Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Getting Started

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-10-2016, 05:22 PM
810 810 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Krakow Poland
Posts: 47
Default What to install of these different softwares 10 11 and 12

Any advice about this? I've downloaded a lot of software tonight, and not sure what to do with it all. I have 10 11 and 12 instalers, 10 11 and 12 instruments. There is a DX Driver 5.9 too.

Any advice? I have 11 installers, I have 10 installers...available, 10.3.10 and 11.3.2?

Also there is a 12.5.0 as well as the 12.5.2 installer. What to do? What to do?

Of course I have a lot of effects and instruments.

Should I bring anything forward from earlier version of ProTools?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-10-2016, 08:23 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 34,805
Default Re: What to install of these different softwares 10 11 and 12

Not really enough info to advise. If you are new to Pro Tools, there is no reason to install anything old, so go with 12.5.
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-10-2016, 09:34 PM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 16,824
Default Re: What to install of these different softwares 10 11 and 12

Welcome to the community.

Please take a look at compatibility chart and pick the latest one that is supported on the operating system of your choice.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-11-2016, 01:58 AM
810 810 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Krakow Poland
Posts: 47
Default Re: What to install of these different softwares 10 11 and 12

Ok, that's ok advice, as I'm familiar with the install.

Only thing is I install 12.5.2 and then all of the instruments/bundles/effects/plug ins....
still there is no MIDI.

So I figured Uninstall and try an early version.

Anyone experienced this? Do I have to do something special to get my MIDI window to work? I always had MIDI, had Pro Tools M Powered... Do I still have MIDI or what?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-11-2016, 04:33 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 16,525
Default Re: What to install of these different softwares 10 11 and 12

Quote:
Originally Posted by 810 View Post
Ok, that's ok advice, as I'm familiar with the install.

Only thing is I install 12.5.2 and then all of the instruments/bundles/effects/plug ins....
still there is no MIDI.

So I figured Uninstall and try an early version.

Anyone experienced this? Do I have to do something special to get my MIDI window to work? I always had MIDI, had Pro Tools M Powered... Do I still have MIDI or what?
What do you mean you don't have MIDI? Do you mean PT isn't receiving MIDI from a controller keyboard? Or something else?
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-11-2016, 06:32 AM
810 810 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Krakow Poland
Posts: 47
Default Re: What to install of these different softwares 10 11 and 12

My bad it has midi. I'm used to a midi window that opens before there is a MIDI track started. Or I think I am used to that.
I had to just get a track started, and then it let me open a midi window.
I could swear that I never had to have a track open to see the window. But I can't remember the last time I had neither an instrument nor a MIDI track started, so maybe I can't say that.

Anyways, playing catchup with my own stupidity today :P. .
I did discover from some quick scanning through Pro Tools installation guide pdf (Pro_Tools_12_0_Installation_84508.pdf, page 3: Removing Previous Versions of Pro Tools | Software) that a computer can have a version of 10.3.6 or higher installed simultaneously to version 12. Though the 12's will over write the 11's.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-11-2016, 10:07 AM
Southsidemusic's Avatar
Southsidemusic Southsidemusic is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stockholm - Sweden
Posts: 11,830
Default Re: What to install of these different softwares 10 11 and 12

In order to have PT10 and PT11 or PT 10 and PT12 on the same drive you need to be on OSX 10.8.5 and nothing above that for co-installation.
__________________
Best Regards
Christopher

—————————————
South Side Music Group
WEBHOME
—————————————
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-11-2016, 12:49 PM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 16,824
Default Re: What to install of these different softwares 10 11 and 12

PT11/12 are kind of same thing, because both of them are 64bit

What this co-exist thing means is you an install a 32-bit and a 64-bit PT to the same operating system. As long as you're using Mountain Lion
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-11-2016, 12:59 PM
810 810 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Krakow Poland
Posts: 47
Default Re: What to install of these different softwares 10 11 and 12

I got both of them here in windows 10 but when I accidentally clicked the 10 icon instead of the 12 I got a lot of permission errors for the plugins drivers. So I shut it off fast. Swhat I get for putting both icons next to each other there.
...actually that was the 2nd time I started it on 10 here. The first time it went in 10 no problem. I don't remember that may have been before I reinstalled 12. They are both here, they are significantly different. 12 is better...now if I could just get the WASAPI to work. Alas no go there. Any driver tips for WASAPI? It has no problem playing through the Microsoft MIDI mapper, but all that gives is midi notes to piano. So what gives with this WASAPI? Bout to try again on a 44100 session or maybe a 48. I had been running it in a very high frequency session.
sorta getting off the main reason for this thread, but you know...first day having it up and all..
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-13-2016, 04:17 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 16,525
Default Re: What to install of these different softwares 10 11 and 12

Quote:
Originally Posted by 810 View Post
I got both of them here in windows 10 but when I accidentally clicked the 10 icon instead of the 12 I got a lot of permission errors for the plugins drivers. So I shut it off fast. Swhat I get for putting both icons next to each other there.
...actually that was the 2nd time I started it on 10 here. The first time it went in 10 no problem. I don't remember that may have been before I reinstalled 12. They are both here, they are significantly different. 12 is better...now if I could just get the WASAPI to work. Alas no go there. Any driver tips for WASAPI? It has no problem playing through the Microsoft MIDI mapper, but all that gives is midi notes to piano. So what gives with this WASAPI? Bout to try again on a 44100 session or maybe a 48. I had been running it in a very high frequency session.
sorta getting off the main reason for this thread, but you know...first day having it up and all..
First time users often have multiple questions so don't feel bad about asking. Are you trying to use the internal sound device of your computer? Do you have a separate audio interface? If the latter install the drivers for that.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
best naming softwares feltonisounds General Discussion 1 06-07-2012 02:21 PM
use 002 softwares on MBox? yo man 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 04-05-2003 10:27 AM
Besides PT Le and Logic, what softwares can I use with 001 ?????? lukemaniak 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 5 04-05-2001 02:40 PM
Compatibility between PTF and others PT softwares alemorais Digidesign Hardware & Software 1 03-24-2001 09:49 AM
DIGI 001 and other softwares dbl 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 01-08-2001 01:56 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:20 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com