Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 9

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 02-03-2011, 12:57 PM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,626
Default Re: PT licensing confusion/question

Quote:
Originally Posted by yeahimsteve View Post
And now, I answer your question, with a horror story of my own:

The day PT9 came out, they advertised it as "Hey, come use our software with any audio card ya want now!" Some dude on a laptop, working HD. No core cards, no nothing. I'm thinking, "wow, did Avid just grow a clue?"

I pay the $350 online, they take the money. Only AFTER selling it to me, do they ask me for a serial number to my core card before allowing me to even download the product!
These fktards took my cash even though I wasn't even qualified for the download. It wasn't like they let me download the software and then asked me for a core card serial during install. Nope. It wasn't like they asked for my serial BEFORE they took my money. Nope....they waited until they had my cash before saying, "Sorry, we're taking your money and we're not even going to give you a product in return."

Obviously it was the first day of release and everything was new to me, so I didn't fully understand the fine print at the time. I didn't understand at the time why no hardware was needed to run HD, yet, I'd had to have specific hardware to be allowed to use the software.

So at that point, I spend another $250 for what I AM allowed to use; PT9 regular.

Since the HD license wasn't activated or used, they said they'd allow me a refund. I had to fax in something, saying I didn't steal or use/misuse their software. Only problem is, they never actually gave me a product to "misuse," nor did they ever give me the refund. I'm pretty sure that to this day, they still have not credited my card back. In fact, they sent me an email a month later, telling me that I hadn't downloaded my product that I paid for yet! Haha, can you believe this dysfunction? By that point, I should have already been reimbursed. It's like they didn't even notice my fax. Double whammy.

So yes, they will take your money, but if your core card's serial number was indeed kept on file by the guy who sold it to you, and he went ahead and used that serial to get his own upgrade of PTHD9.......you are effed, in typical Avid fashion. Hey, its true, and I'm only telling it like it is.

Bottom line: Buy the upgrade, but don't expect them to make good or give you your money back if they decide not to let you qualify for whatever shoddy reason they come up with. Heaven forbid they actually let you re-register hardware that you bought from somebody else!! That might actually prevent you from getting the bum end of the stick, and we can't possibly have that now, can we?


(side note:: If you buy a Universal Audio DSP card, you are more than free to sell it to somebody else and transfer registration/ownership and it's embraced by UA)


One might assume that I'm a hater. I'm not. I'm just tired of everything being a struggle with these guys. The very fact that you even had to ASK if you'd qualify or not is a TESTAMENT to how poorly they have communicated with their user base.

Tellin' it like it is! And......I'm done ranting.
Steve - I'm looking into your case now to find out what happened regarding the refund. I'll get back to you as soon as possible.
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 02-03-2011, 01:24 PM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,626
Default Re: PT licensing confusion/question

Steve -

I got word back and the refund was completed on November 9th to the same card that the purchase was made.

If you see something contrary to this, please let me know.
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 02-03-2011, 01:28 PM
Bender412 Bender412 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 34
Default Re: PT licensing confusion/question

Hey Digi how bout little old me? Since you're on my thread to you think you could confirm or correct what others have said in response to my question?

Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 02-03-2011, 01:28 PM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,626
Default Re: PT licensing confusion/question

Quote:
Originally Posted by yeahimsteve View Post
And now, I answer your question, with a horror story of my own:

The day PT9 came out, they advertised it as "Hey, come use our software with any audio card ya want now!" Some dude on a laptop, working HD. No core cards, no nothing. I'm thinking, "wow, did Avid just grow a clue?"

I pay the $350 online, they take the money. Only AFTER selling it to me, do they ask me for a serial number to my core card before allowing me to even download the product!
These fktards took my cash even though I wasn't even qualified for the download. It wasn't like they let me download the software and then asked me for a core card serial during install. Nope. It wasn't like they asked for my serial BEFORE they took my money. Nope....they waited until they had my cash before saying, "Sorry, we're taking your money and we're not even going to give you a product in return."

Obviously it was the first day of release and everything was new to me, so I didn't fully understand the fine print at the time. I didn't understand at the time why no hardware was needed to run HD, yet, I'd had to have specific hardware to be allowed to use the software.
Just to clarify - the 'fine print' mentioned says this:

Quote:
The Pro Tools HD 9 Upgrade requires and valid Pro Tools iLok auth from a previous version of Pro Tools HD (version 8 or earlier) and a Pro Tools HD Core Card. If you are registered for Pro Tools HD 6.9 or earlier please contact Customer Support directly. You may purchase one upgrade per core card owned.
(I've put in bold the relevant section to illustrate that we did not try to mislead anyone regarding the requirements.)
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 02-03-2011, 01:34 PM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,626
Default Re: PT licensing confusion/question

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bender412 View Post
I'm a little confused ...

