Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Mixing > Pro Tools | S6

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-25-2017, 10:31 AM
stefanboman stefanboman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Stockholm
Posts: 35
Default Noisy talkback on the M40?

I'm struggling to get rid of the noise on the talkback on my S6.
I'm using the jack behind the screen going out the back with a short xlr going
Into a Rolls MP 13(preamp) then into the Xmon.

I've tried different mics and preamps and locations for the pre without luck.
(The only common denominator is passing thru the jack on the M40)
It's very noisy and clients comment on it every time.
My last client described it as 50% hum 50% talkback.
Not a really a high end experience...

It seems like the noise is picked up from poor shielding from the M40 CPU to me.
My voice comes thru but really annoying...
But I'd really like to use that jack cause it's the best location for a gooseneck mic.

Any ideas how to fix this?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-26-2017, 04:12 AM
amolin amolin is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Denmark
Posts: 174
Default Re: Noisy talkback on the M40?

I have no problems with noice on my system, and I also use the xlr on the console for my mic, on an M10 though.

Have you tried to connect the cable from the xmon directly to you mic, is the noice gone then?
__________________
- Anders
Beat The Mic Sound Studio
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-26-2017, 04:17 AM
amolin amolin is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Denmark
Posts: 174
Default Re: Noisy talkback on the M40?

Quote:
Originally Posted by stefanboman View Post
I'm using the jack behind the screen going out the back with a short xlr going
Into a Rolls MP 13(preamp) then into the Xmon.
Why use an preamp?
The talkback input in the xmox is a mic input, not line, it even has phantom power, so try without that extre preamp...

Do you have a jack out from the main module, it's a xlr on mine...
__________________
- Anders
Beat The Mic Sound Studio
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-26-2017, 04:55 AM
Postman Postman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Metropolis
Posts: 2,370
Default Re: Noisy talkback on the M40?

I had expected all 3 wires of talkback to be isolated but actually pin 1 is tied to S6 ground. Try lifting pin 1 connection.
__________________
system specs in profile
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-27-2017, 12:14 AM
stefanboman stefanboman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Stockholm
Posts: 35
Default Re: Noisy talkback on the M40?

The output I got from all the suitable mics was so low I had to connect a preamp.
Read on several places that a lot of people have done this.
Not always practical having to be super close to the mic to be able to make myself heard.

Will try to remove pin 1 to see if that helps!

On my TB it sounds like there´s hard drive chugging in the background.
An un regular thumping/clicking sound.

Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-27-2017, 07:28 AM
amolin amolin is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Denmark
Posts: 174
Default Re: Noisy talkback on the M40?

I use this cheap condenser for talkback, no need for extra preamp
https://www.thomann.de/dk/the_tbone_gm_5212.htm

I have used xmons for talkback for quite some years, first with my Icon and now with the S6, and with some different condenser mics, and I have newer needed a preamp, just connect it to the right input on the xmon.

My control room is about 70m2, and the talkback mic capture everything being said in that room.
__________________
- Anders
Beat The Mic Sound Studio

Last edited by amolin; 04-28-2017 at 04:44 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-27-2017, 11:40 AM
stefanboman stefanboman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Stockholm
Posts: 35
Default Re: Noisy talkback on the M40?

Oh that sounds sweet!
I'm buying that one now.

I got the tbone tb 312 and that's not really suitable for this.

Thanks for the tip!
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-28-2017, 04:43 AM
amolin amolin is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Denmark
Posts: 174
Default Re: Noisy talkback on the M40?

The 312 is dynamic, and as you say, not really good for talkback...
__________________
- Anders
Beat The Mic Sound Studio
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-28-2017, 12:49 PM
EddieJones's Avatar
EddieJones EddieJones is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 860
Default Re: Noisy talkback on the M40?

Unfortunately there is an issue with the ground as Postman says. It needs lifting. New units have this fixed. If you cant do this then RMA the unit with Customer Service.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04-28-2017, 02:10 PM
stefanboman stefanboman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Stockholm
Posts: 35
Default Re: Noisy talkback on the M40?

Will definitely switch to a condenser.

Eddie, just got my M40 replaced about a month ago.
Is it a very new fix?

Actually Eddie, the reason I sent back my last M40 is that it made
a high pitch noise in the room. It's an uneven noise, kind of similar to a mix between a hard drive chugging and a high pitch fax machine.

But the new M40 is producing pretty much the same noise.
It's not super loud. But as my control room is really quiet it's audible about 1-2 meters from the center section.

Really surprised to find this on such a premium product!
I'm I really unfortunate to have had this on two M40s in a row?
Or am I over sensitive?

Would have guessed that other people would have reacted to this if it's a common issue.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Noisy talkback on Icon. hitp ICON & C|24 7 03-29-2015 09:54 AM
Source Talkback AAX gets auto talkback MIKEROPHONICS Post - Surround - Video 0 11-20-2013 09:15 AM
My G5 has become really noisy Audiofarm Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 10 11-02-2009 06:55 AM
noisy noisy help please cpoulin2000 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 09-28-2006 03:36 PM
External talkback mic input low level and noisy nerdlinger ICON & C|24 2 08-24-2005 02:27 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:24 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com