Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Mixing > Pro Tools | S6

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 05-23-2017, 08:58 AM
lucienpalmer lucienpalmer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 408
Default Re: Orientation in large sessions

Quote:
Originally Posted by Marsdy View Post
I'm not sure duplicating tracks would be any faster than assigning to a VCA especially if I had to remove what gets duplicated like inserts, sends, playlist etc. in order to "zero" the channel?
I suppose it just depends how you work. For film and TV sessions, if i'm creating an additional dialog track (for example), I'd want to keep the same inserts and FX sends as the track I'm duplicating. So for me its faster than starting with a blank track.
__________________
MacPro 2.4 12-core, OSX 10.12
Pro Tools HD 12, HDX3 & MTRX + HD MADI
HP Z230 Hackintosh, RME MADI
S6 M10 16-5 w/ producer desk
AJA Kona LHi, Sync HD
www.ToolshedAudioPost.com
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 05-23-2017, 09:06 AM
Marsdy Marsdy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: England
Posts: 1,688
Default Re: Orientation in large sessions

Quote:
Originally Posted by lucienpalmer View Post
I suppose it just depends how you work. For film and TV sessions, if i'm creating an additional dialog track (for example), I'd want to keep the same inserts and FX sends as the track I'm duplicating. So for me its faster than starting with a blank track.
Right that makes sense, it's a workflow thing. In my case I'd want to add a new empty track, more often than not an instrument track.
__________________
Dave Marsden
UK
Avid HDX1, PT12 HD, HD I/O 16x16, Avid S6 M10 24-5, 2013 12 Core Mac Pro. Robby The Robot meter bridge ornament.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 05-26-2017, 11:16 PM
stefanboman stefanboman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Stockholm
Posts: 35
Default Re: Orientation in large sessions

I've played around once again with VCAs and spilling.

It is very nice! Thanks Jeff!
But like someone wrote it does takes a bit of time organizing the session.
So I still don't think it's a bad idea. And probably really easy to program.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 05-27-2017, 07:27 AM
lucienpalmer lucienpalmer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 408
Default Re: Orientation in large sessions

One of the tricks for me is creating a 'super session' that I use as a template before I start. I have over 400 tracks, named, routed, and plugins and VCA's assigned. When I start a new session, I use this template and just delete the tracks that don't apply to the project I'm working on. I find deleting tracks faster than creating new ones.
__________________
MacPro 2.4 12-core, OSX 10.12
Pro Tools HD 12, HDX3 & MTRX + HD MADI
HP Z230 Hackintosh, RME MADI
S6 M10 16-5 w/ producer desk
AJA Kona LHi, Sync HD
www.ToolshedAudioPost.com
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Splitting large sessions into smaller sessions brandondurham Tips & Tricks 2 10-06-2013 09:02 AM
HD requirements for large sessions 96K... lownotesinc Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 04-09-2010 02:27 PM
Very large sessions nosfoe Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 15 12-11-2009 03:21 AM
ALTIVERB 6.1 TDM in Large Sessions minister Post - Surround - Video 8 07-12-2008 01:23 PM
Large Sessions ajazzie Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 4 08-06-2002 05:46 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:35 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com