I have an HD|3 with PTHD8. I bought the hardware used (no transfer of ownership), and the PTHD8 license from a seller on Ebay. I've been running this system for almost 2 years.

Last year, I purchased Digi's MassivePak8 from Sweetwater. At the time of purchase, they asked for my core card's serial number. I gave it to them, and the sale went through with no problem, even thought the card is obviously not registered to me.

So, CAN I purchase and install the PTHD9 upgrade for $350 or not? At what point is the core card serial # required - during purchase or during install?

I was under the impression that I could purchase the upgrade online, and that the installation would see the valid HD8 license on my iLok, detect my hardware, and proceed. Am I mistaken about that?

Thanks!
Given the timeline of your used card purchase, I don't see any reason why you wouldn't be able to purchase the PT9 HD crossgrade, as it's unlikely the previous owner would have kept the serial number handy to use for a PT9HD purchase themselves.

The serial number is required during the purchase process. You will provide your card SN and your iLok ID (user name), both of which will be verified. Assuming your SN has not been used for a previous PT9HD purchase, you will get an iLok auth for PT9HD in your iLok account and you will be required to surrender your PT8HD auth when you download the PT9 auth to your iLok.

If you like you can send me the SN of your card and I can let you know if it's eligible or not - email me at: vi [at] digidesign [dot] com.
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 02-03-2011, 02:06 PM
Bender412 Bender412 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 34
Default Re: PT licensing confusion/question

Hey DigiTech thanks for the info. I just emailed you my serial #
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 02-03-2011, 07:45 PM
Park Seward's Avatar
Park Seward Park Seward is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Grants Pass, OR
Posts: 4,284
Default Re: PT licensing confusion/question

Quote:
Originally Posted by yeahimsteve View Post
I'm pretty sure that to this day, they still have not credited my card back. In fact, they sent me an email a month later, telling me that I hadn't downloaded my product that I paid for yet! Haha, can you believe this dysfunction? By that point, I should have already been reimbursed.

Bottom line: Buy the upgrade, but don't expect them to make good or give you your money back if they decide not to let you qualify for whatever shoddy reason they come up with. Heaven forbid they actually let you re-register hardware that you bought from somebody else!! That might actually prevent you from getting the bum end of the stick, and we can't possibly have that now, can we?
And Digi Tech Support says:

Steve -

I got word back and the refund was completed on November 9th to the same card that the purchase was made.

If you see something contrary to this, please let me know.


So did you get your money not not?
__________________
Park
The Transfer Lab at Video Park
Analog tape to Pro Tools transfers, 1/4"-2"
http://www.videopark.com
MacPro 6 core 3.33 GHz, OS 10.12.1, 8 GB RAM, PT12.6.1, Focusrite Saffire Pro 40, PreSonus DigiMax, MC Control V3.5, dual displays,
Neumann U-47, Tab V76 mic pre, RCA 44BX and 77DX, MacBook Pro 9,1, 2.3 Mhz, i7, CBS Labs Audimax and Volumax.
Ampex 440B half-track and four-track, 351 tube full-track mono, MM-1100 16-track.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 02-04-2011, 01:05 AM
yeahimsteve yeahimsteve is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 32
Default Re: PT licensing confusion/question

I'm going to actually apologize for going so far overboard and going on that huge tirade! I just lost a very close relative (no excuse, I'm sorry) and when the original poster mentioned this, it sort of reminded me of something and I kind of took it too far.
I was clearly not in a very good mind space, and I should have just stayed off the computer completely.

I guess I got the refund. It was my fault in the first place, but I just wish that there was an idiot proof way for me not to have to go through it, that's all. Regardless of any and all issues, I should not have handled it that way and so I wanted to apologize to everybody, and thank the person that looked into my case.

Not a hater. Thx.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 02-04-2011, 09:07 AM
HD2 HD2 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 928
Default Re: PT licensing confusion/question

Awe... don't you just love a happy ending.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 02-04-2011, 11:11 AM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,626
Default Re: PT licensing confusion/question

Glad to hear it worked out for you, Steve. I understand the frustration and we've added additional info to the purchase process shortly after it all went live to help try to avoid these situations. We're not perfect, but we do try to make good when things go awry...
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
From Windows to Mac - Licensing Question smartinez1984 Pro Tools 10 4 09-24-2012 08:45 AM
question about ilok licensing... thenassaproject Virtual Instruments 6 12-24-2010 02:54 PM
Licensing question pappatoad 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 6 02-28-2010 06:09 PM
licensing LE on multiple computers question mixit 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 7 11-22-2004 07:06 AM
Licensing question... matts9383 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 6 04-28-2004 04:10 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:57 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com