Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Mixing > Pro Tools | S6

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-04-2019, 02:08 PM
stefanboman stefanboman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Stockholm
Posts: 94
Default Parameter labels question

Is the knob parameter labels for the EQ and dynamics modes editable for developers or are they fixed?

I have noticed that many plugins often parameters labels that don't make any sense, especially in dynamics mode.
Like mix wet/dry on a compressor can be labeled "LPFFreq"on the S6.

Is this a plugin developer error or is it a limitation from Avid that it's not possible for developers to set their own labels?
__________________
__________________
Stefan Boman
Park Studios-Stockholm
www.parkstudios.se
stefan[at]parkstudios.se
Avid S6
EMI TG12345
Neve 8058
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-05-2019, 05:56 AM
creativecontrol's Avatar
creativecontrol creativecontrol is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 709
Default Re: Parameter labels question

Greetings,

There are 2 special function views on S6 - EQ and DYNAMICS. EQ is always associated with a Magenta color while DYNAMICS is identified by a Green color. These modes are in addition to the standard INSERTS and Insert Parameters which is displayed on the surface in a Teal color.

Here's a screen grab from the AAX Pagetable editor showing the dedicated DYN mapping for the plug-in Pro Compressor from Avid:



The parameters shown under Parameter Name are the parameters from the plug-in mapped to the available values labeled Function which are part of the dedicated DYN set. For example, since there is no dedicated Wet/Dry or Mix parameter in the DYN set, parameter Dry Mix was alternately assigned to the knob which otherwise would control Low Pass Frequency. Obviously there are many parameters that line up perfectly such as Threshold, Ratio, Attack, Release, etc.

Because there is some variance between the parameters contained within different dynamics plug-ins, manufactures can pick and choose how to use the standard DYN set. Again, this is in addition to the standard INSERTS parameters mode which will always show all parameters, just not necessarily in a predictable arrangement.



Jeff
__________________
Jeff Komar
Applications Specialist, Pro Audio
Avid
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MIDI / Plugin parameter question Hawk570 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 02-09-2010 08:56 AM
Off Topic-DA-88 Labels masterboyle Post - Surround - Video 3 02-22-2005 01:21 PM
10,000 record labels 6969 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 11-14-2004 01:13 AM
About in/out Labels zafyleo Digidesign Hardware & Software 1 11-27-2001 12:48 AM
CD Labels Morningstar 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 11-18-2001 12:02 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:10 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com