Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-14-2006, 04:40 AM
HotRats_Reloded HotRats_Reloded is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Italy
Posts: 86
Default [002R] Hardware Inserts Latency: how much is it?

I've made a simple test with my 002R, PT LE 7.0 in a PC

trkA:1 audio track with a 4 bars region of recored click with hardware insert (in/out #5)
trkB:1 audio track with a 4 bars region of recored click without inserts.
trkC:1 audio track recording the TrkA output.

(the hardware connected to my insert was a joemeek VC1Qcs)

I've repeted the test with all the H/w buffer settings: 64, 128, 256, 512, 1024.

After the reconrding I've measured the delay between TrkB and TrkC due to the harware insert
and here are the results:

buffer size: 64 -> delay: 334
buffer size: 128 -> delay: 462
buffer size: 256 -> delay: 718
buffer size: 512 -> delay: 1230
buffer size: 1024 -> delay: 2254

the delay is alwayes 2 x buffer size + 206.


Is it right?

three questions:
1. why the delay indicator in on my TraA says always 6 samples?
2. is the latency of harware inserts a constant + 2 times the h/w buffer size?
3. do you kwon the value of this constant? (is it really 206?)
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-14-2006, 05:08 AM
MikeTrahearn MikeTrahearn is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Warwickshire, UK
Posts: 253
Default Re: [002R] Hardware Inserts Latency: how much is it?

Hi - I wonder if you could do the test but with the hardware insert looped back and bypassed, this would test if there is any latency in your outboard?
I bet the constant changes from 206 to some other value because it may be you outboard giving you the constant? Just a thought.

Mike
__________________
Qualified Pro Tools HD7 Operator
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-14-2006, 05:50 AM
HotRats_Reloded HotRats_Reloded is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Italy
Posts: 86
Default Re: [002R] Hardware Inserts Latency: how much is it?

Yes, I know that outboard may add some latency and that the amount depends form the gear you're using.

In my test I was not testing latecy itself but the VC1Qcs as "effect" for "reamping" some previously recorded guitar and bass tracks.

What I need to know is if the 002R delay is really a constant + 2 x (h/w buffer size),
the value of this constant and why the delay indicator says 6 samples instead of something like
460 (with a 128 sampels buffer).
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-14-2006, 08:16 AM
daeron80 daeron80 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Orlando, Florida, USA
Posts: 3,560
Default Re: [002R] Hardware Inserts Latency: how much is i

The 002 latency is constant for a given sample rate and hardware buffer setting. I think it might be different for digital I/O than for analog, but I haven't been able to test that yet.

If you're connected by analog I/O (you said #5, so you must be), then I don't know how you were able to get the higher buffer settings to have such low latency. At 1024, for example, a simple loopback yields 2561 and 2586 @ 44.1 and 48 KHz, respectively. Did you use the null test method?

Please see my web page about 002 mix latencies. Full details for analog connections.
__________________
David J. Finnamore

Nyquist was right.

PT 2018.x HD | Omni | macOS Sierra
PT 2018.x | Saffire Pro 40 | Win10
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-14-2006, 08:35 AM
HotRats_Reloded HotRats_Reloded is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Italy
Posts: 86
Default Re: [002R] Hardware Inserts Latency: how much is i

double post, sorry.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-14-2006, 08:36 AM
HotRats_Reloded HotRats_Reloded is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Italy
Posts: 86
Default Re: [002R] Hardware Inserts Latency: how much is i

Thanx a lot, DAvid!

may be in may test I made some mistake beacuse my latency table is different form yours
except for the 44.1, 128 buffer. I've mesured 462 samples instead of 462.

where have you found the 2.34375*b + 161 forumla? that's what I was looking for.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-14-2006, 08:56 AM
daeron80 daeron80 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Orlando, Florida, USA
Posts: 3,560
Default Re: [002R] Hardware Inserts Latency: how much is i

Quote:
why the delay indicator in on my TraA says always 6 samples?
I've always wondered that myself. Most peculiar.

BTW, the formula for latency is different depending on sample rate, but it's not quite as simple as 2*buffer+x. At 44.1 KHz, it's 2.34375*b+161. At 48 KHz, it's 2.375*b+154. At the double rates, the multiplier is the same, but the number added is a bit larger. I'd love to know why.

I'm not familiar with the Meek piece you're using, but if it's an all analog path, it shouldn't add any measurable latency. If it uses any digital processing, it will.

There's a simpler and more certain way to measure latency than the one you described. This is known as the null test.
1. Duplicate a track that has no plug-ins on it (it can be a musical track instead of click, if you want)
2. Put an analog I/O insert on one track, and a "TimeAdjuster long" plug-in on the other.
3. Engage the invert ("phase") switch on the TimeAdjuster.
4. Connect the appropriate analog in and out with a short, good quality patch cable. If you're wanting to measure latency with a piece of gear inserted, make sure the gear is set so as to change the sound as little as possible, both level and timbre.
5. While playing back, change the TimeAdjuster Delay parameter until the two tracks cancel each other out as much as possible. They won't quite completely cancel because the converters and I/O line amps will color and distort the sound, and change its level slightly, as will any gear in the path.
__________________
David J. Finnamore

Nyquist was right.

PT 2018.x HD | Omni | macOS Sierra
PT 2018.x | Saffire Pro 40 | Win10
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-14-2006, 09:02 AM
daeron80 daeron80 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Orlando, Florida, USA
Posts: 3,560
Default Re: [002R] Hardware Inserts Latency: how much is i

Quote:
where have you found the 2.34375*b + 161 forumla? that's what I was looking for.
I found it by trial and error using an Excel spreadsheet. I think I want to know why it works that way. On the other hand, if I knew, it might scare me.
__________________
David J. Finnamore

Nyquist was right.

PT 2018.x HD | Omni | macOS Sierra
PT 2018.x | Saffire Pro 40 | Win10
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-14-2006, 01:03 PM
HotRats_Reloded HotRats_Reloded is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Italy
Posts: 86
Default Re: [002R] Hardware Inserts Latency: how much is i

Great work man. I'm a statistian so I do appriciate your trial&error approach!
The null test with time adjuster is a preatty good idea.

see ya.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Low Latency Monitoring and Hardware Inserts BobbyDazzler Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 11 06-21-2012 05:34 PM
Latency Compensation on Hardware Inserts BJosephs Pro Tools Software (Mac) 6 07-11-2011 06:45 AM
latency when using hardware inserts (oo3) earmeter 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 9 07-14-2008 06:38 PM
inserts on 002r? trying to decide on hardware drjenk 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 7 01-03-2005 12:21 AM
latency on hardware inserts vtone Tips & Tricks 4 10-22-2000 05:37 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:51 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com