Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2019

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #391  
Old 03-03-2019, 10:02 PM
JCBigler's Avatar
JCBigler JCBigler is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Tulsa, OK
Posts: 2,710
Default Re: Pro tools 2019 !

Quote:
Originally Posted by wwittman View Post
The “perk” of ultimate is the hardware and DSP porecessing. Otherwise you shouldn’t have bought it.

If you need to feel superior to Native users to justify your purchase that’s silly.
You don’t get hardware and DSP with Ultimate. You get those with HDX hardware. You do get surround mixing. And the ability to use HEAT. And higher track/voice counts.
__________________
Justice C. Bigler
www.justicebigler.com
Head Audio/A1 Blue Man Group: Speechless tour

Home/mobile: Lenovo P50: quad-core i7-6820hq, 64GB, 2TB SSD, Win 10 Pro / Focusrite Red 8Pre / Protools HD Native 2018.10 Ultimate
Reply With Quote
  #392  
Old 03-03-2019, 10:13 PM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 16,829
Default Re: Pro tools 2019 !

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Olhsson View Post
The point is that you don't NEED Ultimate to do surround.
Oh, sure :) like my point you don't NEED over 32 i/o for most recordings fair enough
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #393  
Old 03-03-2019, 10:19 PM
JCBigler's Avatar
JCBigler JCBigler is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Tulsa, OK
Posts: 2,710
Default Re: Pro tools 2019 !

Even now, it would be nice to just plug an Ethernet cable in to the network switch and record everything via DVS, than to have to lug around my HD Native Thunderbolt box with Focusrite Red 8Pre and an HD32R to get 64 channel in to Protools.

And therin lies the point.

Avid and Protools are losing market share because you can carry a laptop and an ethernet cable or USB cable and record 64 channels (or more) to any other piece of software, which you can’t do with Protools without whole racks of other gear which costs nearly $5,000.

And then there’s the fact that Protools just isn’t as reliable enough in most people’s eyes to do live recording. Avid needs a Protools Live that is super stable and will serve as just a bit bucket for live recording for up to 64 (or unlimited) channels to compete with Nuendo Live, Waves Tracks Live, or Reaper.
__________________
Justice C. Bigler
www.justicebigler.com
Head Audio/A1 Blue Man Group: Speechless tour

Home/mobile: Lenovo P50: quad-core i7-6820hq, 64GB, 2TB SSD, Win 10 Pro / Focusrite Red 8Pre / Protools HD Native 2018.10 Ultimate

Last edited by JCBigler; 03-03-2019 at 10:36 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #394  
Old 03-04-2019, 08:01 AM
studio 1311 studio 1311 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Philadelphia
Posts: 21
Default Re: Pro tools 2019 !

With regards to using PT for live capture, I can't think of the last time I've not used REAPER for that task. Like you say, bring a laptop and a cable and off you go. I'm setting up 24 trks and all are recording whether I need them all or not for every set. Patching inputs on the fly. Import into PT for mixdown.

In my experience, PT is just not trustworthy for that critical of a job such as a live event, I'm afraid.
__________________
Greg
www.studiothirteeneleven.com
Reply With Quote
  #395  
Old 03-04-2019, 08:07 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 16,829
Default Re: Pro tools 2019 !

Quote:
Originally Posted by studio 1311 View Post
In my experience, PT is just not trustworthy for that critical of a job such as a live event, I'm afraid.
My experience is a whole lot different
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #396  
Old 03-04-2019, 08:16 AM
studio 1311 studio 1311 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Philadelphia
Posts: 21
Default Re: Pro tools 2019 !

Quote:
Originally Posted by JFreak View Post
My experience is a whole lot different
That's great. I would rather be in PT.
__________________
Greg
www.studiothirteeneleven.com
Reply With Quote
  #397  
Old 03-04-2019, 08:23 AM
dankin dankin is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Nashvillle
Posts: 468
Default Re: Pro tools 2019 !

I've done a lot of live tracking with PT on a MBP, mostly with Dante these days. Zero issues. I just wish it had more than 32 I/O, as I'm forced to use something else beyond that. I did 48 channels with logic recently with no issues. For anything less than 32 channels I always stick with PT.
__________________
2018.3 HD, MacPro 5.1 12core 3.46, 24gig ram, OS 10.12.6, 2014 MPB 2.8, OS 10.12.6
Reply With Quote
  #398  
Old 03-04-2019, 08:40 AM
studio 1311 studio 1311 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Philadelphia
Posts: 21
Default Re: Pro tools 2019 !

Quote:
Originally Posted by dankin View Post
I've done a lot of live tracking with PT on a MBP, mostly with Dante these days. Zero issues. I just wish it had more than 32 I/O, as I'm forced to use something else beyond that. I did 48 channels with logic recently with no issues. For anything less than 32 channels I always stick with PT.
Dankin, have you always found PT to have zero issues for live tracking?

Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk
__________________
Greg
www.studiothirteeneleven.com
Reply With Quote
  #399  
Old 03-04-2019, 10:33 AM
JCBigler's Avatar
JCBigler JCBigler is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Tulsa, OK
Posts: 2,710
Default Re: Pro tools 2019 !

Quote:
Originally Posted by studio 1311 View Post
Dankin, have you always found PT to have zero issues for live tracking?
I've done a ton of live recording straight in to Protools. Check out the recording tab on my website linked in my signature below. Everyone of those recordings was done live to Protools. In the last 6 years that I have been doing live performance recording, I have not have Protools stop recording during the performance. And I've done a few recordings with HDX with 64 channels.

There have been a couple of shows, mostly musical theatre and a couple of orchestra pops shows where I had to use Nuendo Live because I had more than 32 tracks of inputs, usually 40-45, before I had access to HD Native or HDX hardware.

Years ago, though, before Protools 11 (PT 6-8), Protools would puke all over itself when trying to record 1 or 2 tracks even, just randomly. So the trust factor with Protools is certainly thin.

For live recordings, I do and everyone should, use a live back up. Either a secondary computer or a hard disk recorder like a JoeCo BBR or Tascam DA6400. It's just a PITA to have to import all of those files back in to Protools. And you lose some of the metadata, like track names, markers, and comments, etc... And if you stop the recording, like for the pause during intermission, then you have twice as much work to do syncing the second half of the show back together. It can take a couple of hours if you have large track count sessions, 64 channels. For that reason, I prefer to stay in Protools, since I'm going to be mixing in Protools anyway. Makes the post work a lot less tedious.
__________________
Justice C. Bigler
www.justicebigler.com
Head Audio/A1 Blue Man Group: Speechless tour

Home/mobile: Lenovo P50: quad-core i7-6820hq, 64GB, 2TB SSD, Win 10 Pro / Focusrite Red 8Pre / Protools HD Native 2018.10 Ultimate
Reply With Quote
  #400  
Old 03-04-2019, 10:41 AM
abc1mce2's Avatar
abc1mce2 abc1mce2 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: The Motor City
Posts: 208
Default Re: Pro tools 2019 !

Quote:
Originally Posted by JCBigler View Post
I've done a ton of live recording straight in to Protools. Check out the recording tab on my website linked in my signature below. Everyone of those recordings was done live to Protools. In the last 6 years that I have been doing live performance recording, I have not have Protools stop recording during the performance. And I've done a few recordings with HDX with 64 channels.



There have been a couple of shows, mostly musical theatre and a couple of orchestra pops shows where I had to use Nuendo Live because I had more than 32 tracks of inputs, usually 40-45, before I had access to HD Native or HDX hardware.



Years ago, though, before Protools 11 (PT 6-8), Protools would puke all over itself when trying to record 1 or 2 tracks even, just randomly. So the trust factor with Protools is certainly thin.
Just curious what sample rate, bit depth and samples (64, 128, 256, 512 etc) are you using while doing a live recording with HDX? Also what's the longest live gig you've recorded and how were your drives connected ( usb, thunderbolt etc)?

Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk
__________________
What is more relaxing then Music?

GigabyteX79-UP4 Rev 1.1
Xeon E5 2680 v.2. 10 Core cpu Windows10 v.1803
Avid HDX 2019.6 HD - 16x16 - 8x8x8 HD I/O - PT Dock - PT Control - AVID Artist Mix (2)
Universal Audio UAD2 Pci-E and Satellite USB Octo - Pci-E Quad - SOLO 610 - Twin-finity
Antelope Trinity - 10M
Grace Design M905
Bricasti M7 (2)
Lexicon PCM96
Burl B2
Dangerous 2Bus
Neumann KH805 - KH310
Yamaha NS-10M
Avantone Mixcubes
Etc, etc, etc.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2019 features for pro tools vanilla ? cmbourget Pro Tools 2018 29 03-04-2019 03:00 PM
Namm 2019 jeffro General Discussion 2 01-26-2019 10:22 AM
Looks like at least 2019 before new Mac Pro K Roche Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 3 04-19-2018 06:44 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:40 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com