Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 11

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-06-2014, 08:19 PM
kingofallwookies kingofallwookies is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Charlottesville, VA
Posts: 1
Default Drawn MIDI note length only staccato notes, regardless of note length

I am drawing MIDI notes into an instrument track in PT 11.1.2 and no mater how long I draw the note duration, my MIDI meter peaks, then recedes.

I am using the track to ReWire into the most current version of Reason, which is similarly reading only a staccato blast, then the "NOTE ON" light on the selected instrument disappears.

So - How to I get PT11 to read and send a correct note length value from the note I've drawn.

Thank you!!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-07-2014, 06:31 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 15,260
Default Re: Drawn MIDI note length only staccato notes, regardless of note length

Quote:
Originally Posted by kingofallwookies View Post
I am drawing MIDI notes into an instrument track in PT 11.1.2 and no mater how long I draw the note duration, my MIDI meter peaks, then recedes.

I am using the track to ReWire into the most current version of Reason, which is similarly reading only a staccato blast, then the "NOTE ON" light on the selected instrument disappears.

So - How to I get PT11 to read and send a correct note length value from the note I've drawn.

Thank you!!
Try something simple first - instead of rewiring into Reason insert a regular vi on the Instrument track - say one of the stock Avid ones but not a drum vi. Pick a sound that sustains. Then start drawing in your MIDI notes on the Instrument track and see what happens. That will at least tell you your technique and system are working.

For future help: please include info about your system when posting questions (computer, operating system, etc.) as this will help in diagnosing things.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-07-2014, 08:10 AM
ChuckS ChuckS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1,052
Default Re: Drawn MIDI note length only staccato notes, regardless of note length

I believe the MIDI Meter just registers the Note On Velocity. Maybe someone else can confirm.
__________________
PT 2018.10 DP 9.51 VEP 6.x Komplete Audio6 HP Envy 8G i7 Quad Laptop Win10 (x64 1809)
PT 2018.10 DP 9.51 VEP 6.x 828mkII ADA8200 MTP-AV 2011 Mac Mini i7 Quad High Sierra.6 (end of the OS road for the 2011 Mini)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MIDI note length in ticks jteipen Pro Tools 10 1 03-26-2013 10:12 PM
What does the length of a midi cymbal note really do? DC-Choppah Tips & Tricks 9 01-07-2013 07:03 PM
MIDI playback is only staccato note attack moltenguava 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 09-02-2011 01:06 AM
Please help, Midi note length... Patill 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 08-31-2007 04:59 PM
seperating velocity and note length? is it possible? tritonkorg MIDI 3 04-25-2007 12:09 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:35 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com