Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2019

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-31-2019, 08:46 AM
TOM@METRO's Avatar
TOM@METRO TOM@METRO is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 17,017
Default Pro Tools 2019.10 Discussion

Working well here. How about you?
__________________
~ tom thomas

Formerly hobotom

Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.12 HDX
HD Omni and 192 I/Os
Windows 10
Intel Hexcore i7
All Samsung Pro SSDs
Ampex MM1200 2" 24 trk tape
Outboard: UREI, Eventide, Lexicon, Yamaha, TC Electronics, Orban, ART, EchoAudio, Dolby, Hughes, API, Neve, Audio Arts, BBE, Aphex, Berringer, MOTU, dbx, Allison, etc.
Plug-ins: Too many to talk about.

www.metrostudios.com
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-31-2019, 08:50 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 17,535
Default Re: Pro Tools 2019.10 Discussion

Very well here as well, on my custom 10x3.0GHz 64GB Trashcan (10.14.6)
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-31-2019, 09:38 AM
off the wall's Avatar
off the wall off the wall is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: NYC-NJ
Posts: 248
Default Re: Pro Tools 2019.10 Discussion

Quote:
Originally Posted by JFreak View Post
Very well here as well, on my custom 10x3.0GHz 64GB Trashcan (10.14.6)
So far so good. Video weirdness "seems" to have gone away. The two things that plagued me on an daily basis were multiple video tracks in the same session randomly playing the wrong video when selected and the video engine failing to start/quit.

Running through a few sessions that always exhibited those issues showed no sign of them any longer.
__________________
offthewallproductions
Mac Pro 5,1 3.46 Ghz 12 core, AMD 7970 GPU, SSD boot drive on 6Gb/sec PCIe card, 64GB RAM, MacOS 10.14.6.
Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.12. HDX, UA Octo PCIe cards, HD I/O, C|24 control surface.
Mostly Avid, Waves, Sonnex and UAD Plug-ins
Genelec 1031AP/7070A 5.1 monitoring.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-31-2019, 09:40 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 17,535
Default Re: Pro Tools 2019.10 Discussion

Good to hear
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-31-2019, 03:46 PM
home_studio home_studio is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Israel
Posts: 93
Default Re: Pro Tools 2019.10 Discussion

Quote:
Originally Posted by off the wall View Post
multiple video tracks in the same session randomly playing the wrong video when selected and the video engine failing to start/quit.
It's a legacy from previous versions. Had this issue on 2019.6
__________________
2019.12 Ultimate / Mac Pro (Late 2013) / 6 core 3.5GHz / 64Gb / OSX 10.13.6 / MBox 3 Pro / 2 x Artist Mix / PT|Control / Aja T-Tap
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-31-2019, 03:53 PM
xrekcor's Avatar
xrekcor xrekcor is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Australia
Posts: 774
Default Re: Pro Tools 2019.10 Discussion

seems pretty good here on initial testing. Still getting a buffer overload error on there first session that plays... One thing I have noticed PT seems to remember my last saved screen setup between my two monitors, don't have to drag the Edit window off to monitor 2 after opening each session.
__________________
Rob
———————————————————————————
MBP 15” 2018 macOS Mojave 10.14.6 Touch Bar and ID
2.2GHz 6 core 8 gen Intel Core i7 processor (TB’s to 4.1GHz)
32 Gb of 2400MHz DDR4, 1T SSD, Magic Mouse and Keyboard
Pro Tools 2019.6-23.# - HEAT applied, Cubase 9.5,
Yamaha TF5, UR44, BEHA4700
........and a bowl of M&M's
———————————————————————————
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-31-2019, 05:16 PM
Marcel Risberg's Avatar
Marcel Risberg Marcel Risberg is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Posts: 396
Default Re: Pro Tools 2019.10 Discussion

2019.10 is working great for me.
Audio editing only today (video engine disabled).
__________________

Marcel Risberg
Production sound and audio post - ljuddesign.se
Enthusiastically sharing knowledge and experience at Stockholm Film School.

🛠 Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.10 · HD Native · HD Omni
🎚 EuControl x.x.x · Artist Control · Mix · Control App
🦑 MacPro5,1 · 12C24T @3.46GHz · 48GB · SSDs · macOS 10.13.6 (17G5019)
📺 Separate video playback machine
🥇 Covered by ZDT/TLC · Keeping DAW OS clutter free
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-01-2019, 02:05 AM
globaleric globaleric is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 372
Default Re: Pro Tools 2019.10 Discussion

Quote:
Originally Posted by xrekcor View Post
One thing I have noticed PT seems to remember my last saved screen setup between my two monitors, don't have to drag the Edit window off to monitor 2 after opening each session.
That's strange... All versions I've used on Macs since PT LE7 have always remembered the session's windows sizes/positions on two monitors. (Unless the 2nd monitor was connected after PT was already launched without a loaded session)
__________________
Mac Mini 2018, i7 3.2 GHz, 32G RAM, 1TB SSD
Mojave 10.14.6, PT 2019.12, Waves and Massey plugins
Presonus Quantum, MC Transport, Avid Control, Tascam HS-P82 Field Recorder
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-01-2019, 07:48 AM
Nish Nish is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Belgium
Posts: 181
Default Re: Pro Tools 2019.10 Discussion

Blame me for not liking Win 10 and still using Win 7... anyway this PT version is very buggy so far.

After the install I had an error (api-ms-win-core-winrt-l1-1-0.dll could not be loaded, and api-ms-win-core-winrt-string-l1-1-0.dll as well) so I searched and installed these manually.

Once PT finally loaded a session I'm observing these issues.

Bars|Beats, Min:Sec, Tempo markers, Chords, and markers are not visible.
No playback ruler visible.
No visual selection visible with the grabber tool and selector tool. (dragging or selecting does work but without visual highlight)

I'm reverting back unless it's a GPU related thing ...
Btw did anyone noticed diagnostics in the preferences under operation settings? "Send anonymous Pro Tools usage Data to Avid" is enabled by default... nice one!

Update:

All visual things mentioned above appear to be behind the PT interface...

Update 2: Reverted to 2019.6 again... 2019.10 simply doesn't work on Win 7 Pro
I tried on 2 Win 7 systems and get the same issues as described above, or as you can see in the screenshot below...
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Bug PT 2019.10 2.jpg (68.3 KB, 0 views)

Last edited by Nish; 11-02-2019 at 04:33 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 10-31-2019, 07:18 PM
off the wall's Avatar
off the wall off the wall is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: NYC-NJ
Posts: 248
Default Re: Pro Tools 2019.10 Discussion

Quote:
Originally Posted by home_studio View Post
It's a legacy from previous versions. Had this issue on 2019.6
That’s the issue I’m saying appears to finally be gone in 2019.10
__________________
offthewallproductions
Mac Pro 5,1 3.46 Ghz 12 core, AMD 7970 GPU, SSD boot drive on 6Gb/sec PCIe card, 64GB RAM, MacOS 10.14.6.
Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.12. HDX, UA Octo PCIe cards, HD I/O, C|24 control surface.
Mostly Avid, Waves, Sonnex and UAD Plug-ins
Genelec 1031AP/7070A 5.1 monitoring.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
S5 & Pro Tools 2019.5 MarcOFB System 5 6 05-13-2019 09:15 AM
Real time Pro Tools Discussion Cam B 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 7 03-10-2014 01:19 PM
Pro Tools LE to HD upgrade special: Open discussion Tony Cariddi 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 920 11-24-2010 09:31 PM
Pro Tools LE to HD upgrade special: Open discussion Tony Cariddi 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 194 01-11-2010 11:04 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:34 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com