Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > ProControl, Control|24, Command|8

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-01-2019, 07:41 AM
justinhill justinhill is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: Horley UK
Posts: 85
Default Command|8 - I like it!

I bought a Command 8 cheap with a bad power supply but found it still didn't work even with a new psu - so I solved the problem by buying (yet) another one...

Which is working beautifully. Given that Pro Control and Control 24 have long since been abandoned by Avid it's surprising and rather wonderful to find this 15 year old control surface is still fully supported by PT 2019.

Of course the moving faders is the main event but within an hour of using it I'm finding all sorts of small time-savers and convenience functions (I've always had trouble remembering keyboard shortcuts). It only cost me £125 and after 30 minutes with air duster and cleaner spray every control is working perfectly.

I know I could find a Control 24 for £400 but it wouldn't fit in my mix room and would really just get in the way. I've got the Command 8 over on the left of my work surface so I can keep the mouse under my right hand while pushing buttons with my left.
__________________
--
Justin

Mix room: Apple Mac Pro 6,1 late 2013 2.7Ghz 12-Core XeonE5, 64GB RAM, D300 Graphics, OSX Mojave 10.14.5/Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.6/Presonus Quantum 4848 Thunderbolt 2/Digidesign Command|8/Allen & Heath ZED-436 for fun

Studio: Apple Mac Pro 5,1 mid 2012 2x 3.46Ghz 6-Core Xeon, 64GB RAM, GeForce GTX 970 graphics, OSX Sierra 10.12.6/Pro Tools Ultimate 2018.12/HDX1/Avid HD 16x16, Digidesign 192 16x16, Digidesign 192 16x8/Custom Raindirk Symphony 32ch. front end
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-02-2019, 12:33 PM
Balanced Jack Balanced Jack is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 64
Default Re: Command|8 - I like it!

I bought something similar to these for my Command 8. They look and feel much better than the regular fader caps. https://www.amazon.de/metallisiert-S...-items&sr=1-27


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-02-2019, 01:02 PM
justinhill justinhill is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: Horley UK
Posts: 85
Default Re: Command|8 - I like it!

Ha! Great minds think alike? I ordered them yesterday!
__________________
--
Justin

Mix room: Apple Mac Pro 6,1 late 2013 2.7Ghz 12-Core XeonE5, 64GB RAM, D300 Graphics, OSX Mojave 10.14.5/Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.6/Presonus Quantum 4848 Thunderbolt 2/Digidesign Command|8/Allen & Heath ZED-436 for fun

Studio: Apple Mac Pro 5,1 mid 2012 2x 3.46Ghz 6-Core Xeon, 64GB RAM, GeForce GTX 970 graphics, OSX Sierra 10.12.6/Pro Tools Ultimate 2018.12/HDX1/Avid HD 16x16, Digidesign 192 16x16, Digidesign 192 16x8/Custom Raindirk Symphony 32ch. front end
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-16-2019, 07:35 PM
smurfyou smurfyou is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 395
Default Re: Command|8 - I like it!

Putting on real fader caps makes a huge difference!
__________________
~Will
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-17-2019, 03:10 AM
Ben Jenssen's Avatar
Ben Jenssen Ben Jenssen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Oslo
Posts: 2,974
Default Re: Command|8 - I like it!

Quote:
Originally Posted by smurfyou View Post
Putting on real fader caps makes a huge difference!
Other than looks – in what way?
Please elaborate.
(I have also, like Justin, just bought a used command8, and I can't see what's wrong with the original caps.)
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-17-2019, 03:19 AM
justinhill justinhill is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: Horley UK
Posts: 85
Default Re: Command|8 - I like it!

Well it's all about looks, really... it looks much more snazzy with 'proper' fader caps.

No seriously - I found that the lozenge shaped caps were less precise in that my finger could sort of move around on the cap and almost slip off the end.

Interestingly, this was one of the only negative comments made in the Sound On Sound review of the Command 8 when it first came out in 2004.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_1725.jpg (65.0 KB, 0 views)
__________________
--
Justin

Mix room: Apple Mac Pro 6,1 late 2013 2.7Ghz 12-Core XeonE5, 64GB RAM, D300 Graphics, OSX Mojave 10.14.5/Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.6/Presonus Quantum 4848 Thunderbolt 2/Digidesign Command|8/Allen & Heath ZED-436 for fun

Studio: Apple Mac Pro 5,1 mid 2012 2x 3.46Ghz 6-Core Xeon, 64GB RAM, GeForce GTX 970 graphics, OSX Sierra 10.12.6/Pro Tools Ultimate 2018.12/HDX1/Avid HD 16x16, Digidesign 192 16x16, Digidesign 192 16x8/Custom Raindirk Symphony 32ch. front end
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-17-2019, 05:54 AM
Ben Jenssen's Avatar
Ben Jenssen Ben Jenssen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Oslo
Posts: 2,974
Default Re: Command|8 - I like it!

Thanks for the pic.
And for 18 Euros, I think I'll have that.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-18-2019, 04:22 PM
smurfyou smurfyou is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 395
Default Re: Command|8 - I like it!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ben Jenssen View Post
Other than looks – in what way?
Please elaborate.
(I have also, like Justin, just bought a used command8, and I can't see what's wrong with the original caps.)
I did not like the shape or feel of the originals. Slippery and led to inaccuracy.
__________________
~Will
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Any difference besides color between D Command and D Command ES? diamondschwin Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 10 03-12-2012 12:15 PM
Command Keyboard Focus mode ' E ' command bug ? vudoo Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 2 09-10-2009 05:49 AM
Is it possible to use a Command 8 in combination with a D-Command? usastra ICON & C|24 2 05-03-2009 01:44 PM
New Command 8??? Keith Moore Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 13 04-29-2009 01:06 AM
Total Loss of Command 8 Command/Modifiers John Pisciotta ProControl, Control|24, Command|8 1 05-13-2005 10:30 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:16 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com