Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 10

Old 11-09-2012, 05:40 AM

Exclamation Could not allocate memory for the disk cache. Try lowering your disk buffer..

hi guys! I've never used Pro Tools before, now I've just got it and I cant launch it because of this error:

I'm running Pro tools HD 10.3.0 on windows 8 Pro 64x, during the installation I chose HDX (to be honest i don't even know what it is lol), and the interface that i'm using is ASIO4ALL

I tried to:
uninstall it and re-install it, but It won't work
I tried to install it launching the setup as administrator, but it won't work
I tried to delete the preferences, but it won't work
I tried to clean the log using CCleaner and then install it again aaaand.. it won't work!

how can I fix this problem??
the error says: "try lowering your disk buffer (DAE), disk cache size, or engine voice count" ook but.. how?
Does anybody know how i can resolve this error?
thanks in advance
Old 11-09-2012, 06:53 AM

Default Re: Could not allocate memory for the disk cache. Try lowering your disk buffer..

HDX is, besides Pro Tools HD software in all its glory, also a PCIe card, IOW, a DSP-accelerated system. It does not sound like that's what you have.
Old 11-09-2012, 08:54 AM

Default Re: Could not allocate memory for the disk cache. Try lowering your disk buffer..

Quote:
Originally Posted by PT Lover View Post
HDX is, besides Pro Tools HD software in all its glory, also a PCIe card, IOW, a DSP-accelerated system. It does not sound like that's what you have.
so for using it I need all the things you've listed?
Old 11-09-2012, 09:59 AM

My apologies. I just installed Pro Tools 10.3.2 on my mobile rig, and I discovered that you indeed chose the right installer. The other option is for older TDM systems.