Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-12-2017, 01:12 AM
jacko's Avatar
jacko jacko is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Wroclaw / Poland
Posts: 644
Default I went back to Pro Tools 10 HD Accel in 2017

I mix music for a living. Mostly live genres like rock, metal, sometimes jazz, etc.

When Pro Tools 10 HD was first released I sold my Accel system and I bought HD Native. It seemed like a good idea at the time. Waves made it clear they wouldn't make AAX DSP plugins so HDX didn't seem like the way to go. It was ok most of the time. I was never too excited by the lack of offline bounce so I didn't care for Pro Tools 11. I moved to 12 because of some I/O Setup enhancements and commit feature which I used quite often for a few months.

But 5 years after ditching HD TDM platform it stroke me that my workflow didn't change much, new features didn't bring considerable improvements to my work.

In all honesty Pro Tools 7.4 has already had almost all features I needed. So I reverted back to a Mac Pro 1,1 with Magma Expansion and HD Accel PCI system. I mixed and album on it and it was fine, so I decided to install 10 HD on this rig and I have been using it already for almost 5 months, having mixed around 5 albums - 60 or 70 songs.

So here I am with Pro Tools 10 HD6 Accel with a Mac Pro 1,1 and OSX Lion.

Lower latencies, Waves TDM plugins and predictable DSP power which actually helps a lot when I use Pro Tools and some other applications at the same time, mean much more to me than the most powerful native system with 12.x software.

I've never been happier with a Pro Tools rig.
__________________
5dB Ride mixing and mastering
http://5dbride.com/
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-12-2017, 07:59 AM
Raoul23 Raoul23 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 2,917
Default Re: I went back to Pro Tools 10 HD Accel in 2017

Still on TDM to its old tech but still capable and stable


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
Raoul Crane
www.blaze-studios.co.uk

PT 10.3.10 HD Accel 6, Mac Pro 3.1 Dual Boot Lion 10.7.5 and Maverick 10.9.5 32GB Ram Magma PE6R4i Chassis
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-12-2017, 09:32 AM
Grey Grey is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 276
Default Re: I went back to Pro Tools 10 HD Accel in 2017

Building a HD rig as we speak.
2009 Mac Pro 4.1->5.1
I have HD 8 now, looking to move to 10 also.

Thanks to Barry Johns for all his help on this!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-12-2017, 12:42 PM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 15,217
Default Re: I went back to Pro Tools 10 HD Accel in 2017

I also have a couple of PT8 rigs
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-14-2017, 07:40 AM
tonwurm's Avatar
tonwurm tonwurm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: europe
Posts: 703
Default Re: I went back to Pro Tools 10 HD Accel in 2017

PT10HD accel 3 rig still in use here ... primarily for tracking / mixing, what it does very well

All midi work done in Logic X or in Digital Performer - both are superior in that compared to PT (feature set, performance)

I own PT12, but if I use it (f.e. for offline bouncing, committing etc) there are too many (well known) errors. I didn´t renew the update plan at the end of last year and now I´m very happy about my decision if I see what avid has given its users in the first 6 months of this year - a shame.
__________________
Mac Pro - PT10 HD3, PT12 HD, Logic X, DP 7, VEPro, OSX 10.9.5
MacBook Pro - Logic X, Mainstage
www.perfectzeromusic.de
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-14-2017, 11:32 PM
Barry Johns Barry Johns is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 3,567
Default Re: I went back to Pro Tools 10 HD Accel in 2017

I owned HD 11 since it came out, but only just moved away from my PTHD10/HD3 4 -6 months ago to HD Native and PTHD11. I got a great deal of Alto Music for a brand new HDN Pcie card for $599, so after selling my TDM Cards for 1k, I came out ahead on that deal.

So far, I've yet to see or experience anything that I would call an improvement. I miss having Heat though. I've yet to run into any issues with tracking and latency, but I've been doing way more mixing than tracking since I made the change. I am a mix as I go type guy, so I need "REQUIRE" the ability to track at any stage "through plugins", and so far the handful of times I've needed to add something late in the game, or do an overdub, its been fine as far as my ears can tell. Of course I have to make anything on my mix buss inactive, but that's a no biggie. I do use quite a bit of Hardware via Inserts, and haven't noticed any issues with latency/timing yet.

So, I've not experienced any benefits of HDN over TDM or feel like I'm missing anything from my TDM rig, so what is there to be learned from that?

If I was starting from scratch, I'd go TDM, no question about it. Ive lucked into some instantly cheap deals on some things, like the price I paid for the HDN card, as well has buying/building a 12 core Mac Pro for less than $800, less than 2k for a mint 24 Channel D-Command......Prior to that was a Pro Control which dictated TDM for me as it could not be used beyond HD10 as well all know.

HD Native requires a super fast computer to do any serious work even with PTHD12, which I happen to have. If I were to eventually move to PTHD 12, which is not likely, there is no freaking way I would ever want to consider using freeze or anything like that, the idea of relying that after all these years makes my hair stand on the back of my neck. If I my rig required me to do that, I'd go right back to TDM in a heartbeat.

If a person uses VI's especially heavy usage, then forget TDM, move on, its not for you due to the 32 bit RAM limitations.

