Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Windows

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-19-2018, 03:02 AM
pSeudoCyst pSeudoCyst is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 10
Default Trying to work out if this delay is normal...

Hi all.

I'm recording the output of an instrument track (midi drums) as a live performance and when I review the take I've just recorded, I'm finding there's a considerable delay between what I monitored during the take and what's printed in the session.

The midi from my v-drums is feeding into an instrument track with Addictive drums as the instrument plugin. The inst track output is bused into an audio track where it's recorded. I'm monitoring the audio track output.

Ive attached a screenshot to represent the delay - the difference between midi note and audio transient is about 2000 samples.

I'm on a high spec machine, h/w buffer is set low, and as I said, monitoring live is absolutely fine so I'm unsure why the printed audio is so far behind.

Any idea if this normal PT behavior? Or what I can do to compensate for this?

Thanks!
Attached Images
File Type: jpg delay.jpg (50.4 KB, 0 views)
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-19-2018, 06:11 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 35,534
Default Re: Trying to work out if this delay is normal...

So, you're recording midi AND audio in the same pass? If so, try just recording the midi(on the Instrument track). Then use Track Commit on the Instrument track and see if that is also offset. Just wondering if its the routing/recording(which has been known to be an issue on many systems).

FWIW, I used to do a lot of Virtual drums on a TD-10 Roland kit with Addictive Drums, SD2 and EZdrummer, and all 3 worked quite well. I would track the midi only(on a stereo Instrument track). Then go thru the piano roll and make any edits or quantize changes. Once that was done, I would split the kit pieces out to a batch of individual audio tracks and print them. I never noticed the offset you are seeing, but in all honesty, it might have been happening, but might also be small enough to go unnoticed

I would also measure the offset so you can know the exact amount to nudge the audio(I know that's a workaround for something that should not happen, but.....)
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-20-2018, 04:32 AM
pSeudoCyst pSeudoCyst is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 10
Default Re: Trying to work out if this delay is normal...

Cheers for the advice!

There's no delay at all when committing the track from a pre-recorded midi clip, so the original issue is indeed down to recording midi and audio simultaneously.

Specifically, I've found the delay is added in the busing of the instrument track output to the audio track input.

I found a fix - AD has it's own busing built inside the plugin, which you can route to the input of the audio track, and the delay is significantly less - from 2000 samples down to 200, which is just about a manageable latency.

What's interesting, is by just having the original (external) bus open, even if not in use, adds that 2000 sample delay to the printed audio... I've had to take the bus out of the channel strip completely to make the fix work.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-20-2018, 04:37 AM
its2loud its2loud is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Los Angles
Posts: 444
Default Re: Trying to work out if this delay is normal...

Is your delay compensation turned on?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-20-2018, 01:17 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 35,534
Default Re: Trying to work out if this delay is normal...

Interesting... Back to the open bus for a moment, a send on a track that has no destination will cause almost 2000 samples of erroneous compensation(say you put a send on a vocal, feeding an AUX track with a delay plugin. Then changed your mind and deleted the AUX track but left the send. That would mess ADC up
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Automation Delay - Normal? Kenny Gioia Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 5 10-13-2015 09:40 AM
PT11HD Recording Delay-What's Normal? seanmccoy Pro Tools 11 3 04-11-2015 09:25 AM
Delay while tracking with plugins. Not HD. Normal? wreckthisplace macOS 7 09-23-2011 05:50 PM
Why does delay compensation not always work? myeviltwin Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 4 11-24-2008 01:43 AM
is it normal for a 4-6 second delay for playback to start? Martin Chappell 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 04-04-2003 05:05 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:50 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com