Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Windows
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 01-19-2013, 08:57 PM

Default PT not stable

I am relatively new to Pro Tools (3 1/2 months) but not new to digital recording having used Samplitude, Sonar, Calkewalk, Logic, Reaper, Cubase and my DAW of choice Nuendo.
I was asked to do a recording project starting in October that required my using Pro Tools. The client agreed to put up with my learning curve and I thought it would be a great opportunity to really learn Pro Tools. I have had LE for many years for importing projects, learning only what I needed to get the files into Nuendo.
As the project has progressed, Pro Tools has become more and more unstable. I get crashes constantly now from C++ runtime errors to access violation errors to not enough memory errors to not enough CPU errors. I also get crashes with no messages or warning. It now happens several times a day. The talent sometimes gets noise blasts, accompanied by not enough CPU errors (this error doesn't crash PT but it is loud and annoying to put it kindly).
If I do a mixdown after recording anything, I am guaranteed a crash after the mixdown completes. This crash was there from the beginning but I put up with it because the mixdowns were always successful and I just made sure I saved beforehand.
The other errors are not acceptable and I've been trying everything I can think of to get rid of them. I have done all of the optimizations Avid has recommended (most were done already as they are standard DAW practice). I have tried turning off every plugin. All with no luck.