Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Licensing & Accounts

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-04-2017, 10:23 AM
johnbarnesiii johnbarnesiii is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 81
Default Fastest Way to Replace iLok?

Hi guys,

Looks like my iLok2 is not working any longer, it has the flashing blue light and is no longer recognized when I fire up PT. My guess is that when the maintenance guy went to turn off the braker switch in my room, my computer was not shut down, perhaps this fried the ilok or something?

At any rate, with deadlines and such, time is of essence in my workflow so I'm trying to get this taken care of ASAP in the fastest way possible, ideally without any downtime.

What do you recommend?

Btw, I'm on PT 12.5, I do not have ZDT coverage on the iLok, though I'm aware you can purchase it prior to creating an RMA. What concerns me is that I've heard about a 7-day 'cooling off period' with ZDT, does that mean I'll have to wait a week before being able to work again?

Isn't there a way to simply buy a new iLok and use a temporary license right away so as not to interfere with workflow?

Thanks in advance for your help!
  #2  
Old 07-04-2017, 10:47 AM
YYR123's Avatar
YYR123 YYR123 is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 12,300
Default Fastest Way to Replace iLok?

If you have ZDT it's instant....email tell them your problems get a new ilok and you have temp licenses ready to rock


W/o ZDT it will "Probably" work like this....

Email pace, send them your old ilok, they can recover the licenses from there, or at least see which licenses were on that specific ilok and then they will give you your licenses back (i.e. This is the best case scenario, b/c you could be left to begging the OEM's for your licenses, depending on what Pace finds)

It could possibly take forever, but it all starts with emailing them.

Ps never heard about the cooling off period with ZDT.
__________________
Daniel
HD|N - PT12.5.1 - HD I/O 16x8x8
Win10-Pro - 6 Core i7-6850k - ASUS X99 Deluxe ii
D-Command Main Unit - 'Ole Blue


For the Love of everything sacrosanct and hallowed, Why hasn't track presets been implemented yet? - George Jetson

For the Love of everything sacrosanct and hallowed, Why hasn't track presets been implemented yet? - George Jefferson

For the Love of everything sacrosanct and hallowed, Why hasn't track presets been implemented yet? - George Clinton
  #3  
Old 07-04-2017, 11:05 AM
johnbarnesiii johnbarnesiii is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 81
Default Re: Fastest Way to Replace iLok?

I don't have ZDT however I'm getting the option to add ZDT before creating the RMA through iLok website. Does that mean I can still make a seamless transition?

Was hoping to just go buy a new iLok, create the RMA, add ZDT and get temp licenses, and resume my work. A little confused still as to whether or not I'd be able to do this without having ZDT prior?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
  #4  
Old 07-04-2017, 11:25 AM
YYR123's Avatar
YYR123 YYR123 is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 12,300
Default Re: Fastest Way to Replace iLok?

I can't remember if you have to sync your license prior to adding ZDT.

Just go purchase ZDT and see if it makes you......
__________________
Daniel
HD|N - PT12.5.1 - HD I/O 16x8x8
Win10-Pro - 6 Core i7-6850k - ASUS X99 Deluxe ii
D-Command Main Unit - 'Ole Blue


For the Love of everything sacrosanct and hallowed, Why hasn't track presets been implemented yet? - George Jetson

For the Love of everything sacrosanct and hallowed, Why hasn't track presets been implemented yet? - George Jefferson

For the Love of everything sacrosanct and hallowed, Why hasn't track presets been implemented yet? - George Clinton
  #5  
Old 07-04-2017, 01:11 PM
clausiii's Avatar
clausiii clausiii is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Vienna, Austria
Posts: 1,711
Default Re: Fastest Way to Replace iLok?

