Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Windows

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-25-2018, 06:58 PM
jeremyseanbell jeremyseanbell is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: san francisco
Posts: 53
Default Any way to run PT11 on Windows 7?

The company I work for asked me to check our plug-ins in ProTools 11 on windows 7. Unfortunately I'm not even able to run ProTools in this setup because every time I launch PT, it says "Impossible to record audio because the Audio Input is not active. Open the ASIO DirectX Full Duplex Setup dialog... etc." Then when I get into a session and try to start playback, it just shows "Pause" and the play button flashes and it won't play.

The computer is a Dell Precision, 8 gigs, a few years old... PT runs fine on the Win8 and Win10 partitions, so I don't think the hardware specs are the issue anyway. It's just Win7 that's the problem. I know Win7 isn't exactly the best OS for running DAWs, but there's gotta be a way to make this work, right?

I don't think that weird "Full duplex" message is appropriate to my setup, but I did manage to find that app, which is apparently a Steinberg thing, and I tried every possible setting with no luck. I've also gone through every playback engine listed in the Playback Engine dropdown, I've uninstalled ASIO, I've tried several different audio interfaces including the built in headphone jack, and I've reinstalled the drivers for the audio interfaces. It still won't play when I press Play.

On my last couple dozen attempts, it's given me this error message: "Your audio device is configured with an unsupported audio buffer size. Please select... etc etc." This is also not an appropriate warning, as my buffer is set to 1024. It usually crashes or hardlocks after giving this prompt, but when I do manage to get to the Playback Engine, there is no dropdown list where the H/W buffer list should be.

This has been such an ordeal, even by Windows standards
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-25-2018, 07:08 PM
amagras amagras is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 3,397
Default Re: Any way to run PT11 on Windows 7?

What audio interface are you using? The onboard? Install Asio4all and select that in Setup/Playback Engine
__________________
Dell XPS 8700. Intel Core i7-4770 CPU @ 3.40GHz. RAM: 16GB. Windows 10 Home x64. NVIDIA GeForce GTX 645. NI Komplete Audio 6. Pro Tools Software 2019
amagrasmusic.com
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-25-2018, 09:52 PM
YYR123's Avatar
YYR123 YYR123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 13,737
Default Any way to run PT11 on Windows 7?

Quote:
Originally Posted by jeremyseanbell View Post
It's just Win7 that's the problem. I know Win7 isn't exactly the best OS for running DAWs, but there's gotta be a way to make this work, right?

Nothing wrong with Win7 for daws.

Compatibility charts shows it’s cool
http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/e...tibility-Chart


Have you done these?
https://www.sweetwater.com/sweetcare...-optimization/


How about this?
https://www.sweetwater.com/sweetcare...s-preferences/


As andrei said you have to install the driver for your interface and if your not using an interface then it’s ASIO or nothing


Set windows sounds in the control panel to use your computers speakers and not the interface (if your using one)
__________________
Daniel
HDX - PT12.5.1 - HD I/O 16x8x8
Win10-Pro (v1709)- 6 Core i7-6850k - ASUS X99 Deluxe ii
D-Command Main Unit - 'Ole Blue


http://www.sknoteaudio.com/ plugins rock and are affordable.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-26-2018, 01:51 AM
Wizzoboy's Avatar
Wizzoboy Wizzoboy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 620
Default Re: Any way to run PT11 on Windows 7?

As YYR123 says, nothing wrong with Win7. I too have a Dell Precision workstation and have run all PT versions from 11 up to 2018.4 under Win7. So I would also suspect your interface setup.
As to the play button flashing without playback, is PT set to wait for a midi note, or is the Online button in the transport bar set to on, so it is waiting for incoming timecode?
__________________
Dell Precision 490 Workstation, dual 4 core 5355 Xeon, 16gb Samsung DDR2 ECC Ram - Windows 7 Ultimate - Nvidia GTX 650 - 3 x Internal WD Blacks - PT 2018.3 - Digi 002R - Original Mackie HUI - JBL Monitoring.
Dell XPS 8700 i7-4790 - 24gb RAM - Windows 10 - Nvidia GTX 1060 6GB with Studio driver 451.48- Internal WD Black, Samsung 860, and MSATA card - Davinci Resolve 16.2.3.015 - Canon HF G40
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-26-2018, 01:41 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Norwich, CT
Posts: 35,534
Default Re: Any way to run PT11 on Windows 7?

If Windows is trying to use the same IO as Pro Tools, that can be an issue. Set Windows to not use anything as its "Default Playback Device" and see if that helps Pro Tools to work. While its SUPPOSED to fine to run PT without a separate interface, the reality is, your life will be much easier if you do run a dedicated interface for Pro Tools(and leave the on-board sound card to be the "Default Playback Device" for Windows audio

And yes, Windows 7 is fine with PT11
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-26-2018, 04:55 PM
Southsidemusic's Avatar
Southsidemusic Southsidemusic is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stockholm - Sweden
Posts: 12,838
Default Re: Any way to run PT11 on Windows 7?

When you say you installed "ASIO" do you mean www.asio4all.com or something else? You need the asio4all free driver if you aren't using a dedicated interface.
__________________
Best Regards
Christopher

—————————————
South Side Music Group
WEBHOME
—————————————
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PT11 HD on windows 7: ASIO application4 Pro Tools 11 3 01-19-2014 11:47 PM
PT11 Windows Saving Bug scoobyabbott Pro Tools 11 1 08-05-2013 11:46 AM
Did Avid "Fix" the Floating windows problem in PT11 under Windows? M-ManLA Pro Tools 11 10 07-08-2013 03:07 PM
PT11 is shutting down my Windows PC justus1900 Pro Tools 11 4 07-03-2013 04:25 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:15 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com