all that information.
trouble is, it's such a bland link, it's easy to miss, even you're looknig for it.
how about making it prominent, like a different colour or put it in bold.

the search function is so obviously overlooked by people, it's a shame to waste it.
__________________
Mac Computers/PT12/Lots Of Lacie D2s
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-30-2006, 01:47 PM
cheekypaul cheekypaul is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Middle England
Posts: 766
Default Re: Make SEARCH button bigger

sad really, replying to my own post...
__________________
Mac Computers/PT12/Lots Of Lacie D2s
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-30-2006, 03:27 PM
Slim Shady Slim Shady is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 7,527
Default Re: Make SEARCH button bigger

Amen to that. The Search is a horribly underused feature mostly because nobody knows it's there. It would also be helpful if the search page included tips on getting successful results, i.e. using quotes or + signs.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-30-2006, 03:44 PM
tha k man tha k man is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 1,024
Default Re: Make SEARCH button bigger

Ditto.

The DUC is becoming a very difficult resource to navigate for tech support. There is a lot of very good information here - it would be very beneficial if it were easier to sift through.
It would be good if folks adhered a little more to the sections that they are posting in as well - after all, this section is supposed to be for "Troubleshooting with Pro Tools LE for Digi 002, Digi 002 Rack, Mbox 2, Mbox, Digi 001, and ToolBox/AudioMedia III systems running on Mac "

There are seperate sections for tips and techniques etc.
__________________

G5 Dual 1.8 /1.5 Gb Ram
OSX 10.4.7
PT LE 7.3 cs1
DIGI 002
Waves Ren
Sony Bundle
Soundtoys-arama
NI Komplete 3
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-30-2006, 04:24 PM
DJ Insomaniac DJ Insomaniac is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Los Angeles, CA, USA
Posts: 1,282
Default Re: Make SEARCH button bigger

Double posts don't help either. I've seen more and more of those.
__________________
Sam Ejnes
Mix Technician, Freelance Sound Editor/Re-recording Mixer
samejnes.com | IMDb | Analog Jitter

rMacBook Pro 2.2 gHz Core i7, 10.10.3
16 GB RAM
MOTU 828mkII, PT 12.1 HD
Axiom 61, 2xArtist Mix
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-30-2006, 07:38 PM
M.Brane M.Brane is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: 1hr N/W of LA LA land
Posts: 1,999
Default Re: Make SEARCH button bigger

Quote:
Amen to that. The Search is a horribly underused feature mostly because nobody knows it's there. It would also be helpful if the search page included tips on getting successful results, i.e. using quotes or + signs.
I agree, but I credit a lot of it to simple laziness as well. I see a lot posts in here about the simplest OS related issues. Stuff that's covered in the first few paragraphs of the toubleshooting section of any decent Mac OS book.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-31-2006, 12:45 AM
cheekypaul cheekypaul is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Middle England
Posts: 766
Default Re: Make SEARCH button bigger

Quote:
Double posts don't help either. I've seen more and more of those.
I do agree with you DJ Insomaniac, but solving this problem we lead to a more ordered, less cluttered and therefore better DUC (including fewer double entries.)

Thanks to everyone for the support of this.

What other changes could be made to improve the DUC, if not the more prominent "search" button?

Perhaps ignoring posts that have subjects that are well worn...
__________________
Mac Computers/PT12/Lots Of Lacie D2s
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-31-2006, 07:01 PM
M.Brane M.Brane is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: 1hr N/W of LA LA land
Posts: 1,999
Default Re: Make SEARCH button bigger

Quote:


Perhaps ignoring posts that have subjects that are well worn...
Or posting a link to the search page.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-01-2006, 03:39 AM
cheekypaul cheekypaul is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Middle England
Posts: 766
Default Re: Make SEARCH button bigger

Quote:
Quote:


Perhaps ignoring posts that have subjects that are well worn...
Or posting a link to the search page.
Yes!! Of course!!
it might just work...!
__________________
Mac Computers/PT12/Lots Of Lacie D2s
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02-01-2006, 04:56 AM
RussUK RussUK is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Northern Ireland
Posts: 3,724
Default Re: Make SEARCH button bigger

Quote:
Ditto.

The DUC is becoming a very difficult resource to navigate for tech support. There is a lot of very good information here - it would be very beneficial if it were easier to sift through.
It would be good if folks adhered a little more to the sections that they are posting in as well - after all, this section is supposed to be for "Troubleshooting with Pro Tools LE for Digi 002, Digi 002 Rack, Mbox 2, Mbox, Digi 001, and ToolBox/AudioMedia III systems running on Mac "

There are seperate sections for tips and techniques etc.
I agree totally, there are endless posts which are repeats of earlier posts. The one about MP3 bounce issues in 7.0 comes to mind as one of the recent ones. Would it be possible to have a page before you confirm to post you query that says 'Have you searched the DUC'. I know some get annoyed at the long threads but they do keep it all in one place.

K-Man is also right there seems to be a lot of posting in the wrong forum and you find PC guys posting PC queries in the Mac posts and vice versa. I know I've been as much a culprit for that as the next man, I think this is partly due to getting used to the part of the forum one tends ot use and then whenever you post you naturally drift to that section.

I'm wondering though is the software that runs the DUC built from scratch or off the shelf forum software? Because that may make it a lot harder to make changes.
__________________
I work with amazing people who do amazing things.

Founder of the Expert Sites.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How do you make the movie window bigger? Major Matt 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 09-13-2006 04:09 AM
Att. Digidesign....Make the DUC page BIGGER !!!!!! DVDave 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 09-14-2004 12:27 AM
How to make QT DV movie files bigger than 2 gig ? ArcticLodge Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 04-07-2004 04:17 PM
MAKE MY CABLE BIGGER Gaffer 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 04-10-2002 12:51 AM
..how to make the quck time window bigger?! spine 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 6 03-16-2000 09:14 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:26 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com