Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Getting Started

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-30-2014, 01:57 AM
11rpro 11rpro is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Australia
Posts: 7
Default PT 8 - "Setup.exe not a valid win32 application"

Hey guys,

I purchase a Eleven Rack bundled with PT8 LE. I initially ran PT8 with my 11R on Windows XP on my pc. However with XP support ending last month did a fresh re-install of reformat on my pc and now run Vista. However....

When I try and run my PT8LE installation disc it seem to autorun with no problems although I keep getting this error "Setup.exe not a valid win32 application" when I try to re-install the software.

- I did a disk clean up to make sure. Ran Ccleaner just to clean up and junk files if any.

- I also wiped the DVD just to make sure there was no dirt/scratches etc...

But still no luck

Does anyone know what I can do from here?

Thanks
Jake
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-30-2014, 03:36 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 16,515
Default Re: PT 8 - "Setup.exe not a valid win32 application"

Quote:
Originally Posted by 11rpro View Post
Hey guys,

I purchase a Eleven Rack bundled with PT8 LE. I initially ran PT8 with my 11R on Windows XP on my pc. However with XP support ending last month did a fresh re-install of reformat on my pc and now run Vista. However....

When I try and run my PT8LE installation disc it seem to autorun with no problems although I keep getting this error "Setup.exe not a valid win32 application" when I try to re-install the software.

- I did a disk clean up to make sure. Ran Ccleaner just to clean up and junk files if any.

- I also wiped the DVD just to make sure there was no dirt/scratches etc...

But still no luck

Does anyone know what I can do from here?

Thanks
Jake
I'd have stayed with XP. Just because support from Microshaft ended doesn't mean the computer will stop working. I still keep an XP machine around because I have Sony Soundforge 9 on there which does some things in a small efficient package that other software can do but is WAY expensive. Vista was probably the worst choice you could have made for operating systems. Go back to XP if you can.

Failing that see if your hardware will support Win7 or 8 and update to that.

And if that's impossible right click on the application and see if you can run it in some kind of compatibility mode. Also make sure you're running as administrator and you have any anti-virus turned off. And check your Avid account for a later version of PT8 and download that.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!

Last edited by musicman691; 06-03-2014 at 03:16 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-30-2014, 07:28 AM
sw rec sw rec is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Colo Spgs Colo
Posts: 5,601
Default Re: PT 8 - "Setup.exe not a valid win32 application"

On Win 7, you need to run the PTLE 8.0.3 INSTALLER, then run the 8.0.5 UPDATER. (I'm trying to understand a "new" OS running Vista, it didn't play well with PT. But try the Win 7 installer and let us know if that works.) Also make sure you have the right driver.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-30-2014, 03:37 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 34,799
Default Re: PT 8 - "Setup.exe not a valid win32 application"

A great many LE install disks were bad, so downloading the installer is likely the best thing to try first. Moving on to other considerations, I am not a fan of Vista(and Vista 64 bit is not compatible at all) and would also recommend Win7 64 bit, assuming your computer is compatible and has at least 4GB of RAM. Having said that, the install method is a little odd. You start with a clean slate(no previous version of PT installed). Run the installer as administrator, with the 11rack disconnected(or OFF). When the installer says to connect the interface, DON'T. Just click on OKAY, let it finish and reboot. Then run the 8.0.5 updater(again, using the Run as Admin option). When the updater asks for the interface, connect(or turn ON) the 11rack, wait about 8 seconds, then click on OKAY, let it finish and reboot. Now, before you run PT, right-click on the PT icon and select properties and find the tab with these 2 items:
Always Run as Admin
Disable Desktop Composition
and check both. One more thing to remember when moving to Win7; On XP and Vista, firewire drives are okay and USB are NOT. With Win7, its the other way around(as always, recording to a second internal drive gives the best performance). My last comment; maybe going back to XP is still a viable option, as long as this system stays off the internet
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-02-2014, 03:33 PM
zedhed's Avatar
zedhed zedhed is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 3,905
Default Re: PT 8 - "Setup.exe not a valid win32 application"

I would also choose XP over Vista though agree with Albee on Win 7.
__________________
Too much blood in my drugstream

Gigabyte X99 SOC Force Mobo Bios vF6d
Intel Core i7 5930k socket 2011 v3 @ 3.50GHz
32GB DDR4 Crucial RAM
System: Samsung M.2NVME SSD 960 Evo
Record: Samsung M.2NVME SSD 960 Evo
Samples: Samsung SATAlll SSD 840 Pro
Storage: 2x Samsung SATAlll SSD 840 Pro
EVGA GeForce GTX 750 Graphics
PT 11HD (v11.2.1) Omni s/pdif w Eleven Rack
HD 96I/O
Win 8.1 Pro
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-02-2014, 06:31 PM
sw rec sw rec is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Colo Spgs Colo
Posts: 5,601
Default Re: PT 8 - "Setup.exe not a valid win32 application"

2nd that! ANYTHING but Vista. Where's my Commodore 64????
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-03-2014, 03:16 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 16,515
Default Re: PT 8 - "Setup.exe not a valid win32 application"

Quote:
Originally Posted by sw rec View Post
2nd that! ANYTHING but Vista. Where's my Commodore 64????
I know where mine is - up in a middle bedroom of my house; haven't fired it up in ages though. I think I'd rather have C64 Basic than Vista any day.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
"Hardware controls for this peripheral are handled in its Setup Application" pilipinokuno Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 1 02-07-2012 03:57 AM
"Hardware controls for this peripheral are handled in its Setup Application" pilipinokuno Pro Tools 9 1 02-05-2012 05:50 PM
Error message: 'Setup.exe not a valid Win32 application.' thebjs 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 19 07-07-2011 11:53 PM
HELP! is not a valid win32 application! Southernbudz 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 04-28-2011 02:46 AM
Setup.exe Not a valid WIN32 application Nazyr Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 1 05-30-2005 04:59 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:22 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com