Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Old 04-26-2006, 12:20 PM

Default Best Drum Sequencing Program for PT?

I hate programming drums ( I am a songwriter not a programmer.)
I do use drum loops sometimes, but they don't always fit what I am working on.

I know this is subjective, but I am open to suggestions on drum sequencing programs, preferably RTAS.
I have Reason, which has Re-Drum, which I hate. I was thinking of trying FXpansion's DR-008.
Has anyone used both?

thanks for any suggestions.

van

"All the truth in the world adds up to one big lie" :: Bob Dylan
¯
Old 04-26-2006, 12:35 PM

Default Re: Best Drum Sequencing Program for PT?

BFD!!!

I'll soon have the money for it, this far I've only tried it for a few times on my friends' LE-rig.

Hands down, it is amazing.
MBox,PTLE7, REAPER, FW1814
Old 04-26-2006, 01:14 PM

Acoustica's Mixcraft is an interesting drum machine piece of software...Personally, I love Reason's ReDrum and use it for all my beats (minus one old song when testing Mixcraft). There's other drum programs if you google drum loop software or something.
In my opinion, "programming" drums is the easiest thing to do! You have a beat in your head, you make it with a few clicks, then choose what sounds fit the best. To call it programming is giving it way too much credit. I just finished my first year in college for computer programming, and let me say, THAT'S difficult programming. Creating a drum loop is almost as fun as playing guitar or whatever.
But that's just a matter of preference and opinion. Good luck!
Old 04-28-2006, 02:54 PM

Quote: