Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Virtual Instruments

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-06-2012, 04:03 PM
gsrokmix gsrokmix is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 13
Default Way to get key switching with Miroslav Philharmonik?

Hi,

I want to be able to access the different articulations in MP via MIDI key switching. I know that MP doesn't support key switching. Is there any type of application or plugin that will run between my MIDI controller & Pro Tools that will split the MIDI signal into different channels? I know the Logic users have a way to do this via custom environments but how can I achieve this in Pro Tools 10?

If this is not possible is my only other option to go with Kontakt & SR's Infinite Player? I really like the sounds in MP & I understand that the Infinite Player has a lot of the MP (VSL) orchestral sounds.

If there are any other avenues I could take I would love to hear about them. I have done an exhaustive search for information specific to what I'm trying to do but I can only find irrelevant info that is several years old.

Thanks very much for any help & advice.

George

Pro Tools 10.2 on a 2008 8 core Mac Pro.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-11-2012, 04:32 PM
gsrokmix gsrokmix is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 13
Default Re: Way to get key switching with Miroslav Philharmonik?

Really, no one else is trying to do this?

George
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-11-2012, 07:44 PM
spenner spenner is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Somewhere under the rainbow
Posts: 1,202
Default Re: Way to get key switching with Miroslav Philharmonik?

I gave up on MP and moved to EWQL SO. MP has some beautiful patches but the dated articulation setup is a deal killer for me. I anxiously wait to see how IK addresses this in Sample Tank 3. However, I am interesting in knowing if PT has a similar "custom environment" feature.

The first post in this thread may help.

The only other way I've seen articulations done with MP is via a multitimbral setup. Load the desired patches in MP (or load a Combi) and route each patch to a separate MIDI channel.

Also, you may find some ideas on the IK forum.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-12-2012, 03:04 AM
tonwurm's Avatar
tonwurm tonwurm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: europe
Posts: 734
Default Re: Way to get key switching with Miroslav Philharmonik?

with "SubtleSoft MidiPipe" (free download) you should be able to do that

very nice tool for us poor PT midi-users ;-)
__________________
Mac Pro 2010 - PT10 HD3, PT12 HD, Logic X, DP 7, VEPro, OSX 10.9.5 / 10.12.6
MacBook Pro - Logic X, Mainstage
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-12-2012, 03:22 PM
gsrokmix gsrokmix is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 13
Default Re: Way to get key switching with Miroslav Philharmonik?

Hmmm I have MIDI Pipe & was wondering if I could "mult" my MIDI output using that. I will have to check into that.

Thanks!

George
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Miroslav Philharmonik problems/PT 10 bonzerboy General Discussion 5 03-12-2012 07:55 PM
Recommendation: Miroslav Philharmonik from IK Multimedia Jimibrix 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 14 04-04-2011 01:09 PM
What should I do with this Miroslav Philharmonik-problem? stump 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 7 04-03-2011 11:52 PM
Miroslav Philharmonik? garnoil Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 22 03-15-2009 09:11 PM
Miroslav Philharmonik wernerbachmüller Virtual Instruments 1 09-18-2006 08:35 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:17 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com