Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 11 Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-12-2014, 07:39 PM
tele27 tele27 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 61
Default Setting Click II for 12/8 time

So I have a song I need to set up in 12/8 time at 78BPM
How do I set Click II so it counts
ONE-two-three TWO-two-three THREE-two-three FOUR-two-three
can anyone help me with the settings?
Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-12-2014, 11:37 PM
clausiii's Avatar
clausiii clausiii is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Vienna, Austria
Posts: 1,711
Default Re: Setting Click II for 12/8 time

isn't it 1/4 dotted?
__________________
My ears! My ears!
clausiii
-----------------
MacBook Pro i7 Quad 2.6GHz 8GB RAM
ProTools 12.7.1
MacOS 10.12.3
MOTU 4pre
MOTU 8pre USB
Axiom Pro 25
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-13-2014, 06:37 AM
tele27 tele27 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 61
Default Re: Setting Click II for 12/8 time

Quote:
Originally Posted by clausiii View Post
isn't it 1/4 dotted?
Thanks I'll try that.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-13-2014, 06:47 AM
elicious elicious is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 1,299
Default Re: Setting Click II for 12/8 time

ask tears for fears… (sorry!)
__________________
ihatetyping
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-13-2014, 08:24 AM
sw rec sw rec is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Colo Spgs Colo
Posts: 5,536
Default Re: Setting Click II for 12/8 time

How about set the click to 3/4 time and adjust tempo til it fits?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-13-2014, 08:33 AM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 32,651
Default Re: Setting Click II for 12/8 time

Quote:
Originally Posted by sw rec View Post
How about set the click to 3/4 time and adjust tempo til it fits?
My suggestion as well. Or try 6/8 time and remember that you can also choose quarter note, eighth note, etc in any tempo. I had a session yesterday where the song was at 72BPM but the drummer wanted the click to be double that. I just changed to eighth note for the click.
__________________
Asus x99, Intel i7 6800K, 32 gig DDR4, GeForce 750 Ti, HD/Native, HD IOx2, PT11HD, UAD Quad, preamps from Vintech, Five Fish Audio, Miktek, Focusrite, Chameleon Labs and Midas..............................
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works
www.capricornsoundworks.com

The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-13-2014, 01:06 PM
sw rec sw rec is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Colo Spgs Colo
Posts: 5,536
Default Re: Setting Click II for 12/8 time

I like it when I'm on the same page with Albee! Call me crazy....
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-14-2014, 06:57 AM
tele27 tele27 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 61
Default Re: Setting Click II for 12/8 time

Quote:
Originally Posted by albee1952 View Post
My suggestion as well. Or try 6/8 time and remember that you can also choose quarter note, eighth note, etc in any tempo. I had a session yesterday where the song was at 72BPM but the drummer wanted the click to be double that. I just changed to eighth note for the click.
Yes that is true but the click will accent on the 1 of 8. I was looking to see
if the click could accent as if you were counting aloud on the one of 3 but for 12.
like ONE-two-three TWO-two-three THREE-two-three FOUR-two-three
if that makes any sense.
All good suggestions though.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-14-2014, 07:49 AM
sw rec sw rec is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Colo Spgs Colo
Posts: 5,536
Default Re: Setting Click II for 12/8 time

3/4 time and double the required tempo should do it nicely.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Newbie question... setting the click track tempo jdport2 Pro Tools SE and Essential (Win) 2 02-19-2010 07:32 PM
MPC Click plugin setting soundgott Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 02-10-2010 03:11 AM
Triplet Setting with Click AURORA4DTH Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 4 02-05-2009 12:25 AM
Inconsistent tempo when setting up a click track in PT? halcyonwayband@aol.com 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 01-03-2009 01:21 PM
Quick click setting question... emilano Tips & Tricks 3 02-24-2003 11:12 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:09 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com