Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Live Sound > VENUE Live Sound Systems
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 10-30-2016, 07:41 PM

Default S3Lx USB record level meter question

Does anyone know what meter setting I need to hit on the USB Media record output to get close to digital zero, as in close to a CD Master level output?

I did a Master LR recording to the USB drive so my LX Op could program the show, and set the level to just over ZERO, assuming that since I typically run my Master Mix well below this I would be approaching CD Master levels, but nope, not even close.

If the Zero level is not digital zero, what is it? Is there any intel out there what this meter level is actually referencing? Any insight how to find that sweet spot so my mixes get closer to Master levels would be very helpful.

thx
Old 10-31-2016, 01:37 AM

Default Re: S3Lx USB record level meter question

not sure on S3L, but on venue systems the metering is analog scale
Old 10-31-2016, 03:30 AM
Avid

So the idea is that if you have a signal at X dB and:
1. You route it without level changes (if Direct, use 0 Direct out gain)
2. You record it with 0 record gain (set on the Record page).
3. You play it back with 0 playback gain (set on Playback page)
4. Channels you routed playback to are also having 0 channel gain.

Then you'll get the same level X on playback channels as you recorded.

At the same time, X = +20dB (VENUE's max) should give you a full digital scale in a .wav file.

That's what I remember about USB record/playback.
Old 10-31-2016, 05:10 AM