I still following the prices of used TDM Cards, I follow every single sale on eBay, to this day, I guess part of me, wants to stay current so that if I want to make the move back, I am current on what it will cost.
__________________
HD Native Pcie, PTHD 11, PT12 Vanilla, Omni, Lynx Aurora 16, 192 I/O (16 in/8 out), 24 Fader D-Command, lots of preamps and compressors.

MacPro 5.1 (12) Core (2009 MacPro 8 Core Upgraded to a 12 Core MacPro), 56 Gig Ram, SSD System & 3 - 2TB Drives, OSX 10.9.5, Windows 10 Via Bootcamp
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-15-2017, 01:16 PM
Sugarnutz Sugarnutz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Great State of Mississippi
Posts: 641
Default Re: I went back to Pro Tools 10 HD Accel in 2017

PT 8.1.1 here on a HD4 Win 7 system. No VIs, just multiple other PCs with RME 9652 cards in them. Now I need a couple more 192 Digital interfaces.
__________________
HD4 Accel
PT HD 8.1.1 on Ivy Bridge i5 - Win 7 Pro 64 bit
HD Omni
192 Analog I/O w/additional analog input card
192 Digital I/O
PT 12.7.1 & 10.3.10 Vanilla Machine
Antelope Zen Studio+
Mid-2015 MBP
iPad Pro
GIGABYTE GA-Z97X-UD7 TH Motherboard
Intel Core i7-4790K Haswell Quad-Core 4.0GHz CPU
32 GB of DDR3 1600
EVGA SuperClocked GeForce GTX 760 Video Card
Cooler Master HAF XB EVO Case
Crucial SSDs various 7200 RPM Drives
Windows 10 Pro/Sierra
Dynaudio BM5 Mk III
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-18-2017, 06:40 PM
js_nyc js_nyc is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 105
Default Re: I went back to Pro Tools 10 HD Accel in 2017

I have a client who has the exact system you mentioned (HD Accel/PT 10x/192 16 Analog Input). He has been experiencing a static/crackling on the inputs 1-8 and 9-16. No issues with the output signal. I did troubleshooting visits, eliminating all of the cabling/outboard variables, zeroing in on the Accel card and the 192. Proceeding further, I have taken the cards out of the computer, cleaned (with Cranolin), and re-seated them. Also, opened up the 192 and after inspecting the cards for any visible apparent burn out failures, cleaned and re-seated the ribbon cables to all input and output cards Checked the physical connector cables, etc. The problem still persists. (did not go into the power supply area of the unit)

Since this "legacy" thread exists, I am reaching out to find solutions to this problem from people who still own and use this equipment.

A: Do you know of a trustworthy, inexpensive repair person that I could suggest? I found Mitch Berger in CA, but he is on the East Coast (additional shipping costs).

B: Should he be shopping around for another 192 0n Ebay at this point? Very unpredictable in my opinion, but please let me know your thoughts.

C: Could it still be the Accel PCIe card? I would think the inputs and outputs would be equally compromised if it was the card, but please let me know if this thinking is wrong.

So please let me know your expert thoughts on this dilemma.

Thanks
__________________
js_nyc
15" Macbook Pro (Mid 2012) 2.3 GHz Intel Core i7
16G Memory
PT 10.3.11/ 12.5.2
003 Rack
OSX 10.8.5
ProToolsConsultant.com
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07-04-2017, 12:27 PM
WernerF WernerF is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: New York City
Posts: 3,040
Default Re: I went back to Pro Tools 10 HD Accel in 2017

Still using P Tools HD 10 with 6 cards in a Magma chassis. Working on tons of records and it works just fine. I have an HDX system as well but it never gets any use as the plugin situation is still pretty dismal. As far as working on music goes, at least for me, TDM is still the way to go. I'm just not interested in jumping through any hoops to be able to use the workflow that I have always used. My two cents.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 07-05-2017, 01:07 PM
tonwurm's Avatar
tonwurm tonwurm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: europe
Posts: 703
Default Re: I went back to Pro Tools 10 HD Accel in 2017

Quote:
Originally Posted by WernerF View Post
Still using P Tools HD 10 with 6 cards in a Magma chassis. Working on tons of records and it works just fine. I have an HDX system as well but it never gets any use as the plugin situation is still pretty dismal. As far as working on music goes, at least for me, TDM is still the way to go. I'm just not interested in jumping through any hoops to be able to use the workflow that I have always used. My two cents.
yes !
__________________
Mac Pro - PT10 HD3, PT12 HD, Logic X, DP 7, VEPro, OSX 10.9.5
MacBook Pro - Logic X, Mainstage
www.perfectzeromusic.de
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Namm 2017 New pro Tools Hard & Soft ? Say Your About... zavid General Discussion 4 11-08-2016 07:50 AM
Accel PCI to PCI-e exchange is back fasttraxx Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 28 06-26-2011 03:56 PM
Back to LE from an HD 3 Accel EvilElfBoy 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 01-10-2010 11:38 PM
About "back order" PTHD Accel & Massive Pack3 Magno Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 09-11-2004 11:48 AM
HD Process to Accel exchange is back Vaphoron Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 31 05-05-2004 10:24 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:11 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com