Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools | First Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-24-2020, 05:26 PM
mdcolby mdcolby is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2020
Location: Sacramento
Posts: 5
Default Installation failure, Program starts, then shuts down

I can't get a successful installation of Pro Tools First. First I activate the license in ILok, then I get the program running. Pro Tools First logs me into my Avid account, scans and loads plug-ins, and starts to initialize the playback engine. When I press ok, I get this message:

Before you get started, you will be directed to the Playback Engine. Please make sure that the proper audio playback device is selected.

The program runs at bit more at this point. Then shuts down.

I've tried rebooting, uninstalling, reinstalling, but the same thing keeps happening.


Needless to say, it's frustrating. Thanks for any suggestions.
__________________
Michael Colby
mdcolby57@hotmail.com
Pro Tools First

Computer
Model : Dell Inspiron 5567
Serial Number : 5YH****
Chassis : Dell Notebook
Mainboard : Dell 04M49V
Serial Number : /5YHSVF2/CN1************
BIOS : Dell 1.2.8 05/22/2019
TPM - Trusted Platform Module : INTC Intel 2.0 (PCR 24)
Intel vPro : 11.8.65.3590
Total Memory : 12GB SO-DIMM DDR4
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-24-2020, 11:16 PM
PatJo PatJo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: Ireland
Posts: 78
Default Re: Installation failure, Program starts, then shuts down

Hold the button N on your keyboard while launching pro tools. This will allow you to select the playback engine.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-24-2020, 11:21 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 13,924
Default Re: Installation failure, Program starts, then shuts down

And what audio interface do you have in that computer that you want to use with Pro Tools?

Pro Tools (including First) will always work better if you have a audio interface dedicated to Pro Tools that supports ASIO (i.e. comes with it's own ASIO driver supplied with the interface). That means additional hardware, separate from what Windows sound is using.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-25-2020, 12:27 PM
mdcolby mdcolby is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2020
Location: Sacramento
Posts: 5
Default Re: Installation failure, Program starts, then shuts down

I'm trying to use a Focusrite Scarlett Solo USB interface. Thanks.
__________________
Michael Colby
mdcolby57@hotmail.com
Pro Tools First

Computer
Model : Dell Inspiron 5567
Serial Number : 5YH****
Chassis : Dell Notebook
Mainboard : Dell 04M49V
Serial Number : /5YHSVF2/CN1************
BIOS : Dell 1.2.8 05/22/2019
TPM - Trusted Platform Module : INTC Intel 2.0 (PCR 24)
Intel vPro : 11.8.65.3590
Total Memory : 12GB SO-DIMM DDR4
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-25-2020, 03:21 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 35,509
Default Re: Installation failure, Program starts, then shuts down

It may be Windows trying to use the Focusrite as its "default playback device". Settings>Sound and set Windows to use the on-board sound card, which leaves the Focusrite to be controlled by Pro Tools(commonly called a "hardware conflict"). Mac users seem to not need to worry about this, but many(most) Windows user will need to address it
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-25-2020, 04:30 PM
junkgear's Avatar
junkgear junkgear is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 1,289
Default Re: Installation failure, Program starts, then shuts down

Quote:
Originally Posted by mdcolby View Post
I'm trying to use a Focusrite Scarlett Solo USB interface. Thanks.
Have you installed the latest version of PTF from your Avid account?
Also have you installed the latest version of Focusrite Control?

Take a look through the Scarlett Solo manual for instructions on the best way to set up your interface on Windows.
__________________
Will K

System Details
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-26-2020, 01:06 PM
mdcolby mdcolby is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2020
Location: Sacramento
Posts: 5
Default Re: Installation failure, Program starts, then shuts down

Thanks for the suggestions. The Focusrite installation directions actually say to change the Windows sound output to the Focusrite.