Does the iLok application recognize the iLok? If luckily yes put the licenses off the key and put it on a new one.
__________________
My ears! My ears!
clausiii
-----------------
MacBook Pro i7 Quad 2.6GHz 8GB RAM
ProTools 12.7.1
MacOS 10.12.3
MOTU 4pre
MOTU 8pre USB
Axiom Pro 25
  #6  
Old 07-04-2017, 01:11 PM
Southsidemusic's Avatar
Southsidemusic Southsidemusic is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stockholm - Sweden
Posts: 9,726
Default Re: Fastest Way to Replace iLok?

And there is a fee for this aswell as 7 day colling off period and they wont budge on that at all. You get the temp licenses when the 7 days are up and then it takes up to 14 days.
__________________
Best Regards
Christopher


South Side Music Group
WEBHOME
SOUTHSIDEPUB

#ninjakittenshatecrunchyleaves
  #7  
Old 07-04-2017, 01:27 PM
ChuckS ChuckS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 944
Default Re: Fastest Way to Replace iLok?

Have you tried uninstalling and reinstalling the iLok drivers? Is there another machine you can test the iLok in? OTT, if you really needed something fast like tomorrow, you can get the new iLok and then buy a 30 day subscription to use until yours is sorted out. Or, if you can work with PT11, you can get a free trial for 30 days on the Avid site.
__________________
PT 12.8.0 DP 9.13 VEP 6.x Komplete Audio6 HP ProBook 4730s i7 Quad Win10 (x64)
PT 12.8.0 DP 9.13 VEP 6.x 828mkII ADA8200 MTP-AV 2011 Mac Mini i7 Quad Sierra.5
  #8  
Old 07-04-2017, 01:32 PM
jeffro's Avatar
jeffro jeffro is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jun 1999
Location: CA
Posts: 6,889
Default Re: Fastest Way to Replace iLok?

Couldn't find any accounts based on your User Name or community email address to check this out. Pls reply with your Avid support case # or start one following the Broken iLoks section here.
  #9  
Old 07-04-2017, 01:34 PM
johnbarnesiii johnbarnesiii is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 81
Default Re: Fastest Way to Replace iLok?

No the iLok is not being recognized. So even is I buy ZDT before doing the RMA, 7 days would be the absolute soonest I'd be able to get up and running??

Is there any other workaround to be able to work while this 7 days is happening? Downloading a PT trial for example, or some other clever temporary solution?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
  #10  
Old 07-04-2017, 01:44 PM
john1192 john1192 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: los angeles
Posts: 4,725
Default Re: Fastest Way to Replace iLok?

Quote:
Originally Posted by johnbarnesiii View Post
No the iLok is not being recognized. So even is I buy ZDT before doing the RMA, 7 days would be the absolute soonest I'd be able to get up and running??

Is there any other workaround to be able to work while this 7 days is happening? Downloading a PT trial for example, or some other clever temporary solution?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

PT|First but not sure you can Fully get work with that .. reminds me to buy another iLOk to have in case my ZDT is needed ..

srooy to hear your troubles ...
__________________
OS 10.12.5 for PT 11.3.2 & 12.4 & above
Mac Pro 6-core 3.33ghz (2012) 24gb ram 256gb SSD
Macbook Pro july 2014 2.5ghz 16gb ram 512gb SSD - OS10.12.5 - PT 12.4 & above
lynx AES16e-SRC & Aurora 16
Artist Transport & iPad - Pro |Control - EuCon 3.6 (older Euphonix Branded MC Transport)
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fastest Way to Replace iLok? johnbarnesiii General Discussion 0 07-04-2017 09:50 AM
Replace a lost iLok USB Key for Pro Tool 9? evank Pro Tools 9 Discussion 3 07-31-2011 10:25 AM
Does PT9 crossgrade replace PT8 on iLok? Dirt_ Pro Tools 9 Discussion 7 01-29-2011 06:27 PM
What's the fastest way to do this? johnnyv Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 9 09-06-2010 08:53 PM
Fastest G4 for OS9? Don M Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 11 05-19-2004 02:26 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:12 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com