Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Virtual Instruments

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-02-2017, 07:21 AM
estokes1958 estokes1958 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Charlotte, NC, USA
Posts: 12
Default Issues with Sonivox instruments?

Has anyone had performance issues with Sonivox AAX virtual instruments in instrument tracks?

I am running PT 12.5.2 on Windows 8.1 and having problems with two Sonivox AAX VIs on instrument tracks ("Wobble 2" and "Taylor Acoustic Guitar"). Since these are the only Sonivox VI's I have, I might assume that the problem is with all Sonivox VIs?

I notice that these virtual instruments do not reliably produce audio output on instrument tracks. I have found a few tedious workarounds. For example, if the MIDI clip is selected, then audio output will be produced. Or (in recording) if a blank MIDI clip is put down first, then audio output will be produced in "MIDI merge" mode.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-02-2017, 07:55 AM
estokes1958 estokes1958 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Charlotte, NC, USA
Posts: 12
Default Re: Issues with Sonivox instruments?

Solved: Turn off the "loop play" function and Sonivox instruments function normally.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-02-2017, 02:19 PM
Benoni's Avatar
Benoni Benoni is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Right Behind YOU!!
Posts: 9,142
Default Re: Issues with Sonivox instruments?

Thanks for sharing
__________________
Brian

Windows 10 Pro 64 Bit

Pro Tools 12 | Eleven Rack + ERXP
Youtube Channel - BenoniStudio
Free Eleven Rack Tutorials, Rigs, and more
@BenoniStudio
Instagram
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-02-2017, 02:31 PM
amagras amagras is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 1,565
Default Re: Issues with Sonivox instruments?

I have to try this asap with he strings, i only get audio when the midi note ends.
__________________
Dell XPS 8700, Windows 10, NI Komplete Audio 6, Pro Tools 12
andreimartinezagras.webs.com
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-06-2017, 11:51 AM
YYR123's Avatar
YYR123 YYR123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 12,303
Default Re: Issues with Sonivox instruments?

Yes same issues with the Orchestral Companion plugs i bought the other day.


VI outputs sound fine with the transport not running.....with the transport running either recording or simple playback (recording input engaged) not producing sound correctly.

I emailed their support.....spoiler alert....was not impressed with them. (but i like the plugin, sounds great)

Hi J,

Thank you for reaching out to us. I appreciate the opportunity to assist you!

If you have additional questions or concerns, or if the information we provided today does not help completely resolve your inquiry, please let me know!

I'm sorry to hear that you are experiencing this issue. It seems like the Sonivox plug-in is working pretty smoothly, as it is generating sounds through Protools.

As for the playback. It sounds to me like it may be something going on with Protools, and my recommendation would be to contact Avid for further support.

For additional assistance, or to re-open your case, just respond to this email with your case number 1130225 in the subject line. I'll be glad to help!

Best Regards,

XXXX XXXXX
Technical Support & Return Authorizations Specialist
inMusic Brands
AIR | Akai Professional | Alesis | Alto Professional | Denon DJ | Denon Professional | ION Audio | M-Audio | Marantz Professional | Marq Lighting | MixMeister | Numark | Rane | SONiVOX
__________________
Daniel
HD|N - PT12.5.1 - HD I/O 16x8x8
Win10-Pro - 6 Core i7-6850k - ASUS X99 Deluxe ii
D-Command Main Unit - 'Ole Blue


For the Love of everything sacrosanct and hallowed, Why hasn't track presets been implemented yet? - George Jetson

For the Love of everything sacrosanct and hallowed, Why hasn't track presets been implemented yet? - George Jefferson

For the Love of everything sacrosanct and hallowed, Why hasn't track presets been implemented yet? - George Clinton
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-08-2017, 02:18 PM
Micks_Mix Micks_Mix is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Munich, Germany
Posts: 134
Default Re: Issues with Sonivox instruments?

Same problem here, thanks for the workaround!
Seems to be a simple issue, no fix for months now...
__________________
Pro Tools|HDX, 192 HD I/O, 192 HD Digital I/O, Focusrite OctoPre, Pro Tools 12.7.1 w/ HEAT option, Mac Pro 5.1, 24 GB RAM, OS 10.9.5
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-08-2017, 04:07 PM
amagras amagras is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 1,565
Default Re: Issues with Sonivox instruments?

I got pretty much the same response. Also, someone shared the loop play workaround here in another thread months ago, it works but still this is a serious bug that happen on all Sonivox VIs I've tried (and won't buy for sure).
__________________
Dell XPS 8700, Windows 10, NI Komplete Audio 6, Pro Tools 12
andreimartinezagras.webs.com
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-08-2017, 04:48 PM
YYR123's Avatar
YYR123 YYR123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 12,303
Default Re: Issues with Sonivox instruments?

Yes it's a bummer, but what's worse is I like the sounds !!!

So I'm stuck with the bug, but at least I like the product....
__________________
Daniel
HD|N - PT12.5.1 - HD I/O 16x8x8
Win10-Pro - 6 Core i7-6850k - ASUS X99 Deluxe ii
D-Command Main Unit - 'Ole Blue


For the Love of everything sacrosanct and hallowed, Why hasn't track presets been implemented yet? - George Jetson

For the Love of everything sacrosanct and hallowed, Why hasn't track presets been implemented yet? - George Jefferson

For the Love of everything sacrosanct and hallowed, Why hasn't track presets been implemented yet? - George Clinton
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-08-2017, 04:53 PM
amagras amagras is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 1,565
Default Re: Issues with Sonivox instruments?

I love the sound of the strings.
__________________
Dell XPS 8700, Windows 10, NI Komplete Audio 6, Pro Tools 12
andreimartinezagras.webs.com
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 06-23-2017, 11:38 PM
Tomás Mulcahy Tomás Mulcahy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 6
Default Re: Issues with Sonivox instruments?

Happy to delete 10GB of Sonivox strings from my drive. Cannot work without loop play. The built in eq doesn't work properly either- reminds me of the eq in Cubase VST 1.0! Very nice sounding strings but unusable in Pro Tools. I have plenty of other libraries that sound just as good.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sonivox Premier Upgrade Justin1524 AAX Plug-ins 4 12-18-2016 09:56 AM
SONiVOX Wobble help!? Friday0089 Virtual Instruments 7 01-24-2015 08:38 AM
Sonivox Plug ins and Pro Tools MP 9 Dohara Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 0 05-10-2012 11:44 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:31 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com