I'm running Pro Tools First 2019.6.
__________________
Michael Colby
mdcolby57@hotmail.com
Pro Tools First

Computer
Model : Dell Inspiron 5567
Serial Number : 5YH****
Chassis : Dell Notebook
Mainboard : Dell 04M49V
Serial Number : /5YHSVF2/CN1************
BIOS : Dell 1.2.8 05/22/2019
TPM - Trusted Platform Module : INTC Intel 2.0 (PCR 24)
Intel vPro : 11.8.65.3590
Total Memory : 12GB SO-DIMM DDR4
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-27-2020, 12:56 AM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 13,924
Default Re: Installation failure, Program starts, then shuts down

Quote:
Originally Posted by mdcolby View Post
Thanks for the suggestions. The Focusrite installation directions actually say to change the Windows sound output to the Focusrite.

I'm running Pro Tools First 2019.6.
... and everybody here is telling you not to select that interface as the windows sound device. So what exactly have you done?

What version of the Focusrite Drivers have you got installed? And what *exact* options show up for the playback engine dialog panel when you hold down the ‘N’ key and start Pro Tools?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-27-2020, 08:08 PM
mdcolby mdcolby is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2020
Location: Sacramento
Posts: 5
Default Re: Installation failure, Program starts, then shuts down

I've tried both: having setting Focusrite as the sound interface in Windows or setting the Windows sound interface, both with the same result: Pro Tools crashes (or more accurately, fails to start).

I only saw one option for Focusrite drivers at their website, so I can't say what version that might be. :-(
Holding down the 'N' key doesn't do much. If I hold it down before starting Pro Tools, Notepad starts instead of Pro Tools. If I hold down after starting Pro Tools, it makes no difference: the same routine happens. I get the message about the Playback Engine, but the program shuts down before I get a dialog box, or anything else happens.
Something new happened today, out of the blue! An "Avid Link" box showed up on my desktop. There's a way to start Pro Tools from within it, but the same thing happens.
__________________
Michael Colby
mdcolby57@hotmail.com
Pro Tools First

Computer
Model : Dell Inspiron 5567
Serial Number : 5YH****
Chassis : Dell Notebook
Mainboard : Dell 04M49V
Serial Number : /5YHSVF2/CN1************
BIOS : Dell 1.2.8 05/22/2019
TPM - Trusted Platform Module : INTC Intel 2.0 (PCR 24)
Intel vPro : 11.8.65.3590
Total Memory : 12GB SO-DIMM DDR4
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 06-01-2020, 10:55 AM
mdcolby mdcolby is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2020
Location: Sacramento
Posts: 5
Default Re: Installation failure, Program starts, then shuts down

Okay, this seems to have reached a dead end. I'm considering a re-installation. I'm wondering if there is anything to be concerned about. The installation also installed iLok License Manager and Avid Link. Will a re-installation possibly mess that up, or is the installation program "smart" enough to work around those already being installed? I'm a bit leery at this point, you see.
__________________
Michael Colby
mdcolby57@hotmail.com
Pro Tools First

Computer
Model : Dell Inspiron 5567
Serial Number : 5YH****
Chassis : Dell Notebook
Mainboard : Dell 04M49V
Serial Number : /5YHSVF2/CN1************
BIOS : Dell 1.2.8 05/22/2019
TPM - Trusted Platform Module : INTC Intel 2.0 (PCR 24)
Intel vPro : 11.8.65.3590
Total Memory : 12GB SO-DIMM DDR4
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PT LE 8.0.3 installation failure, 002 Rack AncientMariner927 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 11-21-2011 11:58 AM
LE 8.0.3 installation failure diggs1000 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 10-03-2010 05:25 PM
ProTools LE 7.3 installation failure EspenKnutsen 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 10-09-2009 01:11 PM
Program shuts down Jesper G 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 09-04-2006 07:02 AM
PTFree installation failure! tgorle Digidesign Hardware & Software 4 11-12-2000 02:28 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:04 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com